Mega Thread Questions that don't warrant a thread thread & other stray dogs

Disappointed the ANZAC day game is on 7mate in Brisbane. Surely could be on the main 7 channel. Also means not in HD. Do you want to grow the game in Qld? Take the NRL head on!

I couldn't find a thread for the telecast of the Brownlow, so I'm here.
I thought Hamish was excellent & was far better than Bruce.

Who is that old dude that does Channel 7's dramatic introductions to their broadcasted games? His voice grates on me something shocking!
Craig Willis & he irks me. I reckon Derwayne should take over from him & then we would not have to put up with his commentary.

Hi all,
I'm new to the site and still feeling my way around.
Was wondering what the general consensus was to the idea that Gillon McLachlan constantly tinkers with AFL rules to promote higher scores in order to show more ads to appease advertisers. He then disguises his true intentions by claiming higher scores are what the public wants. Very cynical concept but not unbelievable and very disturbing if true.
P.s. If modern players could kick straight and had a left foot we would see scores go thru da roof. No need to change rules

On ZTE BLADE A0605 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hello.

Recently, I have been engaged in what one might describe as a one-way, quasi-legal spat with Channel Nine, and having exhausted just about every other option, I thought I might bring the issue here, if anybody has any ideas.

After having to bear witness to the Richmond Football Club winning another premiership, I was, as you would expect, quite shaken up and dejected. However, my fate soon changed as I was lucky enough to experience what is customary after seeing your team win a premiership - an agitated, drunken brawl with the police.

It was much more entertaining than the actual game; several Richmond supporters initially overwhelmed the police to the point that you might say they were winning, until the pepper spray and backups became involved.

As one does, I filmed the proceedings, and despite the heckling of my peers, spent up to an hour on the train home trying to find free phone software that would allow you to watermark videos, without putting branding of their own, or compressing the video (A very difficult undertaking). They told me the video was worthless, and no news network would bother to 'steal' the footage, with or without a watermark.

How wrong they were.

I uploaded the video to my Facebook page, 'Footy Avenue', watermark in tow, and thought not much more of it.

The next morning however, I fielded several calls back and forth from producers from channels 7 & 9, managing to recoup the ticket price and quite a bit more from channel 7.

Channel 9 actually had the gall to ask that I take the time to upload HD footage without the watermark, and were offended when I asked to be paid. Over email, I informed the producer in explicit terms that he was not to broadcast the footage without my permission.

Lo and behold, they did so anyway:

IMG_0517.JPG

I sent a few passive aggressive emails to the producer at Channel 9, and did not receive any response.

wowee.png

I decided to seek legal counsel, before the reality of our legal system became wholly apparent to me. I sought about 10 quotes or so from Copyright experts, fielding several calls and emails; many invited me to an initial consultation/meeting, most of which would 'only' be around $300 p/h. Of course, you can usually recoup legal costs, but I do not want to risk paying potentially several thousands of dollars for my pride; a nominal cost.

Next, I thought I might try and intimidate them - I sent them an invoice for the price Channel 7 paid me, so there was a basis for the sum, and demanded payment within 7 days, before I would take legal action.

They did not pay.

I have filed complaints with Free TV Australia, Nine Network and Nine News - all to no avail.

Considering I have a very legitimate claim against them, does anybody have any idea as to how I might 'stick it' to them in some way? They acted knowing they were breaking the law, yet there was nothing I would or could do, so they aired my video anyway.

Perhaps a normal, well-balanced person might let this go, but I won't let them get away with the remarkable amounts of distress they have caused me.

The last resort I can think of would be to genuinely commence legal proceedings of my own accord - does anybody have any other ideas? Any channels or bodies which might have the ability to take some form of action? Any ways to kick up a fuss?

Thanks xx

I see Richmond putting out statements that Australia day is a sad day because of
the plight of indigenous people.
When they had a jehovah’s witness captain and a muslim player they remained silent
and chose not to comment on the question of gay marriage. Picking their causes to
suit their circumstances.
Hypoctites!

Hello.

