Review R10: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood

Wasn't me mate.

Go listen to his presser and tell me I'm wrong about his mindset.
Fair enough it was the other two not you - my bad on that.

We also aren't in disagreement about his mindset. My entire point is that we didnt miss set shots today because of Nicks. We just didn't get it done under pressure. We had a slew of dumb decisions all day long. Dumb isn't Nicks. You can set the structure and system all day long but sometimes it's the big game players that separate two teams.

There was a moment of chaos where players on both sides were handballing to each other 2m away playing 'not my problem ' until the ball fell to Pendlebury. He hit a teammate off the outside of his boot to completely calm the situation for his side.

Collingwood are excellently coached, their players play their roles well but several of their players were panicking - sometimes in the clinches it's up to select individuals who can see the pass others can't, who time slows down for, who can execute in spite of the pressure.

For Collingwood I can count Daicos, I can count Pendlebury, I can count Sidebottom, I can count Howe. But not everyone. That isn't Macrae's fault.

Some players just have 'it'.

I’d imagine playing midfield more full-time is more taxing than spending some time off a HFF?
Dawson and Rankine played 89% today and Soligo 76%. Dawson is at 83% for the season, Rankine 82%, Soligo 77% and Soligo looks hurt at the moment and is still getting more time than a fit Peatling?

Knock yourself out - there is so much out there that saying goal kicking isnt coachable is a laugh

http://tun.in/pjoxp

Episodes

Why more draftees aren't making an immediate impact

8/21/2019
More

The joke that had to stop: When Gia realised he was a coach, not a player

8/14/2019
More

Forward or defender? How personality decides your end of the ground

8/7/2019
More

Has the AFL's new kick-in rule been a success?

7/31/2019
More

Transforming average into extraordinary: how cohesive environments change players

7/24/2019
More

How virtual reality training could change the game

7/17/2019
More

How to find AFL traits in junior athletes

7/10/2019
More

How Australia is leading the way in sports science

7/3/2019
More

How the Cats won two games they should have lost

6/19/2019
More

Understanding your player: The ex-Roo whose hardship makes him a better coach

6/12/2019
More

How to rate players: What you see v what the numbers tell you

6/5/2019
More

Revealed: Why 2019's expected scoring fireworks haven't happened

5/29/2019
More

How the stars solve their fear of failure: goalkicking guru explains

5/22/2019
More

From walking wounded to grand finalists: How Pies rolled the dice at training

5/8/2019
More

Hird, Clarko, Goodwin: The man the biggest names turned to

5/1/2019
More

Footy jargon 101: Dirty balls, spitters and Clarko's cluster

4/24/2019
More

The evolution of football with the man who has seen it all

4/17/2019
More

How a single trade can be years in the making

4/10/2019
More

The numbers man

4/3/2019
More

The role of the wingman in the AFL's new 6-6-6 system

3/27/2019
More

"Goal kicking whisperer" is a metaphorical term that refers to someone who is exceptionally skilled and successful at scoring goals, particularly in a sport like soccer or rugby. It implies a natural talent for finding the net and converting opportunities into points, often with a sense of ease and precision.

The term suggests a player who has mastered the technical aspects of goal kicking and possesses a strong mental game, allowing them to consistently perform under pressure. It can also be used to describe a coach or mentor who helps athletes develop their goal-kicking abilities.

Here's a breakdown of what the term suggests:

• Expertise:
    A goal kicking whisperer is a highly skilled player who can reliably score goals.
  • Intuition:
    They have a natural ability to understand the nuances of goal kicking and make the right decisions in the moment.
  • Confidence:
    They approach goal kicking with a calm and focused mindset, knowing that they have the skills to succeed.
  • Impact:
    They have a significant impact on their team's performance by consistently scoring goals and turning chances into points.

Why go to all of that effort just to completely misrepresent my point? This isn't about, nor has it ever been, that goal kicking wasn't coachable.

