Preview R13: Changes vs. Brisbane Lions

Which two players will the coaches select as our half back flankers this week?

Matthew Nicks has been right this whole time about experience :think:

Out: Draper
In: Laird

Interesting selection this week.

Smith has looked decent in his two games. However both were absolute drubbings (60 point and 90 point wins).

Berry has looked decent in his two games. However both were absolute smashings (66 points and 90 point wins).

Pedlar has looked decent in his two games. However both were absolute poundings (66 points and 90 point wins).

How much stock does Nicksy put into fringe players playing well against rubbish opposition?

Will be interesting to see what he does with the Laird / Smith selection this week.

Gonna be a wet night, McAndrew to replace Pedlar.....

But seriously, Laird WILL come back in even though Smith came back and was instantly more of a threat. Does Nicks give Milera a spell as a senior player ??

It'll probably be as simple as Laird in, Draper out and Pedlar as sub.

I assume it's Laird in for Smith.

Smith was good but he was also good against Carlton and was straight back out. I think Laird has had a good season and we will want his defensive toughness against better teams in my view.

Walker the only question for me. I doubt he gets even considered for omission though unless he has a consistently poor block of games post-rest.

With 2 games before the bye I think we load up this game and if we play Hawks down in Tassie absolutely gassed it wont matter as you can go full bore before the bye anyway. Not much point resting players at this point.

Out: Smith
In: Laird

Not that I want to see this.

Brisbane aren't travelling THAT well and I think we can get them with tackling pressure, they are a real kick/mark team and control the ball exceptionally well.

Gonna be a wet night, McAndrew to replace Pedlar.....

But seriously, Laird WILL come back in even though Smith came back and was instantly more of a threat. Does Nicks give Milera a spell as a senior player ??

It'll probably be as simple as Laird in, Draper out and Pedlar as sub.

So an 8 player defensive rotation? Or are you moving one up the ground?

I'd rather Smith at this point. We are very fixed structurally, we play 7 defenders, I don't see that changing. So when Laird returns, a defender needs to make way or move up the ground.
Its probably Smith for Laird, but i wouldn't be shocked to see Draper sent back to the 2s after 2 weeks as the sub.

We've kind of backed ourselves into a corner with that one

Its probably Smith for Laird, but i wouldn't be shocked to see Draper sent back to the 2s after 2 weeks as the sub.

We've kind of backed ourselves into a corner with that one

I don't see us changing structure, it's plug out, plug in I reckon. Laird in, a defender from yesterday arvo out. There's an elephant in the room, but I won't bring it up.

Preview R13: Changes vs. Brisbane Lions