Discussion Question and Answer Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gibbsy

He asked about the font, not the final score.

The font of 60/57, btw, is the ridiculously obscure Supernormale Eight Large Bold Condensed.
Oh wow, such an obscure question that my brain didn't even register it :oops:

He asked about the font, not the final score.

The font of 60/57, btw, is the ridiculously obscure Supernormale Eight Large Bold Condensed.

Cheers mate.

6 years of trying to figure it out comes to an end.

Cheers mate.

6 years of trying to figure it out comes to an end.

Haha I actually laughed out loud at this. This isn't a dig at you – but why has this bugged you for 6 years? And why do you want to know?

Because I have an interest in fonts and some interest me more than others.

do you think the AFL (and other footy leagues like WAFL, SANFL) would being back the heritage round. would be great if they would have some type of heritage round for april 25th 2015 (for the 100th anzac day with teams wearing there jumpers from 100 years ago). new teams would wear something from the teams heritage (or state heritage for new afl teams)
new teams in the state level leagues would wear something from years ending in 5
(like peel wearing this jumper from 2005)
Peel-4.gif

timmy

do you think the AFL (and other footy leagues like WAFL, SANFL) would being back the heritage round.
Yes
would be great if they would have some type of heritage round for april 25th 2015 (for the 100th anzac day with teams wearing there jumpers from 100 years ago).
I don't think it would be appropriate for the traditional Collingwood v Essendon game, as it is the main ANZAC Day feature game.
new teams would wear something from the teams heritage (or state heritage for new afl teams)
With two teams from each of the other main states now (sorry Tassie) the team not wearing the state jumper will go bat crap crazy over being allowed to wear it. Also, as mentioned in the recent Adeaide jumper thread thing, a State jumper should be earned. Plus, state jumpers should not be given to players not from that state.

do you think the AFL (and other footy leagues like WAFL, SANFL) would being back the heritage round. would be great if they would have some type of heritage round for april 25th 2015 (for the 100th anzac day with teams wearing there jumpers from 100 years ago). new teams would wear something from the teams heritage (or state heritage for new afl teams)
new teams in the state level leagues would wear something from years ending in 5
(like peel wearing this jumper from 2005)
Albany is being the centre for the Centenary. I don't know if it's a national thing, but it was supposed to be a massive commemoration. Such is the corruption of local council and all the money they lost in US investments during the GFC, it won't be as big as it will be. There'll still be plenty of international dignitaries coming and plenty of media interest, but nowhere near what it should've been. Which is disappointing.

Anyway, the word always was that Claremont would play a WAFL game down there. They're in the process of building a new AFL-standard ground down there, and I think that's being primed to be unveiled for that game. Albany being a massive deployment station during the war, and those pricks the Tigers having their zone there, that's the reason for it. No idea on opposition. West Perth won the 1905 flag so maybe them. But Fremantle was the biggest sub base in the southern hemisphere and had plenty of traffic through Fremantle Harbour – so I'd like to see Souths or Easts down there for it.

So I'd imagine there'll be a jumper for it. The Bullies and Sharks already wore something commemorating the armed forces for an Anzac Day derby.

do you think the AFL (and other footy leagues like WAFL, SANFL) would being back the heritage round.
I certainly hope so.

would be great if they would have some type of heritage round for april 25th 2015 (for the 100th anzac day with teams wearing there jumpers from 100 years ago).
I can't help but think you're a bit mistaken about what ANZAC Day is all about. It's to remember the fallen soldiers, especially those who died in Gallipoli. A football club celebrating their own history on a day reserved to remember our soldiers wouldn't be right.

new teams would wear something from the teams heritage (or state heritage for new afl teams)
1) why 5?
2) GWS would probably wear their old "Team GWS" guernseys that they had before they entered the AFL. Also, I think Gold Coast would wear their jumper from before they entered the AFL too (no yellow side panels) or, as many people have said, a Southport Sharks top.
ok if there is a new heritage round, what should teams wear (with the sun and giants, they could wear an old state level team jumper). the sun could wear this:
1888_Queensland_football_team.jpg

and the giants could wear (cant find a photo) of this teams jumper.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/East_Sydney_Australian_Football_Club
Now here you want the Greater Western Sydney Giants to wear an East Sydney jumper? That wouldn't work for obvious reasons

Heritage Round is dead.
Jumpers did not sell well enough for all clubs to participate.
What has happened, and will continue to happen is clubs will release jumpers based on their heritage and wear them as one-off jumpers, usually on the anniversary of something, or to recognise something.
Adelaide, Brisbane, StKilda, Sydney, Bulldogs & West Coast have all done this since the Heritage Rounds stopped.
Then there's Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond and Freo who have at least one one off jumper every year without going to a Heritage design.
And basically everyone else has had a one-off jumper here and there, but no based on Heritage designs.

How has heritage round been marketed in the past?

Port made a few $100k from their Prison Bar member's guernsey last year (and then some on top of that for all the people who missed out on the members guernsey and bought the regular Magpies SANFL guernsey instead.)

Yeah that's probably because of the massively inflated prices of the guernseys with names. Would like to know how much the heritage round jumpers were going for rrp.

About $99.95

I am making a T20 BBL AFL crossover and I need
1. A black and white, paint simplified AFL logo and
2. All the T20 teams official colours
1. There's a paint simplified AFL logo on every AFL paint template in the Universal Template Thread (first post)
2. Paste the logos into paint and get the main colours from there (if there's gradients, compare the colours to a picture of the kit)

1. There's a paint simplified AFL logo on every AFL paint template in the Universal Template Thread (first post)
2. Paste the logos into paint and get the main colours from there (if there's gradients, compare the colours to a picture of the kit)
Thanks.

Does anyone know how to keep a logo transparent when copied on PS?
When I copy and paste an image the background is black instead of transparent.
I save the image then drag it in