And if anything if it was my point then given our goalkicking this year has been generally very good you really wouldn't want to be making this argument in support of hating Nicks

One thing I remember Walsh saying when he started was along the lines of "We can be friendly, but we're not friends. It's an employee/employer relationship". Like made it very clear where he stood and he was the boss.
It's a multiple tragedy. Patricide.
Losing a Coach mid-season, that way :sadv1: ,
+ we will never know what might have been under Walsh, but I agree entirely with what you described.

With respect to you (not Nicks),
I'd much prefer him to be respected for his toughness and ruthlessness, his HATE for losing, his relentless drive to improve as a Coach for the team, than be "popular".

He is not their mate/buddy/friend.
He's their Coach.
They can all be great mates after he's done.

FIRST priority: instill mental toughness and skill execution under pressure into a winning culture.
Again, not arguing with you. Whether he is a popular coach or not isnt the central point. I said that in response to people asserting that Nicks was ****ing with people's mindsets to the point they didnt believe they could do anything. Hardly something a popular coach would have thought about him

Don't reckon we've improved ??
I’m not convinced we’ve substantially improved. We’ll probably scrape into finals. Compared to last year, we’ve added three first team players, are (hopefully) getting full seasons from Thilthorpe, Woz and Rankine, and had a significantly easier fixture. We’ve failed every test to separate ourselves from other middling teams thus far.

Our improvement has come from the fixture and personnel. Nothing from Nicks asserting he’s capable of getting us into contender territory.

Bullshit.
SACK NICKS.
The Crows play, decide, and finish like they've been Coached --- BADLY.
If he doesn’t make finals, he needs to go!! There is nothing surer.
Alli think is everyone on this board seems to blame him for everything, Rankine is one of our most talented and skilled players and he kicked 2 out on the full!!! How is that Nicks fault?

How? You said it was coachable. If it's coachable you can write down how.

It was me who said it was coachable.

I can't remember where but Jarrod Berry from Brisbane has publicly said that Fagan hooking him up with mental strength coach got him to the next level.

It's also a mindset, an attitude. Nicks is no-risk.

I’m not convinced we’ve substantially improved. We’ll probably scrape into finals. Compared to last year, we’ve added three first team players, are (hopefully) getting full seasons from Thilthorpe, Woz and Rankine, and had a significantly easier fixture. We’ve failed every test to separate ourselves from other middling teams thus far.

Our improvement has come from the fixture and personnel. Nothing from Nicks asserting he’s capable of getting us into contender territory.
Id agree with that

You said being a big moment player is uncoachable. I suggested that being a big moment player is coachable. You said some players have just have "it" and some don't. I cited some examples refuting this.

I'm not conflating. I'm directly responding to what you said.
Even if it gets conceded that it's not coachable, does anyone believe that Nicks astutely and ruthlessly identifies those who do/don't possess the ability to stand up in big moments?

He's consistently been dazzled by these four things during his tenure:
1) Preseasons
2) Performances vs West Coast
3) Performances vs North Melbourne
4) Performances vs Carlton

Fair enough it was the other two not you - my bad on that.

We also aren't in disagreement about his mindset. My entire point is that we didnt miss set shots today because of Nicks. We just didn't get it done under pressure. We had a slew of dumb decisions all day long. Dumb isn't Nicks. You can set the structure and system all day long but sometimes it's the big game players that separate two teams.

There was a moment of chaos where players on both sides were handballing to each other 2m away playing 'not my problem ' until the ball fell to Pendlebury. He hit a teammate off the outside of his boot to completely calm the situation for his side.

Collingwood are excellently coached, their players play their roles well but several of their players were panicking - sometimes in the clinches it's up to select individuals who can see the pass others can't, who time slows down for, who can execute in spite of the pressure.

For Collingwood I can count Daicos, I can count Pendlebury, I can count Sidebottom, I can count Howe. But not everyone. That isn't Macrae's fault.

Some players just have 'it'.
You reckon a coach can't give a team of players to take a risk, take that 45 kick into the corridor, come off your man to intercept, back yourself in a one on one?

