Review R11: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Waalitj Marawar (West Coast Eagles)

I agree completely with the ... etc.
You had me at "I agree completely". Disarmed me totally. :sneaky:

The rest was just a blur while I waited for my head to de-swell.
I think we have a different definition of slow start.
Yes, I agree. Completely.
I felt we started completely "on" in this match and the problem was that we were too fast and undisciplined, leading to all the turnovers, etc.
So, it wasn't 4.2 to 3.2 from a slow start.
It was that we started too quickly ....? :unsure: :confusedv1:.
There's no way we "failed to turn up", as we did in Freo.
Again, I agree completely.
So, I don't base this on slow scoring differential, per se. There was no suggestion to me that we were going to lose, as opposed to Freo, when it was very clear early that we were still on the plane and were going to lose.
It's just as well that we didn't start ... uhhh ... too quickly; we might have lost by more!
I think we can agree that we must avoid "failing to turn up" for any match.
I don't just agree. I agree ... well, you can guess the rest.

Failing to turn up would be a forfeit. Not good.
The trade secret as to how to achieve this would be very valuable.
As are all trade secrets.
I'd elaborate, but I'm off to find my medication ...

He took 12 steps by my count. Ridiculous.
Wasn't my call. The Umps said he ran too far. Here, he takes possession:
1748257057121.png

That white mark on the L is one of the Indigenous "person-sitting" symbols, just outside the centre circle.
It's 14 steps, full pelt, to the handball.
(interestingly, the bloke who handballed to him, O'Reilly, ran past Rankine and to his L :oops:, but I'd hope that our blokes are under STRICTEST instruction not to handball to RoB ;))

1748257879824.png

AO is 165m long, so he ran about 82.5 - about 8 - 50 - about 3 = around 21-22m.

I've seen players run further (eg last week's Goal of the Round), often, imo. Meh.
Too bad, it would've been a great start.
Rachele was outstanding. Accurate when no one else was capable and a tackling beast. Five inside 50 tackles is elite. Reckon he’s better up forward, get overwhelmed in heavy traffic.
I am in complete agreement (and, BRL121 , still looking for my medication).

Wasn't my call. The Umps said he ran too far. Here, he takes possession:
View attachment 2326096

That white mark on the L is one of the Indigenous "person-sitting" symbols, just outside the centre circle.
It's 14 steps, full pelt, to the handball.
(interestingly, the bloke who handballed to him, O'Reilly, ran past Rankine and to his L :oops:, but I'd hope that our blokes are under STRICTEST instruction not to handball to RoB ;))

View attachment 2326110

AO is 165m long, so he ran about 82.5 - about 8 - 50 - about 3 = around 21-22m.

I've seen players run further (eg last week's Goal of the Round), often, imo. Meh.
Too bad, it would've been a great start.

I am in complete agreement (and, BRL121 , still looking for my medication).
I've had mine. ;)

The biggest shake my head moment of yesterday wasn't on field, it was off.
The commentary team including Kelli Underwood spent half the pregame commentary around how Taylor Walker was out, and good old Kelli during the game goes on to commentate that Walker had a mark and was going to have a kick at goal.
She is the poster child.for DEI
It was the worst commentary of the year by far... where the hell did she come from? Every time she does the commentary she gets the names wrong at least a few times.

Izak probably ran too far but players that aren't named Izak Rankine get away with that all the time.

Either he's carrying a niggle which is hampering him
OR
Oppo teams are putting not a tag, necessarily, but more work into him because he'd become such a serious threat.
Remember when that happened to Sloane? He found that very difficult to overcome. Let’s hope Soligo finds a way.

Remember when that happened to Sloane? He found that very difficult to overcome.
Yeah, I remember; Sloane really struggled and it lessened his effectiveness.
I can't tell if Soligo is being tagged; can anybody say definitively, please?
Let’s hope Soligo finds a way.
Being more cynical than you, I think Nicks is playing Soligo knowing he's carrying an injury not serious enough to stop him playing, but enough to make Soligo less dynamic.

