Review R11 v Saints - 2019

Dwayne sounds pissed off with the club. Talking about Port may want to rotate out of the China game and leave it to the saints to reap the sponsorship. Bizarre thing to say.

It took him no time to slip seamlessly from Port spokesperson at the pre-match introductions to calling for phantom frees for St Kilda from the opening bounce.

Lol Garry Lyon and others sooking and saying Port are ‘cheating the system’ by making Saints play their home game there. Also the crew saying AFL will get more new supporters by playing in Bali than in China.
Now in my opinion these Vic commentators are either
total morons
or they don’t bother to do any homework
or they are mudraking
or a mixture of all three.

Lol they will get a bunch of pissed Australians in Bali mooning the cameras and performing live sex acts with bottles of Bintang in the stands. Orstraya farken!

Loved the win and how we went about it. Not getting carried away but going to enjoy the moment.
To get 1 first year player to play great consistent footy is pretty rare. To have 3 is freaky.

Love to keep Doogs up fwd . His run and sure hands are a joy to watch. Just a natural.
Yep
The thing with Dooogs down back is the pressure seems to get to him. I don't want him thinking about an opponent,
defensive set-ups or doing nervy twitchy little kicks. Up forward and he blossoms. His athleticism is really impressive so
just let him get ball kick goal. We recruited him as a KPF after all. His time as a key defender will have been a good apprenticeship.
Marshall or Billy as Hoff mk2?

Farrell comes across as a low possession high impact kind a player. I'm ok with him having under 10 possessions as long as he kicks 2 goals per game.

I think we need to be patient with him. The patience will be rewarded.

Exactly right. He is a specialist half forward who will hurt teams on the scoreboard. He's learning to be a higher possession player and that will come too.

Really enjoyed all aspects of the game from the comfort of my sofa on a chilly Sunday arvo

I thought that other than the abrupt ending, Ch 7's telecast was pretty good
The video snips of Shanghai were amazing
Ken & Richo's pre game banter and even Derwayne's one liners weren't too offensive
I though all the 7 commentators were very respectful and complimentary of the importance of the game, the hard work Port have done and China and it's people in general

Loved the shots around the boundary with groups of Port / Saints / Locals standing around tables, drinking and eating and enjoying the atmosphere
Pity that the stands weren't fuller as previously discussed - really does need some thought as it's an open invitation to the haters / doubters

What a day weather wise - bright sunshine on a blue bird clear day
The stadium looked a treat, credit to all involved

Really makes me want to push the button and head over next year :) :thumbsu:

Really liked Houston in the middle and Bonner in the forward half.

I think it's pretty clear now that bringing back both Rocky and Wines will weaken our midfield. Only two of them + SPP should play in the same team, but they're all big names, so no way will Ken make the big call to leave one out each week.

Lol Garry Lyon and others sooking and saying Port are ‘cheating the system’ by making Saints play their home game there.

Similar to his observations that Melbourne and Hawthorn cheat the system by playing 'interstate' opposition in Darwin and Tasmania for profit, reducing those team's opportunities to play on the MCG, gaining familiarity with a ground that they will play a grand final on - in the unlikely event that they make it there one day (possibly playing a team that gets to play there about 15 times every year).

He has made those observations hasn't he?

calling for phantom frees for St Kilda from the opening bounce.
I really hate this about Dwayne commentating. Every contest it could've been a free kick against Port. And every free that Port gets is the result of a Port player doing something to draw the free, or its only slight. And then not a peep when Dean Kent knocks Tom Jonas over while he's standing the mark.

Exactly right. He is a specialist half forward who will hurt teams on the scoreboard. He's learning to be a higher possession player and that will come too.
Farrell and Bonner on the flanks is an interesting proposition!

I really hate this about Dwayne commentating. Every contest it could've been a free kick against Port. And every free that Port gets is the result of a Port player doing something to draw the free, or its only slight. And then not a peep when Dean Kent knocks Tom Jonas over while he's standing the mark.
Agree, too long in the caper and is all about pay check. Ultimate politician. He is wet as a blanket and stands for nothing. Disappointing

I watched the game at Dicks Hotel in Balmain. Good spot to watch the footy. I was with my mate butcher who is a butcher. He’s a mad Saints man.

Table next to us had three Saints fans who at half time asked me if the game was in Beijing or Shanghai. They were drinking Riesling.

They left at 3/4 time because every time Travis Boak touched the footy I sang in a very loud voice “The Love Boak” followed up with he was a better skipper than Captain Stubing.

They said I ruined their day.

I said it could have been worse I could have given you food poisoning.

I’m a campaigner when we play well.

Good to see us play well on a dry day, kick straight and get away with playing the way we want to play.

After record heat wave over the preseason and reasonable weather during the weeks for training we have played in the rain and wind in Rd 2 Carlton, Rd 4 Richmond, Rd 5 WCE, Rd 8 crows Rd 9 GC, and Rd 10 Hawks. Rd 6 game at AO against North was a slippery night and even the Rd 3 game against Brisbane the humidity and heavy dew affected our ball handling. I've said before I don't think we play well in the wet and with a slippery ball.

So the game against Melbourne, under the roof against Collingwood and today was perfect conditions.

There were less fumbles and bumbles and stumbles than we have seen most games this year.

Wont happen too often but the first quarter started as a shoot out and the Saints didn't try and shut us down Clarko, Pyke or Ross Lyon style. Whilst I though we were playing better in the first half we had a bit of luck. We kicked straight 12.3 and they missed some easy set shots on goal. 9.6 vs 8.5 half time score was more like we have played this year missing easy goals and the oppo kicking relatively straight.

