Review R11: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Waalitj Marawar (West Coast Eagles)

The good, we now have 4 forwards averaging 2 goals per game... with plenty of fire-power...
2.6 Fogarty
2.3 Thilthorpe
2.1 Rachele
2.0 Pedlar
----
1.8 Walker
1.6 Keays

So we have 6 forwards averaging more than 1.5 goals per game. Is that a 1st?

Saw something Ive never seen before today. Curtin - or the guy on the outside wing, seems to have the job of ensuring that the 6 6 6 thing works. At each bounce, he looks right and left then signals that all is well to someone, probably Dawson.

The good, we now have 4 forwards averaging 2 goals per game... with plenty of fire-power...
2.6 Fogarty
2.3 Thilthorpe
2.1 Rachele
2.0 Pedlar
----
1.8 Walker
1.6 Keays

So we have 5 forwards averaging more than 1.5 goals per game. Is that a 1st?
Rachele’s up to 2.4 if you don’t count the game where he got injured, too

Did anyone realistically think we were contending this year?

We're very much a "better than the bad sides, worse than the good sides" team this year.

We're benefitting from a fairly soft draw, courtesy of our bottom four finish last year. With that kind of draw we should finish high on the ladder, but I struggle to see us beating several good sides in a row in a finals series at this stage.

Did anyone realistically think we were contending this year?
I thought with the addition of the 3 amigos and the resulting lack of game time for the 3 who missed we had an opportunity to go deep

I had us at 14 wins and still think its likely but again some issues I still see. Give me a better coach and I'm buying plane tickets

Good:
Pedlar is good enough, just gotta keep it up.

Berry getting a full game and doing well

Having an absolutely awful first half where the skills were just terrible, then turning it all around with a much better game style with more handball and lowering of the eyes in the 2nd

Curtins composure, Rachele gets dangerous, tackling was excellent.

It feels like this is the team, this 23 today are the guys we want playing.

Bad: the wind seems to cause a lot of problems at AO.

Ugly:
Sydney losing by 9 goals. I’m guessing we will get 2024 Sydney next week….

11 goal win proving nothing until we beat anyone good, especially away

I don't know how anyone can think there wasn't wind when you look at drapers shot in the fourth. It stopped and went in reverse.

There was another one where the Eagles player tried to kick it towards the post to account for the wind it still drifted across the face.

Good - a wholesome team effort, with a good spread of goal kickers.
- Rachele’s goal kicking was supreme today, plus that awesome tackle in the 4th quarter where Dawson had played on.
- Rob’s kicking. OMG! I can’t believe I’m saying this, but he might just be our best goal AND field kick in this match! A couple of bullet passes that would make any elite kickers feel proud!
- Curtin is playing like he belongs. Loving his marking power, really nice soft hands. He’s got all the tools, just need to get more of the ball and kick more goals.

Bad - kicking was really poor, particularly in the first half.
- the stupid 15m rule is doing my head in!

Ugly - Baker striking to the back of our player’s neck. If the AFL is fair dinkum of head protection and concussions, he needs to be rubbed out for several weeks.

Good:
Curtin is a great target on the wing, fantastic contested mark
Dawson Brownlow, lets go
Berry/Peatling - Can we say goodbye to Crouch for good?
Most of the boys flying the flag for Peating
Rash - Would be an All Australian lock if he hadn't done his ribs, still might be

Bad:
Skills in anything less than ideal conditions - Kind've an issue for a winter sport
Laird disposol
Milera decision making and intensity

Ugly:
Draper getting fed scraps of game time, give him an uninterupted run of games with big mid minutes until Burgess tells them not to
Kelli Underwood assaulting my ears
I might be on the outside here, but I think we have missed, Crouch.
I dont think its a coincidence that our midfield has struggled since he has been out.
We don't have an extractor in the middle, and someone who gets 36 possessions a game.

We're very much a "better than the bad sides, worse than the good sides" team this year.

We're benefitting from a fairly soft draw, courtesy of our bottom four finish last year. With that kind of draw we should finish high on the ladder, but I struggle to see us beating several good sides in a row in a finals series at this stage.
Well we will soon find out in just about 3 weeks time.

If we had of played a good team we would have got smashed.
It was a game we had to win, we won, and we better tighten up or Sydney is going to flog us.

Soligo has been down for awhile now, so that's a concern.

If we had of played a good team we would have got smashed.
It was a game we had to win, we won, and we better tighten up or Sydney is going to flog us.

Soligo has been down for awhile now, so that's a concern.
Just going through the 4th year blues part of his career

I think people might be underselling West Coast's 1st half. How often do we see a poorer side match it early with a better side before falling away later in the game as unable to maintain pressure and intensity?
Pear on Saturday are a case in point.
Kangaroos collingwood

You can see Draper is trying too hard and trying to do too much. He's going to be a gun when he's had time to get into the flow of AFL footy. He's the definition of "get him to 50 games asap".

It pisses me off so much that Nicks will cook older players with his obsession with continuity but blokes that would benefit from some stability are made sub, played out of position and dropped.

Review R11: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Waalitj Marawar (West Coast Eagles)