There were plenty of moments where Collingwood players took risks. Yes, is coached. You said yourself. So I guess you're agreeing with me now.

Why go to all of that effort just to completely misrepresent my point? This isn't about, nor has it ever been, that goal kicking wasn't coachable.
Apparently its not about goal kicking - just farking LOL

My entire point is that we didnt miss set shots today because of Nicks. We just didn't get it done under pressure.

Just run along

And if anything if it was my point then given our goalkicking this year has been generally very good you really wouldn't want to be making this argument in support of hating Nicks
I dont hate Nicks - I hate that the club cant see his deficiencies and are willing to waste the resources we have available to keep him in the job - he wont take this club to a GF and we will have to restart with a new squad which is 10 years wasted

You said being a big moment player is uncoachable. I suggested that being a big moment player is coachable. You said some players have just have "it" and some don't. I cited some examples refuting this.

I'm not conflating. I'm directly responding to what you said.

Because unless you are suggesting that those entire teams are filled with big moment players then you arent really addressing the point.

You can absolutely practice the 2 and 5 minute drills to make a team better in the closing stages. You can set up your structures to give players the plan A, B and C. Thats all learning something.

Im talking about the players who go beyond that intrinsically. I dont know if we will ever arrive at the same point of contention. Not sure its worth continuing since we cant even get to the starting blocks.

It was me who said it was coachable.

I can't remember where but Jarrod Berry from Brisbane has publicly said that Fagan hooking him up with mental strength coach got him to the next level.
I can't imagine we couldn't find a single player who hasn't attributed some physical or mental improvement to their game to a coach whether that be at AFL level or below.

Does that make them a big moment player?

Because if you define Berry as a big moment player this really is doomed.

If he doesn’t make finals, he needs to go!! There is nothing surer.
Alli think is everyone on this board seems to blame him for everything, Rankine is one of our most talented and skilled players and he kicked 2 out on the full!!! How is that Nicks fault?
Collingwood weren't exactly ruthless with their chances either, at one point they had an entire extra goal's worth of behinds over Adelaide. Membrey kicked two out on the full from reasonable chances too.

The big difference is that a lot of Adelaide's forward entries weren't even creating a shot.

The worse thing about this game is after his comments yesterday Kane is going to be the smuggest arseh*le about the Crows forward line and Walker - will milk it on every one of his shit shows

Screw allowing that scum pleasure Crows!

You reckon a coach can't give a team of players to take a risk, take that 45 kick into the corridor, come off your man to intercept, back yourself in a one on one?

There were plenty of moments where Collingwood players took risks. Yes, is coached. You said yourself. So I guess you're agreeing with me now.

I'm agreeing with you on plenty of things. That system is coachable, that tactics are coachable, that 2 minute drills are coachavle, that Nicks sucks.

All of those example in your first paragraph are what coaches do.

Dangerfield isn't the same as most players. It didnt matter who he was coached by. He still had it.

Here's just a good example of selection integrity. If Charlie Edwards plays instead of Brodie Smith two weeks ago, and then stayed in for Milera when Hinge came back for Smih, Charlie would have had a couple of games under his belt and now experienced a pressure cooker game on the G. Instead, he's still "banging down the door" in the Twos. That's what shits me the most about this coaching panel. And it's exactly the outcome of not trusting your players.

Apparently its not about goal kicking - just farking LOL

Just run along

I dont hate Nicks - I hate that the club cant see his deficiencies and are willing to waste the resources we have available to keep him in the job - he wont take this club to a GF and we will have to restart with a new squad which is 10 years wasted

Run along? Just put me on ignore. You'll be smarter for it.

I can't imagine we couldn't find a single player who hasn't attributed some physical or mental improvement to their game to a coach whether that be at AFL level or below.

Does that make them a big moment player?

Because if you define Berry as a big moment player this really is doomed.

You obviously didn't watch the 2023 and 2024 finals series to see a player who absolutely learned how to be better in big moments.

But anyway, we're going around in circles.

Review R10: The Good, Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood