Prediction R12: Changes vs Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter MrDanggazz

Sandi and Matera in makes us heaps stronger.

No Johnson/Logue/Hughes indicates to me that A. Pearce is fine which is a huge relief, although I thought Logue would be getting a chop soon regardless (someone said he's been on limited minutes?)

Surely Ballas doesn't come straight in. But I'm guessing he's embarrassed to play for Peel given the wing is named over him. He ll probably be an emergency

Sounds like from what Ross said, Apeness and Giro will stay in regardless.

I reckon Jones & Kersten out
What about McCarthy out to get some confidence or something positive.

Sorry this may have been discussed as haven't had a change to read through, Matera interviewed this morning said he only found out last Friday morning he was dropped. Told he wasn't putting enough defensive pressure on by RTB and David Hale.

Again (after Matera interviewed at start of season) no mention of any attacking system or kicking goals being a focus or required of Matera?

What about McCarthy out to get some confidence or something positive.

Sorry this may have been discussed as haven't had a change to read through, Matera interviewed this morning said he only found out last Friday morning he was dropped. Told he wasn't putting enough defensive pressure on by RTB and David Hale.

Again (after Matera interviewed at start of season) no mention of any attacking system or kicking goals being a focus or required of Matera?
I don't know why but your posts shit me to tears... our f50 tackles are deplorable this year so I hope Matera got a pineapple, now take your unrelenting negativity someplace else.

Ignore that plonker. Matera: I suspected defensive work was the reason he was dropped (naturally I failed to post it at the time making this entry hindsight hero material, but hey). The other thing I suspect is that reason he has got so much ball across the middle is not that he is playing so high but that's he's not running hard enough on transition (I.E from defense back to attack)

Don't know why but I just pictured you supporting a "no expectations" club.

Matera has hardly been playing in f50 where he's talented and can kick goals. However he does have a higher tackling average than Cam Mc.

Only repeating what's happening in the players own words.

I am hoping Apeness and Cox play up forward. I want to see what they can do with Walters, Ballas and Matera mopping up the ball and cau havoc like they did in round 2 vs Essendon.

Don't know why but I just pictured you supporting a "no expectations" club.

Matera has hardly been playing in f50 where he's talented and can kick goals. However he does have a higher tackling average than Cam Mc.

Only repeating what's happening in the players own words.
Oh look. More of the same.

I think the "modern" style of football, ala Richmond, is all about repeat inside 50's and applying pressure inside 50 hopefully causing turnovers and thus creating goal scoring opportunities.
If Matera isnt applying pressure inside 50, then the ball is easily rebounded and our opportunities to score are diminished.

I think the "modern" style of football, ala Richmond, is all about repeat inside 50's and applying pressure inside 50 hopefully causing turnovers and thus creating goal scoring opportunities.
If Matera isnt applying pressure inside 50, then the ball is easily rebounded and our opportunities to score are diminished.
Textbook example: Sydney game. In the first half we did OK in the midfield and the defence was holding up but from late in the 1st Q and the 2nd Q when the ball went into the F50 it seemed to come out with interest with no defensive pressure.

Part of the problem was structural, but if we are playing uneven numbers ahead of the ball then that just makes running back even more important. Too often you saw a young Crowden and an old Ballas being the first back and just being overwhelmed when the ball hit the ground.

Our best footy will be played when we have really hard running going from high positions on the wing back into F50 when we have the ball to either provide the option or make the tackle when the ball hits the ground.

There are no excuses for a mid-career player like Matera to not provide that running power.

Sandilands out and i would suggest any chance of a win goes with him.

Ross needs to ban Sandi from bumping with the height difference he is either going to get someone high and risk suspension or hurt himself.

Just hold out his arms & shepherd. He is more value on the field than in the grandstands.

Not sure why they bothered replacing him in the extended squad with Logue. Surely they won't play Griff this soon??

You can be pretty sure that it is too soon for Griff - still on reduced game time at Peel.

Very interesting that they have not even bothered with naming Johnson instead. Perhaps a real statement, also hopefully means Pearce is ok.

Sandilands out and i would suggest any chance of a win goes with him.

It was already close to zero chance but the margin now seems potentially ugly.

I am hopeful that from next week (or perhaps more likely after the bye) we will see some of the real talent returning to this team.

Out: Fyfe In: Matera

This would be the only change I would make.

If Ballantine comes back in I would be sorely pissed.

So Neale is in some doubt?

Ross says he’s got 48 hours to prove he’s right. Ross is doing a presser as we speak.

Matera is more likely than ballas.

Depending on weather Jones and Ape will most likely play together.

Bennell a test.

Why does it matter with Sandi out? Apeness and Jones will be okay for us, Jacobs isn't as good as Grundy. Gives another chance to see what the two can bring.

Given we have the bye in two weeks, why bother bringing Sandi in next week then week off? Save him from flying, have 1 month off, and be fresh for our run home.