Discussion Question and Answer Thread

Im thinking of doing a state of origin portfolio.
Should i do

option a-
victoria, south australia, western australia, allies

option b-
victoria vs rest of aus

option c-
2 divisions-
div 1- vic, sa, wa, allies
div 2- tas, qld, nsw/act, nz

option d-
victoria vs allies
If you want to keep it genuine I'd just do the actual states and territories, but if you want as many teams as possible to kit out then your option c would be the go

Im thinking of doing a state of origin portfolio.
Should i do

option a-
victoria, south australia, western australia, allies

option b-
victoria vs rest of aus

option c-
2 divisions-
div 1- vic, sa, wa, allies
div 2- tas, qld, nsw/act, nz

option d-
victoria vs allies

Your option C doesn't need an Allies, because you've got the individual states with their own teams as well. The Allies were just an amalgamation of all states other than Vic/SA/WA.

If you're doing a portfolio then options B and D aren't great because there are only two designs. If I was you, I'd just do a design for each state/territory to give you a good body of work and don't concern yourself with the makeup of any competiton structure.

Your option C doesn't need an Allies, because you've got the individual states with their own teams as well. The Allies were just an amalgamation of all states other than Vic/SA/WA.

If you're doing a portfolio then options B and D aren't great because there are only two designs. If I was you, I'd just do a design for each state/territory to give you a good body of work and don't concern yourself with the makeup of any competiton structure.
would i do nsw act or them separate?

Thats up to you. If you separate them, you have an extra team to design for. If you keep them together, you have to find a way to represent both in a shared identity. Pick which challenge you prefer.

I would like to ask a question please.

Sorry if this is an old question, but there are 142 pages to sift through.

With regards to WCE Guernseys in particular, maybe others, on the bottom front left hand side of some of our past and maybe present guernseys, the Puma logo is what ever colour but it shares the patch with a footy man (thing) or the WCE logo. My question is in reference to this difference. I ha E seen 2 jumpers of the same year but noticed this small thing and thought to ask the gods.

What is the difference. Is one team store and the other from another retailer, is one fake the other genuine or something else?

Thank you for your assistance.

C

I would like to ask a question please.

Sorry if this is an old question, but there are 142 pages to sift through.

With regards to WCE Guernseys in particular, maybe others, on the bottom front left hand side of some of our past and maybe present guernseys, the Puma logo is what ever colour but it shares the patch with a footy man (thing) or the WCE logo. My question is in reference to this difference. I ha E seen 2 jumpers of the same year but noticed this small thing and thought to ask the gods.

What is the difference. Is one team store and the other from another retailer, is one fake the other genuine or something else?

Thank you for your assistance.

C
The little man was on all tags (bar Carlton as Nike dropped it, I think the only one to have done so) and it just represented that it was a legitimate jumper.
I think two years ago he was sadly replaced by the clubs logo.
I know on old BLK jumpers it would say underneath PLAYER ISSUE to differentiate from replicas.

Hopefully that has answered your question.

Trying to do one of these alternate reality AFL portfolios. Not sure where the second South Australia and Western Australia teams should be located. Was thinking Fremantle or Mandurah for WA, or alternatively South Perth, and for SA I have no idea. Any input or suggestions would be helpful in helping me choose.

What was the SA team ideas from the Teams that could have been comp? Coalition or something? Give that one a go!

The Cartel!

What was the SA team ideas from the Teams that could have been comp? Coalition or something? Give that one a go!

The Cartel!
Maybe, seems like an interesting way forward, however was thinking more of a location thing more than a mass amalgamation of teams. Just fits in with the rest of the concept better.

Assuming that Port is the first team, maybe doing something south of the city could work best.

20368755_1891855731075707_1106223045878818558_o.jpg

This image popped up on my Facebook via Bet365, but I noticed the sponsor on the Carey picture.
The Wentworth (Hotel ?)

I haven't seen that before, Gibbsy Mero do you guys have information?

The SA teams should have always been Port and Norwood, But Norwood would (probably) have to change colours and nickname for Melbourne. Now that would be interesting.

I've never heard Melbourne referred to as the "Redlegs" - although if Norwood had to stop wearing red socks the nickname wouldn't be as appropriate.

Melbourne wear red socks too. I'm pretty sure it used to be an informal nickname used by fans and journalists back in the day. Sort of like Sydney being called the bloods.

this is where the Sturt-Norwood merger would have been of benefit: you could imagine the Norwood jumper with an appropriate monogram (& light blue numbers perhaps) for home matches and the Sturt jumper (with appropriate monogram & red numbers perhaps) for the away/clash. Redlegs (a previous Melbourne nickname), Bluelegs, Double Bluelegs are all awkward nicknames though, so I reckon they would have gone for a new one (e.g. Falcons)
upload_2017-7-25_19-29-10.png
(Melbourne website)
upload_2017-7-25_19-32-18.png (Wikipedia entry)

this is where the Sturt-Norwood merger would have been of benefit: you could imagine the Norwood jumper with an appropriate monogram (& light blue numbers perhaps) for home matches and the Sturt jumper (with appropriate monogram & red numbers perhaps) for the away/clash. Redlegs (a previous Melbourne nickname), Bluelegs, Double Bluelegs are all awkward nicknames though, so I reckon they would have gone for a new one (e.g. Falcons)
I think if Norwood entered in 1991 they would have done it alone, but if they joined in 1997 it would be alongside Sturt.

20368755_1891855731075707_1106223045878818558_o.jpg

This image popped up on my Facebook via Bet365, but I noticed the sponsor on the Carey picture.
The Wentworth (Hotel ?)

I haven't seen that before, Gibbsy Mero do you guys have information?

It was a shorts sponsor in the 1999 and 2000 seasons. The hotel (which is now the Sofitel) was based in Sydney and this was at a time when the Roos were trying to rebrand themselves as geographically indistinct, playing a number of home games at the SCG. In 1999, it was worn on the shorts only for home games in Sydney. In 2000 it was worn in every game. The Sydney experiment was dialled back after those two seasons and the sponsorship ended.

Thanks for the answer!
That must have been a training jumper for Sydney games I guess.

I didn't know that backstory, I knew you'd know.

Thanks for the answer!
That must have been a training jumper for Sydney games I guess.

I didn't know that backstory, I knew you'd know.

I'm pretty sure they had a deal to stay in that particular hotel when they played matches in Sydney, in return their logo would feature on certain teamwear

Interesting
I always accostiate Mazda and Smoke Free with that period

Hey guys, looking to buy this Geurnsey, (I can't see it in person) but the owner of it thinks its not a player issue or worn, but it does have a number on the back, he said that someone before him put it on him, but my cousin thinks it is a player issue since it has that weird collat that normal retail ones didnt have (1997 Guernsey) if you could help me out. Cheers!

Attachments

• received_10155297141170090.jpeg
    received_10155297141170090.jpeg
    211.8 KB · Views: 9
  • received_10155297141120090.jpeg
    received_10155297141120090.jpeg
    205 KB · Views: 11
Hey guys, looking to buy this Geurnsey, (I can't see it in person) but the owner of it thinks its not a player issue or worn, but it does have a number on the back, he said that someone before him put it on him, but my cousin thinks it is a player issue since it has that weird collat that normal retail ones didnt have (1997 Guernsey) if you could help me out. Cheers!
Hey Chook, that looks like either a 1998 or 1999 iteration of the away guernsey. In 1997 there was no Nike logo -

24235.jpg

It changed in 1998. I think 1999 was the same jumper until 2000 when the teal was brighter and the new AFL logo appeared.
24086.jpg

Couldn't tell you if it was a player issue for sure but according to the past players page there wasn't a #40 at the Power until 2001.

This retail aCunningPlan was selling looks like the one you posted.
243213_468892be6e515b122c56dbe10f23f91d.png

Hey Chook, that looks like either a 1998 or 1999 iteration of the away guernsey. In 1997 there was no Nike logo -

24235.jpg

It changed in 1998. I think 1999 was the same jumper until 2000 when the teal was brighter and the new AFL logo appeared.
24086.jpg

Couldn't tell you if it was a player issue for sure but according to the past players page there wasn't a #40 at the Power until 2001.

This retail aCunningPlan was selling looks like the one you posted.
243213_468892be6e515b122c56dbe10f23f91d.png

Chook96

Good sleuthing. It's a 1999 based on the Vodafone logo alone.

I then got a hold of the '99 team list from a footy record from that year. Thinking it might be some spud I was pleasantly surprised to find out it was Toby Thurstans. Obviously he changed his number before he played a game.

ajJoM6e.png

Discussion Question and Answer Thread