Opinion Qualifying Final Changes vs. Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Duffield got a lot of the footy and reckon we'll need his kicking game come finals.

Probably be dropped for Sutcliffe if he's good to go.

No wanting to put a mocker on it, but on the assumption Luke, Johnno and Zac D are right to roll this week, I think it'll be the first time that we commence the finals under Ross with all three of our defensive KP's playing together.

In 2012, Luke didn't play in either the Elimination Final (Win) and Semi Final (Loss) against Geelong and Adelaide.
In 2013, Johnno didn't play the Qualifying vs Geelong (Win), returned in the Prelim win over Sydney & played (under some duress) in the GF loss.
In 2014, Luke nor Johnno played in either of the finals losses.

Having all three of them fit and available at the commencement of our campaign has to be a good omen and more so a necessity to have a good shot at it.

Who would be ahead of either Mzungu, Duffieldor C. Pearce? (Arguably our 3 weakest players)

I think we can argue that Suban, De Boer and Sheridan have earned their spots at this stage but someone may have to come out for the second tall in Tabs or A. Pearce.

Sydney likely to be missing Kieran Jack next week along with Parker and Smith. Buddy still does not look right - zero goals as at 3/4 time.

Prior was on the radio this morning and said that Griff would be struggling to get up for next week.

He hasn't been amazing but at least taken a few marks up forward and provided serviceable relief for Sandi. I think Clarke would be a disaster in a final...looks like he's completely lost confidence and form. A shame but that's the reality.

Spurr Dawson MJ
Ibbo McPharlin Sutcliffe
Hill Mundy DPearce
Mayne Pav Walters
Ballaz ***** DeBoer

Sandi Neale Fyfe

Suban Sheridan Barlow
Sub - Mzungu/Clancee

Emg - Duff Crozier and a Tall see below.

***** either Griff if fit or Clarke despite his shizen game today. Or then were down to Hannath or Taberner/APearce who will need to help with Dawson to chop out Sandi. Against Sydney I think this is manageable given Pyke & Tippett isn't a great combo although Tippett is improving as a ruck.

We then ideally sub out a tall at 3/4 time if the game is tight and bring in some run.

Normally I'd have DeBoer as a sub or out of the 22 but his form has warranted a game and his ability to win inside ball may be needed if Fyfe isn't right enough to play fully on ball.

Mzungu could do a role on Haneberry and I'd expect Suban to go to Kennedy or Mitchell.

This is going to be the best "changes" thread of the year - some big posts ahead.

I think Tabs will stay in. I was impressed with his effort today, something that I don't often say with him. Could be very damaging in a good team.

I'm sorry but how? Agree that he was impressive but how could a player who's missed a big chunk of the season get a last second call up?

Could be a handy backup if someone else goes down but there's surely others in front of him.

I actually want Tabs to come back in. He looked good today and with Ballaz and Walters at his feet and Pav and Sandi drawing defenders he will won't be as exposed.

Sent from my GT-I9506 using Tapatalk

I'm sorry but how? Agree that he was impressive but how could a player who's missed a big chunk of the season get a last second call up?

Could be a handy backup if someone else goes down but there's surely others in front of him.
Tabs at least has a finals campaign behind him. We can't just blood a first year player for the finals, asking for trouble. Yes Alex has been good this season but surely he's back up at best. We need the best possible 22 and playing Tabs with Pav gives us the chance we need to topple Swans. Pav can't do it alone anymore. Also we have the best defence to choose from, Dawson/McPharlin/MJ is a lock.

I actually want Tabs to come back in. He looked good today and with Ballaz and Walters at his feet and Pav and Sandi drawing defenders he will won't be as exposed.

I support this as well. Tabs really impressed me in this game and was our only consistent forward target. He moved well, took some great grabs and should have ended up with 4 or 5 goals. Tabs is the perfect balance for Pav as well.

I believe that we have at least 16 dead locks (if fit):

Pavlich
Sandilands
McPharlin
Fyfe
Mundy
Barlow
Neale
Hill
D. Pearce
Johnson
Dawson
Ibbotson
Spurr
Walters
Ballantyne
Mayne

Some might argue against D. Pearce, Dawson and Mayne but I assure you they will be picked.

Some of our fringe players are arguably:
Sutcliffe
Sheridan
Suban
De Boer
Duffield
Mzungu
C. Pearce
A. Pearce
Taberner
Clarke

Out of those 10 players 6 can play. I'd say Sutcliffe and Sheridan are locks and also probably Suban and De Boer. That leaves 2 spots and I don't think both Mzungu and Duffield can make it in which may leave space for A. Pearce or Taberner.

My prediction is A. Pearce and Mzungu get the last two spots.

I'm his biggest critic mate, but today he looked keen for the contest, something I can rarely say about him. If a few bounces had gone his was he could have kicked 5. When we were on top in the first he looked extremely dangerous.

I've been a Tabs hater but I agree. He didn't make the most of his opportunities but he did some nice things today.

I'd be happy if he was in the team vs the Swans.

I'm his biggest critic mate, but today he looked keen for the contest, something I can rarely say about him. If a few bounces had gone his was he could have kicked 5. When we were on top in the first he looked extremely dangerous.

Yeah, but against Hawthorn in the GF? He'll get pummelled.

Alex Pearce however wasn't even dropped (injury management) - in any event we can just play without the second tall as we've done already for most of the season.

Impressed with tabs today but would love to see him have a similar impact over longer. Seems to always start well and then drifts away but his pressure was better up the ground than it was previously. Looks better up forward than Alex though Alex does give more versatility.

I reckon any decision regarding the inclusion of Tabs will take the weather into consideration, so at this point in time he's not playing.

I reckon we go with Sandi solo against Sydney. He'll monster Pyke and Dawson or Tabs/Pearce can give him a chop out if necessary.