But we kept pushing hard and kicking straight. I can't remember the last time we kick 6 straight after half time. The last quarter we were a bit shagged and that's part of the reason why we kicked 4.4, with 1.3 from the last 4 scoring shot including Robbie missing 2 set shots.

Kicking straight changes everything. We averaged 60.2 inside 50's to the oppo's 49.3 before today. Today was 60 to 52. Before today we averaged kicking 11.5 goals and 12.5 behinds to the oppo's 11.7 goals and 8.9 behinds. Today it was 22.7 vs 9.15.

You can analyze our games to the nth degree, but given we are a territory side, its as simple as kick well we win, kick like **** we lose.

So in simple terms both sides got about the same amount of forward territory as expected, we improved our 50/50 goal conversion to 75/25 and the oppo kicked poorly plus we stopped those easy goals out the back when the oppo are on the counter attack and they were restricted as to how much they scored.

Saints wilted a bit in the heat in the 2nd half and their goal kicking was affected especially in the last kicked 2.5 to our 4.4.

I don't know whether it was because they kicked 15 points or most kick ins Fox Footy showed kick ins from behind the goals but today I saw the real power of Lienert's kicking and the potential future of how we play.

Lienert after a point, usually gets to 15m from goal before he kicks it or with a bit of a block to the 20m mark and then can kick it 55m. So with Ryder and Lycett, Howard today and hopefully Dixon in a month's time we will have 4 good targets to go to, and if we keep our structure then the marker should have another decent marking target 50m up the line and we are up near our forward 50m arc.

Lienert, Burton and Houston's kicking makes us a dangerous side if we can get decent marking options and/or running forward options.

Amon, Bonner and Broadbent (maybe long run replaced by Hartlett) showed how useful they could be to the side if they get their kicking right. if they can kick well when the pressure is on, having 6 excellent kickers coming from defence and mid field makes us a more dangerous side.

Dixon is playing in the SANFL next week so it should be 4 games - 2 in the Maggies and 2 AFL games before he gets match condition. So play him deep at FF in those early games and Howard at CHF to do the up and down running. When Dixon gets back to his best then you swap Howard and Dixon between CHF roaming role and deep FF role. Howard showed today what we need Frampton and Marshall to become as KPF's. Hopefully we don't need him too often down back for the rest of the year. Play Hoff at CHB on the big bastards.
Do you reckon Ken will let Charlie play 2 Magpies games though? Ken will want him in asap. Hopefully he avoids the Tredrea trap of 2007 when he kicked a bag in the Maggies then returned and took a while to get his form back at AFL level. Charlie will definitely need a couple of games in the reserves to get some touch, and over the mental demons of a big injury.

Dwayne sounds pissed off with the club. Talking about Port may want to rotate out of the China game and leave it to the saints to reap the sponsorship. Bizarre thing to say.
Sounds like a shaky voice from the PAFC board of directors has been in Dwayne’s ear. ;)

So, ah, what else can you reveal about your Bintang adventures in Bali?

Everything I know about Aussie adventures in Bali, I learned from A Current Affair ads. ;)

Similar to his observations that Melbourne and Hawthorn cheat the system by playing 'interstate' opposition in Darwin and Tasmania for profit, reducing those team's opportunities to play on the MCG, gaining familiarity with a ground that they will play a grand final on - in the unlikely event that they make it there one day (possibly playing a team that gets to play there about 15 times every year).

He has made those observations hasn't he?
He doesn't have that much spare time to analyse every aspect of inequality - what with him off shagging Mrs Brownless.

As every game goes by I'm feeling more positive with the Wingard trade. Duursma is a real find, and Burton adds a touch of class to our defence. It's still too early to make a call on the trade but it's looking a much better now compared to when the trade was done.
I am a bit biased, because over the last three years my love for Wingard had waned, so that when we traded him, I was just rapped at the boldness of the club taking the opportunity while it existed. The missed opportunities of trading Lobbe & Hartlett when we should/could have still hurt.

So IMO we are WAAAAY in front on the Wingard for Duursma/Burton trade. I really cant see Wingard ever reaching his all-Australian heights, and IMO we have only scratched the surface of what Burton & Duursma are going to achieve in their career.

Despite this, there was still a deep sadness that I felt when we traded Wingard. He loved Port, and he was Port, and I felt we lost a little part of ourselves when he left. But it was still the right move by the club - for both parties.

I sincerely hope he has a good career at Hawthorn, maybe even returning to us one day.

I am a bit biased, because over the last three years my love for Wingard had waned, so that when we traded him, I was just rapped at the boldness of the club taking the opportunity while it existed. The missed opportunities of trading Lobbe & Hartlett when we should/could have still hurt.

So IMO we are WAAAAY in front on the Wingard for Duursma/Burton trade. I really cant see Wingard ever reaching his all-Australian heights, and IMO we have only scratched the surface of what Burton & Duursma are going to achieve in their career.

Despite this, there was still a deep sadness that I felt when we traded Wingard. He loved Port, and he was Port, and I felt we lost a little part of ourselves when he left. But it was still the right move by the club - for both parties.

I sincerely hope he has a good career at Hawthorn, maybe even returning to us one day.
The $64m question is whether Chad can regain his AA form. He had an interrupted pre-season and has been hit by injuries in the season proper. He's only 25 so time's on his side. But one way I look at the trade is that Duursma and Burton will both still be playing for Port years after Chad's retired.

Interesting that Brad Johnson on the telecast stated that he was the best kick in Australia in his draft year.