Yeah, I remember; Sloane really struggled and it lessened his effectiveness.
I can't tell if Soligo is being tagged; can anybody say definitively, please?

Being more cynical than you, I think Nicks is playing Soligo knowing he's carrying an injury not serious enough to stop him playing, but enough to make Soligo less dynamic.
I agree, totally, except that it's probably Burgess controlling this.

I'm not sure I fully subscribe to the idea that ROB is playing for a contract but he was absolutely shithouse until about 3 or 4 weeks ago. Now we hear he's in contract negotiations and his form suddenly turns around. Is this a guy that picks and chooses when to show up, or just a quirk of the draw with his match ups?

Is this a guy that picks and chooses when to show up
Sarcastic Oc GIF

I'm not sure I fully subscribe to the idea that ROB is playing for a contract but he was absolutely shithouse until about 3 or 4 weeks ago. Now we hear he's in contract negotiations and his form suddenly turns around. Is this a guy that picks and chooses when to show up, or just a quirk of the draw with his match ups?
I think he's capable of being a very decent AFL ruckman, but the last few weeks he's absolutely had some favourable match-ups.

This week is a big one, he usually struggles against Grundy

I think he's capable of being a very decent AFL ruckman, but the last few weeks he's absolutely had some favourable match-ups.

This week is a big one, he usually struggles against Grundy
Yeah I tend to think these things are coincidental. If it was true, it should tank a player's value during contract negotiations with any shrewd list manager.

Baker sparked an all-in melee late in the Eagles' loss to Adelaide on Sunday when he drove his elbow into the back of the neck of Crows midfielder, James Peatling.

The Match Review Officer charged Baker with misconduct and fined him $5000, which can be reduced to $3125 with an early plea.

View attachment 2325928
Not overly fussed with the fine for Baker.
However, I'm, interested to know how it was arrived at. I'm assuming it was Deliberate, High contact and low impact? Would that equate a fine?

The fines should all go to the player who causes the melee
The melee rule is one of the worst of many bad AFL rules, absolutely awful in every sense. I remember clearly my son asking me about incidents like this as he had just seen a footy team mate treated similarly to Peatling and he had decided not to escalate anything. He is now 23 and still talks about his regret at not getting involved in that incident.

The AFL loves to talk about role models, but as a father of boys, I can honestly say I would be proud that all those guys thought about their mate before worrying about any repercussions to themselves. I know it’s just a footy game but those instincts and principles are what forms the bedrock of great male friendships, and the fact that it is their immediate response should be respected not punished.

I do love on this site how people manage to blame absolutely anything they don’t like on the coach. If they like a selection it’s Murray’s influence but if they don’t like it, it’s 100% Nicks.

Any fair assessment would show that the coaches and list management have all supported Soligo completely from the moment he got here. He is now struggling with much more dynamic team mates in the midfield and he needs to adapt, pure and simple.

Ugly: Soligo’s fall from grace. We are relying on his development into an A-grader to become a contender. He’s barely a B-grader now.

Keeping the faith.

Edit: his season and career starts read as an average footballer. Have we overrated him somehow?
Thats a bit harsh.

He is about the same as last year, perhaps not as dynamic in the midfield but he would be getting a lot more attention now.

22 years old.
Played ~70 games
8 Brownlow votes.

Josh Sinn went at pick 12 that year and has barely strung more than a handful of games together.

He is fine. Not starring, but contributing nicely.

Thats a bit harsh.

He is about the same as last year, perhaps not as dynamic in the midfield but he would be getting a lot more attention now.

22 years old.
Played ~70 games
8 Brownlow votes.

Josh Sinn went at pick 12 that year and has barely strung more than a handful of games together.

He is fine. Not starring, but contributing nicely.
And the other draftees?

Review R11: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Waalitj Marawar (West Coast Eagles)