PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
You didn't have a car?I spent 17 years working for Star Track Express. I went home one Friday thinking that I'd pretty much had enough of the politics, double standards and general bullshit that surrounded the joint.
By the Monday, I'd accepted that it was time to explore new horizons.
The following Thursday, I was loading my truck, when I said to the guy on the next dock: " You know what ? I've had enough."
Went to the manager's office, gave him my ID card and said: "I'm out".
We had a chat, then he got one of the office girls to give me a lift home, asking me to think it over.
Got home about 9:00am. Took my shoes off, grabbed a beer, put the TV on, and rang the manager, advising him that I'd thought it over and I wasn't going back.
Had a new job in a week, so all was good.
On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
Job perk, drive the truck home. StarTrack guessing 4-8tonnerYou didn't have a car?
Nah. We were lucky enough to be able to take the trucks home if we wanted. No private use on weekends. Had to wash the truck once a week. Give other guys a lift to or from, if need be.You didn't have a car?
It's anyones right to call in sick. If you can produce a cert there's nothing employer can do (outside if you're casual then they just don't give you any hours)Entitled to not go to work because you got smashed the night before?
WTF did I just read?
Yeah if you can produce a certificate for being sick sure.It's anyones right to call in sick. If you can produce a cert there's nothing employer can do (outside if you're casual then they just don't give you any hours)
I once worked in a bottle shop and was sick of being in a situation where you didn’t want to serve someone for being really pissed but also wanted to serve them because they were intimidating, and being abused, and feeling shit scared while locking up a store alone at 11pm in inner Melbourne while my bosses didn’t give two ****s every time a serious situation arose. I once worked 70 hours in a week as a casual and tried calling in tired to a Sunday shift - as I was entitled to - and was told to go. Got done for sitting down and saying I didn’t know if something was a Christmas special edition by a mystery shopper. No ‘well thanks for working a crazy amount of hours, sorry mate.’
I went out for my birthday one day and woke up hungover, said I couldn’t come in as entitled to. Boss said it was unprofessional and I said the workplace was unsafe. Told him I’d paid my last rent and I’d copped enough.
The other day I was abused by a mental case customer and said ‘**** me’ under my breath. Got some talking to and wasn’t angry as I was sort of looking for an excuse to quit as I hated the boss and coworkers and general public, basically said this isn’t working and I don’t feel I can keep putting up with the customers and that my co workers don’t seem supportive or frankly care and I was out and would be getting paid for the hour I’d done so far that morning. Went home half regretting it but have sent out a heap of resumes after and copped some interviews. No asking for references or why I quit: ‘I wanted to move on and that period of saving was over for me, I want some longer term work that’ll be a challenge and keep me motivated, new phase of life’ etc etc.
That last boss was a ****in arseh*le though anyway, some 4’11 woman who took the piss out of how I say ‘g’day’ and was essentially a bogan from Rockingham who treated all the blokes there with absolute disdain.
FWIW even if I wanted references, my second last job’s two managers have gone to new companies and this recent one is about to leave next month so eh who gives a shit.
In theory it's a great gig and the Saturday morning shifts were borderline fun. Walk there at 7, have a coffee, set up, listen to your own music, stream some footy, leave at 3pm and have beers yourself. But a vast majority of shifts are alone at night and any inner suburb has a mix of people who are problematic. I mean how many people are confident saying 'sorry sir, I believe I can't serve you' to some aggro ****er who'll shut up and leave if you serve him. Plus the stress, general public, and the fact you're home at midnight and eating at 12:30 then waking up 10am the next day. It's shit. It's like working at a shitty pub.I managed a liquor store from Thursday to Sunday during Uni days. Thought I was a great job. Just keeping things stocked and serving customers while having the football on in the background.
Would be cushy in Kew and I know people who worked there and your nights are quiet and customers are old piss heads grabbing their wine and leaving. It’s a lot different when it’s a major area with big groups of young blokes coming in, cramped stores and things getting smashed, people getting angry because there’s a line or no one to help them.Did that too. Pub was much harder. I never really had much trouble. A few thefts but that was it really. Wasn’t really a busy area though so not many trouble makers late at night even though it was outer east.