Review R11: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Waalitj Marawar (West Coast Eagles)

I think it's that plus a niggle he picked up a month ago

Soligo is our most balanced mid between contested work and skills. Shut him down and we lose quite a lot of ground level power and defensive workrate
I think I’d give him a weekend off football to freshen him up , no shame in that

We need him fresh and moving at his best

On Soligo I thought the Crouch factor might be at play but on looking it isnt

Crouch was out from R8 and Soligo had a solid 26+ disposal average first 4 rounds then only 2 x 22+ disposals since

He is still getting 15+ though

I said 2 weeks ago he looked hampered
Either he's carrying a niggle which is hampering him
OR
Oppo teams are putting not a tag, necessarily, but more work into him because he'd become such a serious threat.

Does anybody know what Nicks says to the group before they run out, pre-match, if anything?
The slow starts are a pattern, under Nicks.

I think it has to do with his dispassionate "OK boys, let's play our way" mantra.
You know "Go, do what you do".
I can't think of anything much less ho-hum and uninspiring than that.
What slow start? We only had one, and that was against Freo: hardly a pattern.

What slow start?
:rolleyes:

The slow starts that happen, more often than not, when we ...
Uhhhh ...
start slowly.

For 'slowly', read 'sluggishly', on occasion.
You can tell in the first 5-7 minutes if the Crows are switched ON at the start of a game and when they don't we lose, more often than not.

I don't have any game by game data --- it's an opinion based on, you know, the vibe :sneaky:.

I think I’d give him a weekend off football to freshen him up , no shame in that

We need him fresh and moving at his best
He first exhibited the problem mid-last-year. In one match, he was moving like treacle as spuds ran straight past him. It must be a recurrence of OP.

He wasn't bad on Sunday as his disposal improved markedly towards his precise best. His TOG also increased. Burgess must think that he should play through this. I don't see a B-grade footballer, just a hampered A-grader.

:rolleyes:

The slow starts that happen, more often than not, when we ...
Uhhhh ...
start slowly.

For 'slowly', read 'sluggishly', on occasion.
You can tell in the first 5-7 minutes if the Crows are switched ON at the start of a game and when they don't we lose, more often than not.

I don't have any game by game data --- it's an opinion based on, you know, the vibe :sneaky:.
Do you really think we started slowly on Sunday??

As I said in my edit, we were only guilty of this against Freo.

What slow start? We only had one, and that was against Freo: hardly a pattern.
Sorry, I replied to the unedited version.

I should explain the pattern better.
We start slow, get behind, then turn on a burst in the last when the oppo has put the cue in the rack ...
and LOSE, often under 3 goals.
I'm not alone in this observation.
Do you really think we started slowly on Sunday??
As I said in my edit, we were only guilty of this against Freo.
We were on the way to winning the first clearance when Rankine ran too far.
After that, it was an error-ridden, up-and-back, turnover quarter.
4.2 to 3.2 is hardly exploding out of the blocks so, yeah, I'd say it was a slow start. Maybe they took time to adjust to that swirly wind
BUT
I was very happy with our intensity and ball movement in the third quarter :D :hearteyes: .
7.7 to 1.3 was a demolition in that difficult wind.

Sorry, I replied to the unedited version.

I should explain the pattern better.
We start slow, get behind, then turn on a burst in the last when the oppo has put the cue in the rack ...
and LOSE, often under 3 goals.
I'm not alone in this observation.

After that, it was an error-ridden, up-and-back, turnover quarter.

4.2 to 3.2 is hardly exploding out of the blocks so, yeah, I'd say it was a slow start. Maybe they took time to adjust to that swirly wind
BUT
I was very happy with our intensity and ball movement in the third quarter :D :hearteyes: .
7.7 to 1.3 was a demolition in that difficult wind.
I agree completely with the bolded. I think we have a different definition of slow start. I felt we started completely "on" in this match and the problem was that we were too fast and undisciplined, leading to all the turnovers, etc. There's no way we "failed to turn up", as we did in Freo.