Recently, I have been engaged in what one might describe as a one-way, quasi-legal spat with Channel Nine, and having exhausted just about every other option, I thought I might bring the issue here, if anybody has any ideas.

After having to bear witness to the Richmond Football Club winning another premiership, I was, as you would expect, quite shaken up and dejected. However, my fate soon changed as I was lucky enough to experience what is customary after seeing your team win a premiership - an agitated, drunken brawl with the police.

It was much more entertaining than the actual game; several Richmond supporters initially overwhelmed the police to the point that you might say they were winning, until the pepper spray and backups became involved.

As one does, I filmed the proceedings, and despite the heckling of my peers, spent up to an hour on the train home trying to find free phone software that would allow you to watermark videos, without putting branding of their own, or compressing the video (A very difficult undertaking). They told me the video was worthless, and no news network would bother to 'steal' the footage, with or without a watermark.

How wrong they were.

I uploaded the video to my Facebook page, 'Footy Avenue', watermark in tow, and thought not much more of it.

The next morning however, I fielded several calls back and forth from producers from channels 7 & 9, managing to recoup the ticket price and quite a bit more from channel 7.

Channel 9 actually had the gall to ask that I take the time to upload HD footage without the watermark, and were offended when I asked to be paid. Over email, I informed the producer in explicit terms that he was not to broadcast the footage without my permission.

View attachment 806828

I sent a few passive aggressive emails to the producer at Channel 9, and did not receive any response.

View attachment 806855

I decided to seek legal counsel, before the reality of our legal system became wholly apparent to me. I sought about 10 quotes or so from Copyright experts, fielding several calls and emails; many invited me to an initial consultation/meeting, most of which would 'only' be around $300 p/h. Of course, you can usually recoup legal costs, but I do not want to risk paying potentially several thousands of dollars for my pride; a nominal cost.

Next, I thought I might try and intimidate them - I sent them an invoice for the price Channel 7 paid me, so there was a basis for the sum, and demanded payment within 7 days, before I would take legal action.

They did not pay.

I have filed complaints with Free TV Australia, Nine Network and Nine News - all to no avail.

Considering I have a very legitimate claim against them, does anybody have any idea as to how I might 'stick it' to them in some way? They acted knowing they were breaking the law, yet there was nothing I would or could do, so they aired my video anyway.

Perhaps a normal, well-balanced person might let this go, but I won't let them get away with the remarkable amounts of distress they have caused me.

The last resort I can think of would be to genuinely commence legal proceedings of my own accord - does anybody have any other ideas? Any channels or bodies which might have the ability to take some form of action? Any ways to kick up a fuss?

Thanks xx
There’s a Richmond poster on the rumours board who’s uncle is a QC. Perhaps he can help you?

Hello.

How wrong they were.

View attachment 806828

View attachment 806855

They did not pay.

Thanks xx

Give your old mate Finey a buzz, he’ll have some contacts for you no doubt.

You still remember me?

I must have done something right.

If anyone has any serious suggestions, I'm all ears. Otherwise, ready yourself for The Castle 2.0

I wonder if the virtual advertising 7 used last night on the field will be a permanent fixture for AFL matches this season.

Of course, this is not anywhere near new technology, with 7 also using it way back in 1999.

When some of the tv footy panel shows have co-hosts in other locations, why do we have to see and hear them with Skype-level shitness when we can see and hear people in studios on the other side of the planet as clear as anything?
Is it too expensive to put a tv camera in Kane Cornes' house, or are they scared of breaking the current socialising rules by having a tech hook it up. Or is it hip for them to use the computer hookup stuff that the kids use?
Boo! :D

When are the teams published these days?

It used to be Thursday 6.25 (with some exceptions).

Seems they're all released 24hrs before the bounce.

In the world game managers (coaches) get sacked fairly regularly. In the AFL, you can coach for years, never win anything but keep your job. No relegation, no qualifying for eg Europe, nearly 50% qualify for finals which is seen as acceptable and they keep on taking the pay check. What a job.

Imagine celebrating a coach or team for just making the finals - not making a deep finals run, just making the finals/playoffs.

Congratulations, you're mediocre.