Question Re Fox Footy

It's been all over the radio and multiple AFL podcasts in the past couple of weeks.

The reality is that it's 2025 and if you want quality AFL coverage, then you're going to have to pay for it.

The Fox coverage will shite all over 7.

Spot on.

FTA can get stuffed. It's had years to provide a quality product with gubbermint protection, but instead has been lazy and cheap and provided a substandard product.

I want Netflix or Prime to get involved to up the pressure even more on existing telecasters.

Doubt it. They are hardly likely to throw retention offers around during the football season.

I cancelled after the AFL season last year and got a $15 retention offer which still has two months left on it. After that it will go up from $35 last year to $40… which I share with a mate. So your $25 ( presumably for one user only) sounds pretty good. It is what it is.

Suggest maybe if cash is tight to bin any other streaming services you currently have for the winter… Stan etc
I didn’t get any retention offers at all.

And I simply don’t like paying Fox at all for what I feel should be free to all, especially with no FTA Saturday tv a thing.

I didn’t get any retention offers at all.

And I simply don’t like paying Fox at all for what I feel should be free to all, especially with no FTA Saturday tv a thing.
You’re “ free” to have that opinion. Personally I’ve moved on from taking the high moral ground because it’s a lost cause.

bearing in mind was never a time in television history though that all games were shown on free to air. I remember when all we got was a one hour replay of one half of one game on a Saturday night, plus about 15 seconds each of highlights of the other games.

Pretty sure the FTA hours this year haven’t changed ( despite Saturdays dropping off, Thursdays replace them)

Basically all that has happened is that Kayo has gone up another $5 this year.

Oh boo hoo, all this whinging about Kayo/ Fox footy and no free to air Saturday. Fine if you don’t want to pay for it don’t but that’s your choice so don’t complain about your own choice. Also it’s cheaper to watch kayo than it is for a club membership where you don’t see all the games unless you travel interstate, which makes it more expensive plus finals and grand finals. It’s how the world is going with the streaming, I love not having ads and having decent commentary rather than the crap you get from 7. Worth every cent.

Couldn't agree more. You don't get anything for nothing these days. I feel sorry for those who can't afford it.....but in reality....we all can. It's all about priorities with spending. Some people spend heaps on shoes, holidays, eating out, etc etc....and then complain about paying for footy.
Also, anyone can go down to their local rsl or pub and watch for free. If you feel obliged..
.buy a lemon squash

Couldn't agree more. You don't get anything for nothing these days. I feel sorry for those who can't afford it.....but in reality....we all can. It's all about priorities with spending. Some people spend heaps on shoes, holidays, eating out, etc etc....and then complain about paying for footy.
Also, anyone can go down to their local rsl or pub and watch for free. If you feel obliged..
.buy a lemon squash
I was with you until lemon squash.

You possibly spend more time on your sofa than I do.

Spot on.

FTA can get stuffed. It's had years to provide a quality product with gubbermint protection, but instead has been lazy and cheap and provided a substandard product.

I want Netflix or Prime to get involved to up the pressure even more on existing telecasters.

Some people just can't Afford Streaming

So why should they Miss Out?

You’re “ free” to have that opinion. Personally I’ve moved on from taking the high moral ground because it’s a lost cause.

bearing in mind was never a time in television history though that all games were shown on free to air. I remember when all we got was a one hour replay of one half of one game on a Saturday night, plus about 15 seconds each of highlights of the other games.

Pretty sure the FTA hours this year haven’t changed ( despite Saturdays dropping off, Thursdays replace them)

Basically all that has happened is that Kayo has gone up another $5 this year.

Old Days they had 1 Channel while now they have Multiple Channels so should be easy to show a Game Live

I don't have problem paying $40 for Kayo, especially during Footy season. Is it overs? Yes, though I use it more than any streaming service during the year. They Kayo mini's are all I need when minnow clubs play and I can't watch it.

My problem is the quality of streams. Too much buffering, freezing and clunky app for what you pay.

I don't have problem paying $40 for Kayo, especially during Footy season. Is it overs? Yes, though I use it more than any streaming service during the year. They Kayo mini's are all I need when minnow clubs play and I can't watch it.

My problem is the quality of streams. Too much buffering, freezing and clunky app for what you pay.

Might need an Upgrade with your Modem

People are better off today than they were even in the 80's and 90's when games weren't even broadcast live. As the saying goes, beggars can't be choosers.

AFL has been incredibly forward thinking and the current strength of the code is because of that, but I think they're losing their way. Soccer is now much bigger amongst kids, particularly in lower socio-economic areas where free to air really matters. TV rights deals like this that negatively impact free to air coverage is an example of a short term preference over the longer term health of the game.

If free to air matters, why is soccer more popular?

There are more FTA AFL games over soccer games.

The world is changing. At a guess I’d say the average impressionable kid these days is more likely to get into a sport via social media than broadcasting. It’s all about the ‘gram.

Soccer and basketball are the most popular games at my school.

If free to air matters, why is soccer more popular?

There are more FTA AFL games over soccer games.

Soccer is more popular amongst youngsters because it's a bigger global sport that's easier to play muck around games.

FTA is one of the advantages that AFL has over it in terms of courting future fans. Any diminishing of that in order to turn a massive streaming deal into a slightly more massive streaming deal is silly short sightedness.

Spot on.

I want Fox to cover the GF. Get decent footy all year and then for the biggest game of all has the shittiest coverage of all.

Soccer is more popular amongst youngsters because it's a bigger global sport that's easier to play muck around games.

FTA is one of the advantages that AFL has over it in terms of courting future fans. Any diminishing of that in order to turn a massive streaming deal into a slightly more massive streaming deal is silly short sightedness.

And Soccer has way better Video Games then the AFL

Does the AFL really need to grow anymore? Some clubs now have 100,000 members. How much more do they need to grow and expand?

Question Re Fox Footy