Question for Mods

• Thread starter Thread starter Dudley

Touche Bert.

I think Bert and robbieando do heaps of stuff on here that goes unnoticed. On the other hand, there isn't a massive amount of heated debate on this board that requires the mods to dish out infractions willy nilly. They didn't deserve to be flamed in this thread :thumbsd: Sure there are changes some people would like to see, but the blatant attacks were a bit out of line IMO.

My bad - I'll get back to you in 6 months, when I'm next online

:D

no worries, please keep in mind that i want to be a mod for my own selfish reason which have nothing to do with me judging the job you're doing.

I have no problem with the way this board is moderated, as i said i'm driven by a need for power. :p:D

Touche Bert.

I think Bert and robbieando do heaps of stuff on here that goes unnoticed. On the other hand, there isn't a massive amount of heated debate on this board that requires the mods to dish out infractions willy nilly. They didn't deserve to be flamed in this thread :thumbsd: Sure there are changes some people would like to see, but the blatant attacks were a bit out of line IMO.

I agree, unfair.

This board is moderated well, not too invasive, let people settle their own disputes.

This board shits on RWO, i hope it does not change.

:D

no worries, please keep in mind that i want to be a mod for my own selfish reason which have nothing to do with me judging the job you're doing.

I have no problem with the way this board is moderated, as i said i'm driven by a need for power. :p:D

Well you seem to have the selection criteria covered - you're definitely on the shortlist

*BUMP*

29 minutes and no response

tick tock, tick tock......

Where's the dedication? the passion?
Its not you ERT,i have a passion yes but i am not aloud to express it,i think people have a problem as both of you are MODs on another site (i cannot mention it as i will get a red)i would not like your job, but someone like SS has a passion and should be looked at.I am worried doing this as it will come back to haunt me as i already believe i have been unfairly treated.

Bedford, I admire your passion, but I do not tolerate hostility - you need to find the line between where passion finishes and hostility starts and not cross it, but don't stifle your passion - opinions can be expressed passionately and heatedly without having to resort to abuse.

As for "the other site" if anyone had done their homework, they may have noticed I do not moderate that site anymore, I stepped aside from there as this board was becoming my main focus.

SS does have passion, and is generally an excellent poster on both this board, and the entire site in general. Chances are that as the board is revamped we may need to look at bringing in another moderator to help out with the workload - but word of advice: Telling the incumbents what a rubbish job they are doing and how you would do the job so much better is not an ideal way to make a job application.

Bedford if you feel that the moderators of this board are not giving you a fair go, I recommend you discuss your issue with one of the site admins in Mad Dog, Fred or Jim Boy

Thanks Ert,not a problem with you as i have always found you honest and fair and will hopefully catch up at a game
Yeah I second that, like I said earlier, I found you (Ert) to be a top bloke when I met you after the Hawks game and really enjoy the posting around here, I guess we're just venting a bit, just airing our opinions of improvements that could be made around here.

SS :thumbsu:

Ok - I'll bite.

OK THAT BLOWS ME AWAY!!!!!:D

I have a browser open at all times at work if I catch minute or 20...... the best place to be is BF... who knows Cuzz might have been made a Swan.... mabe you would not know!

I won't waste time responding to all that.... other than all the posters here have told me you are one hell of a nice guy to meet!?

HERO! Great post what is it first one in a month or two??????

OK Mods

I do have UTTER RESPECT for the thankless task you mods have to do!

It is easy to criticise especially when I do not have to do the hard yards!

I deserved your serve!!!!

I UNRESERVEDLY APOLOGISE!!!!!!

and look forward to your continuing focus on BF!... when time permits:D

When you next have your mods pow wow.... might I suggest:

That MODS should be allowed... by admin.... to have an alias that they can again post as champion posters that qualified them for the job in the first place!

ie another identity (even if we knew who was who)... that you don't have to protect your identity and reputation but can be more prolific and let it all hang out , no reservations!!!

Just a dumb thought....:p

Anyway, sorry, I have always imagined it would be a tough job and one I WOULD NEVER EVER seek to do!

Good on you, most other mods at least post regularly on their boards?????:o

GOOD LUCK.... !!!

again SORRY.... the "new and better" .... will be fascinating to see unfold!:thumbsu:

When you next have your mods pow wow.... might I suggest:

That MODS should be allowed... by admin.... to have an alias that they can again post as champion posters that qualified them for the job in the first place!

ie another identity (even if we knew who was who)... that you don't have to protect your identity and reputation but can be more prolific and let it all hang out , no reservations!!!

Just a dumb thought....:p

Who is to say that does not already happen? ;)

well... err... even last night I got some heavy duty PM's from mods and admin ( that I have got to know by their frequent prolific posting contributions all over BF).....explaining that that was currently not permitted!!!???????

BUT if you have one ERT....... :thumbsu::);):D

well... err... even last night I got some heavy duty PM's from mods and admin ( that I have got to know by their frequent prolific posting contributions all over BF).....explaining that that was currently not permitted!!!???????

BUT if you have one ERT....... :thumbsu::);):D

Sometimes the admins will turn a blind eye to aliases.

Grow up and stop acting like children.

I said that a review was taking place across the entire site, not just THIS BOARD (you all know that they take more than 12 hours to complete) and we had ideas of how we wanted to move forward.

Myself and Ert have discussed this via PM's since then and yet you guys WANT results to your requests the second you make them. Welcome to the real world, you don't always get results right away.

In anycase few things, asking to be a Mod is the best way to make sure YOU DON'T become a Mod. Both myself and Ert Work and we don't have internet access during work hours, so sorry if we can't reply to you petty requests in a timely manner. If you have a major issue, then report a post and that get though to our emails and then one of us WILL TAKE ACTION.

As for the idea that we DON'T understand Big Footy because of our connections to RWO, well I was a moderator her before I was one there and I have been a member here longer than I have been there. I know this place better than most of you think I do. I bearly post because I bearly have the time anymore and what time I do have is spent moderating this board and the Rugby League Board.

So quit with the whining, we are looking at ways to improve the site, traffic is up and we are no longer the worst Club Board on Big Footy. But don't think we aren't in touch with this board.

OK RA

I have edited out some of the stuff to earlier comments more civil

Since I for one apologised! Maybe you mainly addressing others all others.

What it all that did achieve however is more detailed outline of what is going on and some actual interchages (posts) from both of you.

Clearly you have self confessed you need help, you're spread too thin over responsibilites!. There are a lot of folks who can post in spare moments at work or during daytime. It does need someone with more proactive effect to boost it.

Fortunately for you both up till now not much volume happened.

I gave my response earlier and thank you for making the time to reply.

However there are many who worked hard at boosting this place, some of them (NOT ME!) wanted to help more hands on fashion! I would have thought those things, and particularly any criticism, ought to be an absolute BF priority for you.

Not trying to be flaming smart arse (but was stupid about it ....to get some sort of response) and to highlight an issue that lingers in background for several.

I , and suspect most others, will back off an await developments!

Thanks for your time again!!:thumbsu: