Beauty & Style Quitting

Me and my mate both got a job at this factory we were given the heads up on when we were 18.
Rocked up....the joint was a shithole! Filthy, and it was virtually a mundane process workers job even though we were told it was forklift driving.
Anyway, we were seperated and walked through the factory and as soon as I had the chance I slipped out a side door and walked out.
Was back before mobile phones so felt bad about ditching my mate there, when low and behold he drives straight past me as I’m walking down the street, lol.

I think that for the majority of people with decent office jobs, tradespeople who work for companies or what have you, you need to have that out of your system. I've had jobs that I've hated or that were a complete waste of my time and the company's money having me there, but you always take the high road.

At the next two jobs you take, they're going to want a reference from your line manager at your previous two companies and if you're not comfortable providing that they're going to want to know why not.

It's enough of a juggling act as it is, finding the perfect time to drop to your manager that you've got another job lined up and that they might get a call from the new mob (but you're not 100% until they've spoken to your referees), without adding a healthy mutual contempt into the mix.

I once worked in a bottle shop and was sick of being in a situation where you didn’t want to serve someone for being really pissed but also wanted to serve them because they were intimidating, and being abused, and feeling shit scared while locking up a store alone at 11pm in inner Melbourne while my bosses didn’t give two ****s every time a serious situation arose. I once worked 70 hours in a week as a casual and tried calling in tired to a Sunday shift - as I was entitled to - and was told to go. Got done for sitting down and saying I didn’t know if something was a Christmas special edition by a mystery shopper. No ‘well thanks for working a crazy amount of hours, sorry mate.’

I went out for my birthday one day and woke up hungover, said I couldn’t come in as entitled to. Boss said it was unprofessional and I said the workplace was unsafe. Told him I’d paid my last rent and I’d copped enough.

The other day I was abused by a mental case customer and said ‘**** me’ under my breath. Got some talking to and wasn’t angry as I was sort of looking for an excuse to quit as I hated the boss and coworkers and general public, basically said this isn’t working and I don’t feel I can keep putting up with the customers and that my co workers don’t seem supportive or frankly care and I was out and would be getting paid for the hour I’d done so far that morning. Went home half regretting it but have sent out a heap of resumes after and copped some interviews. No asking for references or why I quit: ‘I wanted to move on and that period of saving was over for me, I want some longer term work that’ll be a challenge and keep me motivated, new phase of life’ etc etc.

That last boss was a ****in arseh*le though anyway, some 4’11 woman who took the piss out of how I say ‘g’day’ and was essentially a bogan from Rockingham who treated all the blokes there with absolute disdain.

FWIW even if I wanted references, my second last job’s two managers have gone to new companies and this recent one is about to leave next month so eh who gives a shit.

You are allowed to serve anyone if you feel unsafe by refusing.. It's called serving under duress. You're safety is more important an already pissed bloke not being able to get more piss. You have some responsibility to deny the sale, but if confrontation is likely after that, it's fine. Your boss/es should know this.

I spent 17 years working for Star Track Express. I went home one Friday thinking that I'd pretty much had enough of the politics, double standards and general bullshit that surrounded the joint.
By the Monday, I'd accepted that it was time to explore new horizons.
The following Thursday, I was loading my truck, when I said to the guy on the next dock: " You know what ? I've had enough."
Went to the manager's office, gave him my ID card and said: "I'm out".
We had a chat, then he got one of the office girls to give me a lift home, asking me to think it over.
Got home about 9:00am. Took my shoes off, grabbed a beer, put the TV on, and rang the manager, advising him that I'd thought it over and I wasn't going back.
Had a new job in a week, so all was good.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I spent 17 years working for Star Track Express. I went home one Friday thinking that I'd pretty much had enough of the politics, double standards and general bullshit that surrounded the joint.
By the Monday, I'd accepted that it was time to explore new horizons.
The following Thursday, I was loading my truck, when I said to the guy on the next dock: " You know what ? I've had enough."
Went to the manager's office, gave him my ID card and said: "I'm out".
We had a chat, then he got one of the office girls to give me a lift home, asking me to think it over.
Got home about 9:00am. Took my shoes off, grabbed a beer, put the TV on, and rang the manager, advising him that I'd thought it over and I wasn't going back.
Had a new job in a week, so all was good.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
You didn't have a car?

Entitled to not go to work because you got smashed the night before?

WTF did I just read?
It's anyones right to call in sick. If you can produce a cert there's nothing employer can do (outside if you're casual then they just don't give you any hours)

Yeah if you can produce a certificate for being sick sure.

