Preview R14: Changes vs. Hawthorn Hawks

Who do you think will replace Peatling in the 22?

What? :confusedv1:
Tackles, Brisbane: 63
Crows: 88 (<== that's tackles resulting in a stoppage)
I did say our pressure was great, just think we could be even better in some key moments where Brissie managed to slip away.

I don’t think your stoppage point is correct though, otherwise there would have been 151 total stoppages?

There seems to be an obsession in these threads to bring in the next best player when there is an injury or a suspension.
No AFL club does this.

For Example, if Nick Murray is injured we should bring in Draper, move Worrell to full back, Hinge to back pocket, Cumming to half back, Soligo to the wing and Draper can play his natural position as an inside midfielder.

The reality is we will bring in an inside midfielder to replace Peatling. Edwards has been playing at half back in the SANFL and it would be unfair to the lad to bring him in and say “have a crack at playing as an inside midfielder against Hawthorn”.

It would make more sense to give Curtin a crack as an inside midfielder but he is starting to look good on the wing so I suspect that we will be reluctant to change things

The likely candidates are Murphy or Draper. My preference is Draper but Murphy is a big chance this week.
Pretty sure people called for Edwards when hinge was suspended and laird was rested.

Bring in Draper and start midfield. No more sub. Give him a chance to own his position.

Been there (v Gold Coast) and it didn't work. There also isn't anything to suggest things will be different this time.

Draper will end up a midfielder but it's clear that he needs another preseason (or two) in the tank before that's a reality. However, we have missed a trick by not playing him at half forward, but that's also to do with we're not getting much out of the role regardless.

Draper will end up a midfielder but it's clear that he needs another preseason (or two) in the tank before that's a reality.
I'm on record for wanting Nicks sacked, but that (above) must be right. Draper reminds me of a much younger, raw Keays (who knew only one pace, flat-out) and it's taken Keays years to refine his skills and find his niche.

With Crouch injured, another busy, effective mid would be very useful/handy.
Draper is the obvious choice, especially with Peatling copping a week now as well.
Draper must not be 'ready', whatever Burgess/Davis and Nicks deem that to be, whether its tank, awareness/positioning, effectiveness etc.
However, we have missed a trick by not playing him at half forward, but that's also to do with we're not getting much out of the role regardless.
I disagree, with respect.
We're getting plenty out of our Forwards in general, but Thilthorpe, Fog, Rachele and Keays in particular.
All 4 are in the Comp's Top-10 highest goalscorers.

Call me crazy but I’d be open to giving Jones a crack in the midfield to replace Peatling. Last chance saloon stuff to see if we can get some value out of a former top 10 pick (I reckon he’s put on weight since his Lisfranc - not sure if he’s lost his high-end pace as a result).

I’ve previously been a huge Cook fan but can’t see him playing another AFL game.
What role is he playing in the SANFL?

Pretty sure people called for Edwards when hinge was suspended and laird was rested.
Absolutely and I was one of them.

I thought it was ridiculous to go back to Brodie Smith BUT I was wrong! Brodie has played very well in his one game/two subs cameo. He, along with Murphy, have been our two best performed SANFL players. My preference was/is to play Edwards over Smith and Draper/Taylor over Murphy.

There is a difference between MY PREFERENCES and going bat shit crazy if the Crows make a different decision.

Been there (v Gold Coast) and it didn't work. There also isn't anything to suggest things will be different this time.

Draper will end up a midfielder but it's clear that he needs another preseason (or two) in the tank before that's a reality. However, we have missed a trick by not playing him at half forward, but that's also to do with we're not getting much out of the role regardless.
Rachele and Keays are looking at 40 goal+ seasons.

Draper is my preference to come in and play midfield to replace Peatling, but otherwise I would like to see Dowling get another chance. He looked promising when he came into the side last year.

Any of the SANFL watchers, what position has Dowling been playing this year? Has he had much midfield time?

Draper is an interesting one. Id love him to play more meaningful minutes in the 1's. But also feel like it could benefit him to get off the Yoyo for a month and just concentrate on footy. Then try and break in for the final 6-7 rounds with a solid block of match fitness underneath him.

Would love Pedlar to get 2 more games in this block to get up to speed. But he's gonna need to get amongst it ASAP.
They might stick with him vs Hawks; thinking of his mongrel toughness, but he's gotta do more.

If he stays in and burns it up, the post-bye selection will be tough-choice time.

For those wanting Draper's development to be sped up (I was one of them), some wise words today from GWS' former #1 Pick, Aaron Cadman; patience.

Like Cadman was, Draper's a bit scrawny yet and all of his KPIs are below AFL average.

They might stick with him vs Hawks; thinking of his mongrel toughness, but he's gotta do more.

If he stays in and burns it up, the post-bye selection will be tough-choice time.
Pedlar needs to develop into an endurance athlete so he can get to as many contests as Keyes & Peatling.
Has all the raw talent to be an elite strong over the ball mid fielder.
I would hope someone takes him under his wing & he comes back to preseason with an already sound fitness base.
I recall Goodwin getting Vince to do a "prior" preseason with him for a 4/6 period before preseason started.
He will justify the club's faith in him eventually because the raw talent screams out to be developed !
Given the same opportunity of Murphy, Jones & Scholl he would have already been a great team asset.

For those wanting Draper's development to be sped up (I was one of them), some wise words today from GWS' former #1 Pick, Aaron Cadman; patience.

Like Cadman was, Draper's a bit scrawny yet and all of his KPIs are below AFL average.

Did you read any of it?

Cadman was drafted as a self described "skin and bones" junior winger who was 195cm and expected to turn into a long term key forward.

Draper is a ready made midfielder who shares the same body type as Nick Daicos who played 25 games his first year.

Pedlar needs to develop into an endurance athlete so he can get to as many contests as Keyes & Peatling.
I would hope someone takes him under his wing & he comes back to preseason with an already sound fitness base.
I recall Goodwin getting Vince to do a "prior" preseason with him for a 4/6 period before preseason started.
He will justify the club's faith in him eventually because the raw talent screams out to be developed !
Given the same opportunity of Murphy, Jones & Scholl he would have already been a great team asset.

Thought he was gonna have a heart attack after he was almost run down during his goal.

Ben Keays.
Pedlar's definitely been hampered by the shoulder recon. and the osteitis pubis in his groins.
I agree. Some of the things he did in 2023 WOW-ed me.
What's 4/6 please, weeks?
I hope so, too.

Preview R14: Changes vs. Hawthorn Hawks