Preview R18: Changes vs. Western Bulldogs

Who comes into the 23 for Rachele?

And on the flip side, if it’s not us, I’d love to see Danger go out on top.

Never understood why there’s so much hate for him amongst some Crows fans.
I don't think there is any hate. I just hated it when he had a blinder against us gather round. I think most of us know the difference between him and Kurt Tippet

And on the flip side, if it’s not us, I’d love to see Danger go out on top.

Never understood why there’s so much hate for him amongst some Crows fans.
There’s a lot of good reasons for all footy fans, and especially us, to want Geelong not to win.

1. They stooged us on Dangerfield. Traded for Henderson first, leaving their cupboard much barer. Dean Gore lol.

2. It makes it easier for them to attract good players. ‘Geelong are always playing finals’, therefore they get Dangerfield and Cameron and Smith level players. It becomes a self fulfilling prophecy. Contrast Richmond, which is how it should work.

3. The comp is supposed to be equalised. Don’t you find it annoying that one club’s fans have it so good?

4. They get little gifts from the AFL like pick 7 from GC and laughably high compo for Motlop.

Taylor very lucky not to get dropped off the back of that 5 disposal effort last week that included 2 turnovers.
Bigfooty ‘back in young players ‘

Also bigfooty ‘ drop them after a quiet game ‘

Pies have heaps of ordinary players that get backed in and selected when side is winning

Nicks is backing in his talent re Taylor and now it’s up to him

The negativity on this board is astounding at times

If we lose next 2-3 in a row I’ll get negative too

There’s a lot of good reasons for all footy fans, and especially us, to want Geelong not to win.

1. They stooged us on Dangerfield. Traded for Henderson first, leaving their cupboard much barer. Dean Gore lol.

2. It makes it easier for them to attract good players. ‘Geelong are always playing finals’, therefore they get Dangerfield and Cameron and Smith level players. It becomes a self fulfilling prophecy. Contrast Richmond, which is how it should work.

3. The comp is supposed to be equalised. Don’t you find it annoying that one club’s fans have it so good?

4. They get little gifts from the AFL like pick 7 from GC and laughably high compo for Motlop.

I said didn't understand why some Crows fans have so much hate for Danger, not Geelong.

See SkaterBoi has gone out on the attack.

Complaining that the Bullies aren't getting enough free kicks, so expect to see us get right royally rogered on gameday. Can't believe he complains about free kicks...
That’s what these vic teams do when under threat , Chris Scott complained about us getting possibly getting a positive reaction after getting reamed against the GC , the game hadn’t even been played yet

Complaining that the Bullies aren't getting enough free kicks, so expect to see us get right royally rogered on gameday. Can't believe he complains about free kicks...
Its a given we're going to get shafted throughout the game, We need to start like we did against Hawthorn but take our chances and put a gap on them early.

If it's close late the umps will kill us.

Its in the AFL umpiring culture to hate a Crow

That sounds like a fairytale ending. No doubt the AFL will be watching and should we make it to a GF against them, expect certain umpires to be selected (think Stevic etc) and then the GF being umpired like our GF v Richmond so the AFL can make 100% sure that fairytale come true for Danger.
Our GF loss had nothing to do with a fairy tale or umpires.

Richmond, in particular their backline, exposed our soft under belly.

Rance, Houli and Vlastiun killed our free flowing forward line.

Agree he's worth persevering with.

My comparison to our other small forwards was meant to emphasise their desperation with both attacking and defending. I see him as a bit of a down hill skier at this stage of his career which is a label you couldn't give to the other three.

I agree he's a bit different to each of them with his weapons.
You can see why we recruited Pedlar, he has some special talents, it's just not coming together with interrupted runs all the time.

In his last game, he didn't get much of it but his attack on the ball and the man was ferocious.
He hits like a freight train, he smashed a few of their guys real hard.

I just hope he can put it all together soon because as we saw in 2023, he has afl talent
I thought he was a natural replacement for Rachele this week

Remember when we complained about Pannell and the 17-1 free kick count.
He came out the next day whingeing that it was p!ss weak of our club to come out and complain about the umpiring

I like the bulldogs but he is a flog of the highest order

I think they are flakey, I think we will do them tomorrow

Bigfooty ‘back in young players ‘

Also bigfooty ‘ drop them after a quiet game ‘

Pies have heaps of ordinary players that get backed in and selected when side is winning

Nicks is backing in his talent re Taylor and now it’s up to him

The negativity on this board is astounding at times

If we lose next 2-3 in a row I’ll get negative too
That was another one of the good things about selection this week.
Apart from dropping Smith and Murphy
I mentioned before that Nicks has hung fat with guys he has brought into the side and given them a run of games.
Zac probably didn't deserve a game after last week, but Nicks, to his credit has backed him in again.
I really hope he bounces back this week and makes a good contribution, he's a classy player.

That was another one of the good things about selection this week.
Apart from dropping Smith and Murphy
I mentioned before that Nicks has hung fat with guys he has brought into the side and given them a run of games.
Zac probably didn't deserve a game after last week, but Nicks, to his credit has backed him in again.
I really hope he bounces back this week and makes a good contribution, he's a classy player.
Needs some more midfield time IMO

One of my criticisms of Nicks in the past at selection is that he has gone with too many grunt type players.
Low on skill and decision making but good contested players.

I really hope we can get a win tomorrow to validate the theory that class beats arse.
Fringe guys like Taylor, Cook that aren't big contested players hopefully make it happen this week. with clever skill and decision making getting us over the line

You can see why we recruited Pedlar, he has some special talents, it's just not coming together with interrupted runs all the time.

In his last game, he didn't get much of it but his attack on the ball and the man was ferocious.
He hits like a freight train, he smashed a few of their guys real hard.

I just hope he can put it all together soon because as we saw in 2023, he has afl talent
I thought he was a natural replacement for Rachele this week

Yeah I'm still massively bullish on Pedlar. A bit like Berry, I remained steadfast he could make it at the level.

Is that a self-fulfilling prophecy though?

They're in prime time so often that they capture the casual AFL watchers and so rate more highly?
Why would casual observers want to watch Dons over a Dogs/Crows finals shaping contest. Dons have only a handful more members than Dogs. I call bullshit on them drawing large audiences.

Preview R18: Changes vs. Western Bulldogs