But calling in day of because you got hammered the night before is not something your entitled to. Its pathetic. Just go to work hung over and stop being a bitch.

I went to work hungover basically twice a day for six months. Me and this chick would always bond over it. She was like 6 foot tall, looked like Taylor Swift, and generally very pretty... she also spewed into plastic bags regularly on shift.

As for calling in hung, well it’s law that casuals do not need to go in and three hours is adequate time. The same thing applies to the employer. I called in sick and it was a Thursday or something - come on. I think I called in sick twice to that job in 18 months. Barely like I had a reputation. Thought it was shit form to bully someone into a shift who never called in sick and more often that not actually helped with shift swaps and picking up other people’s sickies.

But working for big mega companies is such anyway, all downward pressure. Bosses are generally people who got into the job at 18 and have no ability to manage people. I had one job recently which was for a small organisation and the boss was an old yachty and I left well there, just said I wanted to try something new and saw the hours were drying up, and they said it was cool and if I was still around in summer to come down and they’d sort me. But when you’re working for arseholes and The Man there is something nice about a ‘**** you’ to them.

I once worked in a bottle shop and was sick of being in a situation where you didn’t want to serve someone for being really pissed but also wanted to serve them because they were intimidating, and being abused, and feeling shit scared while locking up a store alone at 11pm in inner Melbourne while my bosses didn’t give two ****s every time a serious situation arose. I once worked 70 hours in a week as a casual and tried calling in tired to a Sunday shift - as I was entitled to - and was told to go. Got done for sitting down and saying I didn’t know if something was a Christmas special edition by a mystery shopper. No ‘well thanks for working a crazy amount of hours, sorry mate.’

I went out for my birthday one day and woke up hungover, said I couldn’t come in as entitled to. Boss said it was unprofessional and I said the workplace was unsafe. Told him I’d paid my last rent and I’d copped enough.

The other day I was abused by a mental case customer and said ‘**** me’ under my breath. Got some talking to and wasn’t angry as I was sort of looking for an excuse to quit as I hated the boss and coworkers and general public, basically said this isn’t working and I don’t feel I can keep putting up with the customers and that my co workers don’t seem supportive or frankly care and I was out and would be getting paid for the hour I’d done so far that morning. Went home half regretting it but have sent out a heap of resumes after and copped some interviews. No asking for references or why I quit: ‘I wanted to move on and that period of saving was over for me, I want some longer term work that’ll be a challenge and keep me motivated, new phase of life’ etc etc.

That last boss was a ****in arseh*le though anyway, some 4’11 woman who took the piss out of how I say ‘g’day’ and was essentially a bogan from Rockingham who treated all the blokes there with absolute disdain.

FWIW even if I wanted references, my second last job’s two managers have gone to new companies and this recent one is about to leave next month so eh who gives a shit.

Both of those are weak as piss efforts mate, I worked at a bottle o as well and rocked up in ordinary conditions at times, but still rocked up. You're not entitled to no show if you're a casual mate, you won't be working there too long if doing this sort of shit.

You're ****ing everyone over if you're a no show when not genuinely sick, harden up mate.

Oh and hai Croweater

If you want a half decent workforce hire part-timers so they have a reason to be reliable. If they're casuals with hours all over the shop (no pun) depending on the so-called "budget" they're going to be 18-25yo Silent Alarms. In fairness to his Liquorland/BWS boss that decision would be way above them.

I managed a liquor store from Thursday to Sunday during Uni days. Thought I was a great job. Just keeping things stocked and serving customers while having the football on in the background.
In theory it's a great gig and the Saturday morning shifts were borderline fun. Walk there at 7, have a coffee, set up, listen to your own music, stream some footy, leave at 3pm and have beers yourself. But a vast majority of shifts are alone at night and any inner suburb has a mix of people who are problematic. I mean how many people are confident saying 'sorry sir, I believe I can't serve you' to some aggro ****er who'll shut up and leave if you serve him. Plus the stress, general public, and the fact you're home at midnight and eating at 12:30 then waking up 10am the next day. It's shit. It's like working at a shitty pub.

Did that too. Pub was much harder. I never really had much trouble. A few thefts but that was it really. Wasn’t really a busy area though so not many trouble makers late at night even though it was outer east.
Would be cushy in Kew and I know people who worked there and your nights are quiet and customers are old piss heads grabbing their wine and leaving. It’s a lot different when it’s a major area with big groups of young blokes coming in, cramped stores and things getting smashed, people getting angry because there’s a line or no one to help them.