So, I don't base this on slow scoring differential, per se. There was no suggestion to me that we were going to lose, as opposed to Freo, when it was very clear early that we were still on the plane and were going to lose.

I think we can agree that we must avoid "failing to turn up" for any match. The trade secret as to how to achieve this would be very valuable.

He took 12 steps by my count. Ridiculous.

Rachele was outstanding. Accurate when no one else was capable and a tackling beast. Five inside 50 tackles is elite. Reckon he’s better up forward, get overwhelmed in heavy traffic.

Baker sparked an all-in melee late in the Eagles' loss to Adelaide on Sunday when he drove his elbow into the back of the neck of Crows midfielder, James Peatling.

The Match Review Officer charged Baker with misconduct and fined him $5000, which can be reduced to $3125 with an early plea.

1748248937633.png

Baker sparked an all-in melee late in the Eagles' loss to Adelaide on Sunday when he drove his elbow into the back of the neck of Crows midfielder, James Peatling.

The Match Review Officer charged Baker with misconduct and fined him $5000, which can be reduced to $3125 with an early plea.

View attachment 2325928
Lol so pushing a players head into the ground is only a fine

That's so bogus.

"We want to stamp out concussion so we fine a guy for shoving a players head into the ground... Oh and we fine the opposition players more in total for looking after their mate".

That's so bogus.

"We want to stamp out concussion so we fine a guy for shoving a players head into the ground... Oh and we fine the opposition players more in total for looking after their mate".
The fines should all go to the player who causes the melee

We're very much a "better than the bad sides, worse than the good sides" team this year.

We're benefitting from a fairly soft draw, courtesy of our bottom four finish last year. With that kind of draw we should finish high on the ladder, but I struggle to see us beating several good sides in a row in a finals series at this stage.
Soft Draw???

Our double up games are against
Collingwood currently 1st
Suns - 3rd with a game in hand
Hawthorn - 6th
Poort - 15th
North - 17th
Eagles - 18th

Finishing 15th we should have had easier double ups but were given 2 top six teams (Poort and Hawks), 2 middle six (Suns, Collingwood) and 2 bottom six teams (Eagles and North).

As luck would have it, our double ups are more difficult than expected. Based on the current premiership table, how many teams have more difficult double ups?

ADELAIDE CROWS

They probably didn’t bring their best football during the first half on Sunday afternoon against the Eagles, but an 11-goal showing across the third and fourth quarter was potent. Several usual suspects had big games, but it was the likes of normal role players Sam Berry, Mark Keane and Reilly O’Brien that would have given fans comfort that this side can hold their own in September; albeit against a lesser opponent. And with that, expectations are starting to shift on their ceiling, said Fox Footy’s Ben Dixon post-game. “In terms of what Adelaide have produced this year, it’s a pretty collective and impressive outfit. Top four would be the minimum for this group (with) what they’re producing so far this season,” he said during the final quarter.
In the votes

Take your pick, umpires! Maximum votes could go to anyone here, but officials may have just seen more of Jordan Dawson (27 disposals — 17 contested, 11 inside 50s, nine tackles, eight clearances, two goals) to give him first dibs. Not far behind him though, if not on par, was Josh Rachele (16 disposals, six tackles — five inside 50, five goals) who lit up the match after quarter time. Ruck Reilly O’Brien (18 disposals, 45 hitouts, 12 score involvements, one goal) smashed his rival counterpart, and Riley Thilthorpe (17 disposals, 10 score involvements, two goals, two goal assists) was best on ground in the first half. And a smoky for one vote would be Sam Berry (26 disposals, nine tackles, one goal, one goal assist), who had a career-high amount of the Sherrin in his first full AFL game of this season.

Room for improvement

There wasn’t much that will leave coach Matthew Nicks upset from their Round 11 thumping, but their forwards did miss a fair few shots on goal that should normally be converted. Their pressure, particularly in the second and third quarter, was through the roof — an attribute that is indicative regardless of the opponent you’re up against.

Grade

A

Review R11: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Waalitj Marawar (West Coast Eagles)