Discussion Question and Answer Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gibbsy

When I was grabbing lunch today, I saw that Freo jumper I mentioned above. It's the home version of the original anchor. It's signed and in a frame. Anyway, it was entirely sublimated and had the Nike tag on the inside of the collar, but the Centenary and Yakka logos didn't touch the anchor at all – the Centenary logo even seemed, like, basically too small.

So maybe his jumper was legit? So there are certainly three jumper types: the PIs with stitched on logos (that often, for most players, overlapped onto the anchor), the Sekem woollen replicas, and these Nike ones with sublimated logos.

When I was grabbing lunch today, I saw that Freo jumper I mentioned above. It's the home version of the original anchor. It's signed and in a frame. Anyway, it was entirely sublimated and had the Nike tag on the inside of the collar, but the Centenary and Yakka logos didn't touch the anchor at all – the Centenary logo even seemed, like, basically too small.

So maybe his jumper was legit? So there are certainly three jumper types: the PIs with stitched on logos (that often, for most players, overlapped onto the anchor), the Sekem woollen replicas, and these Nike ones with sublimated logos.

Nike have never sponsored Freo though.
Perhaps in the early days of sublimated jumpers various manufacturers made their own versions of jumpers other manufacturers had the rights to make. I've seen Puma made jumpers of clubs they didn't sponsor, so perhaps Nike did the same. This would be the first time I've seen that though.

Yeah I've seen them too Gibbsy, unmistakably 90s. But the more I think about it, I'm pretty sure I've seen clubs like Hawthorn and Essendon with those jackets, so it was probably some blanket contract.

Should we make Bigfooty FJGD podcasts?

We'd run out of things design related to talk about rather quickly. Would turn to shit in a few weeks.

No it wouldn't. You talk about one design/comp per week.

Any tips for getting the strings on a football to look right when you're drawing them from scratch on Photoshop? Have spent way too much time on them and they look like a blob of unicorn semen.

I'm exaggerating, but seriously, any help would be great. I don't want them overly realistic but not super cartoony either. At the moment I've traced over a real football with the pen tool, filled with white and used a chevron pattern overlay to get the texture and a light gradient for the ends where they go into the ball, but yeah. Unicorn semen.

Any tips for getting the strings on a football to look right when you're drawing them from scratch on Photoshop? Have spent way too much time on them and they look like a blob of unicorn semen.

I'm exaggerating, but seriously, any help would be great. I don't want them overly realistic but not super cartoony either. At the moment I've traced over a real football with the pen tool, filled with white and used a chevron pattern overlay to get the texture and a light gradient for the ends where they go into the ball, but yeah. Unicorn semen.
Pics please? I just want to see what you've done, and if I or others on the board can help you out from looking at it. And I'm also keen to see unicorn semen, as grim as it may be.

Ball isn't perfect itself as it's an old version (all I have on this computer) and it's just for a logo backdrop anyway so doesn't need to be overly detailed. The strings look a bit better in the smaller version (as it will be in the end) but their shitness irritates me, haha. Any pointers at all would be handy.

15n9m38.png

Ball isn't perfect itself as it's an old version (all I have on this computer) and it's just for a logo backdrop anyway so doesn't need to be overly detailed. The strings look a bit better in the smaller version (as it will be in the end) but their shitness irritates me, haha. Any pointers at all would be handy.

15n9m38.png
Mate, I reckon that looks superb.

Maybe you could add a texture or something to it? Just to make it look like the wool (or cotton, I forget which) strings that are used
There's actually a chevron pattern overlay on it but it disappears when you zoom out, haha. Might have to change the scale or look for another texture. Thanks.