tiggsy

Hey guys,

Loved the game yesterday, first half was the best I've seen us play in ages. Went home after the game, got comfy on the coach and started watching the broadcast as I'd recorded it on my PVR. The quality of the video was appalling. So bad that I couldn't clearly follow the ball in flight nor identify players until the camera zoomed in. Now I know that channel 7 are only broadcasting in SD, but I'm now wondering if their HD channel is better than the SD channel. My PVR is old and only has an SD receiver. So I guess I am curious to know whether everybody found the broadcast to be of terrible quality in terms of the video or whether it was due to me recording the SD channel. Just trying to work out whether to head out and buy a HD PVR today :)

Thanks for any help.

I thought the camera work was average yesterday. Seemed zoomed out for far too long at times and I only like the behind the goal short in small doses.

No way, zoomed out is by far the best camera angle. AFL is a game where as a viewer it's great to see what's going on 10-15m from the ball. Most camera work is just zoomed in on the players face so we can count how many hairs are on their eyebrows.

The commentary duo were ill informed w***ers. Malthouse and Harley were embarrassed to be there.

The Saturday Arvo (Hamish + Basil) are the worst commentary duo on TV. At least Dwayne and BT are somewhat passionate. Just saw the beginning of the replay...'free to that man on screen Joel Corey' while showing VB. WTF mate.

No way, zoomed out is by far the best camera angle. AFL is a game where as a viewer it's great to see what's going on 10-15m from the ball. Most camera work is just zoomed in on the players face so we can count how many hairs are on their eyebrows.

I know what you are getting at I hate when they zoom in too far and stay there but just seemed too zoomed out yesterday. I dunno I had others agree but maybe our tv had too much glare.

Hey guys,

Loved the game yesterday, first half was the best I've seen us play in ages. Went home after the game, got comfy on the coach and started watching the broadcast as I'd recorded it on my PVR. The quality of the video was appalling. So bad that I couldn't clearly follow the ball in flight nor identify players until the camera zoomed in. Now I know that channel 7 are only broadcasting in SD, but I'm now wondering if their HD channel is better than the SD channel. My PVR is old and only has an SD receiver. So I guess I am curious to know whether everybody found the broadcast to be of terrible quality in terms of the video or whether it was due to me recording the SD channel. Just trying to work out whether to head out and buy a HD PVR today :)

Thanks for any help.

Would make no difference as 7 do not have the footy in HD, so buying an HD PVR would make no difference.

I recorded 70 and watched a bit of the game yesterday once home. It was the first time I've paid any attention to the quality, only because it was so poor.

Apparently most of the HD cameras are on their way to London for the Olympics.

I recorded 70 and watched a bit of the game yesterday once home. It was the first time I've paid any attention to the quality, only because it was so poor.

As I wrote up before it was NOT in HD. 7 do not screen it in HD whether you have an HD tv or not.

Where did you hear that? There is no way 7 would be supplying any cameras for the telecast of any of the events. The host broadcaster would be responsible for that.

I think that was a joke right?

Anyway read above post...answers questions.