Preview R23: Changes vs. Collingwood

Which team finishes 9th?

I think we are splitting hairs but to me it’s what he seems in Murphy that’s the issue.
Safety

As poor as it is he sees Murphy as a safe option

For 2 reasons - he knows he he has the training and game style knowledge inside him - its getting it out

The 2nd reason is more tinfoil - but he doesnt have players inside his 25 and if he brought one in and they performed he would have to explain why he keeps picking Murphy

People ask who would replace Rachele - Sid Draper the player who spent time forward

No, this isn’t basketball with 5 players on the court. There’s 17 other players on a field. We also had a chance to win that game and it was denied by an umpiring decision.

I think people misinterpret me being happy with the Murphy selection, I’m not. I just think the 23rd player selected in a team isn’t having a material impact on the result of any game. Our stars firing and putting the squeeze on Collingwood defensively is where the game will be won, whether the worst player in the team has an impact or not is irrelevant. Collingwood not selecting a Norm Smith medalist this week and losing Howe has a far larger impact on this game than us selecting Murphy.

It also helps that we sit a game clear on top and one or both of Pedlar and Rachele should be fit by that first final. If Murphy was an automatic best 22 player still then I would have more concerns, but he clearly isn’t anymore.
For starters he’s in the 22.

As for the 23rd player, I could get a game if it doesn’t matter.

Safety

For 2 reasons - he knows he he has the training and game style knowledge inside him - its getting it out

The 2nd reason is more tinfoil - but he doesnt have players inside his 25 and if he brought one in and they performed he would have to explain why he keeps picking Murphy

People ask who would replace Rachele - Sid Draper the player who spent time forward
How is he at all safe . In fact the risk to injury of our key talls just increased with his selection.

Safety

I’m Murphyd out, I just can’t be bothered anymore, Nicks wins😡

TBH I would also have thought that. But I did say the exact same thing before the Port game, and we all know how that turned out. Now I don't think I can make a call on it
Yeah but port are shit collingwood not so, but they are a contested side.
Also we would have beaten port by 150 in the dry.

Exactly

Quality beats structure, within reason

Draper, Nankervis, Dowling were all better choices in that high half forward role.

Heck, Schoenberg too.
Yeah you can't tell me that a 6'2" Billy Dowling who found it 41 times on the weekend can't play a forward role as well as Murphy can.

They play him in the midfield in the SANFL side.
Never before has a player been so coddled by our coaching staff in hopes they'll one day be proven right.

Plays midfield to bulk up his possession numbers, but then is somehow next man up for a small forward role despite not actually playing it.

Yet Edwards, Draper and Dowling can't get a game because the immediate and solitary position they're considered for hasn't had an injury (or 2 in Edwards' case as he apparently needs Smith to go down too).

Yeah but port are shit collingwood not so, but they are a contested side.
Also we would have beaten port by 150 in the dry.
Actually Wheeloratings doesn't really paint them as a contested side in 2025.
  1. Adelaide are the #1 contested possession team and Collingwood are 12th (same rankings for post clearance contested possessions).
  2. Crows are 2nd for hard ball gets, and Collingwood are 15th.
  3. We are 1st for Ground ball gets to their 17th.
  4. We are #1 for contested marks to their 9th
  5. #3 team scoring in 1on1's to their 18th
  6. 4th from scores from stoppage to their 12th
I've said for a while the key to stopping them is stopping their uncontested possession. Especially their prime movers like the Daicos brothers. Maybe the rain might help that.

Actually Wheeloratings doesn't really paint them as a contested side in 2025.
  1. Adelaide are the #1 contested possession team and Collingwood are 12th (same rankings for post clearance contested possessions).
  2. Crows are 2nd for hard ball gets, and Collingwood are 15th.
  3. We are 1st for Ground ball gets to their 17th.
  4. We are #1 for contested marks to their 9th
  5. #3 team scoring in 1on1's to their 18th
  6. 4th from scores from stoppage to their 12th
I've said for a while the key to stopping them is stopping their uncontested possession. Especially their prime movers like the Daicos brothers. Maybe the rain might help that.
TBH I don’t watch them much just using what the champion data stats bloke says about them.

Safety

And we know he'll be exactly that safe option. He will deliver exactly what he always delivers.

Nicks's comfort blanket Mr Average will perform exactly as per average and get his 11-12 touches and 0.3 goals and Nicksy will still be sitting there wondering where it all went wrong in the 4th quarter when the game was on the line.

The most unfortunate thing is Smurf gets wind of the disgust amongst the supporters and becomes more determined in his efforts to impress. Hence the wrecking-ball high flying attempts to kill every Crow forward in his path, the ruination of forward transitions with panicked fumbles and kicks because of over exuberance.

Some advice mate. Stay in your lane. Stay on the ground. Get out of the way of our leading talls and get out from under their feet and wait for them to bring the ball to ground before you go all Kamakazi. You're welcome.

Now this is the part that concerns me, he be trying so hard to keep his spot he won’t do the team things. He will cannon into all and sundry etc.

It will be interesting to see who he stands come game time.

Well he could always pull a hamstring in the warmup. Wishful thinking.

TBH I don’t watch them much just using what the champion data stats says about them.
Team rankings on Wheeloratings is a really good source of information for future reference. Collingwood have done so well for so long that those numbers were really surprising to me.

But maybe that's why they've seemingly been found out. Stem the uncontested players, and watch their entire scoring chain breakdown.

Wondering if they are a team that just learned how to break zones better then everyone else. But as soon as you go man on man they don't have an answer

Never before has a player been so coddled by our coaching staff in hopes they'll one day be proven right.

Plays midfield to bulk up his possession numbers, but then is somehow next man up for a small forward role despite not actually playing it.

Yet Edwards, Draper and Dowling can't get a game because the immediate and solitary position they're considered for hasn't had an injury (or 2 in Edwards' case as he apparently needs Smith to go down too).
Demonstrably no good as a small forward, are they going to play him in the middle? I think he got a run through there in the last game he played - you know, the one he was then immediately dumped for.

But maybe they think he’s a better option in the middle than Dan Curtin…

Won’t we all have red faces Sat night when he carves it up and doesn’t get dropped again straight after??

Team rankings on Wheeloratings is a really good source of information for future reference. Collingwood have done so well for so long that those numbers were really surprising to me.

But maybe that's why they've seemingly been found out. Stem the uncontested players, and watch their entire scoring chain breakdown.

Wondering if they are a team that just learned how to break zones better then everyone else. But as soon as you go man on man they don't have an answer
Sorry the champion data stats bloke on sen.
Contested down the line win contest go again.

So let me get this straight.

Murphy is seen as the backup's backup option for the small forward role. All opinions aside, that's clearly the case. He's third in line behind Rash and Pedlar (the only line he really should be in is Centrelink but an argument for another day).

Yet despite this... despite being seen as a small forward in the senior team... he is never played there in the SANFL.

It just keeps getting worse and worse. There is not one justification for this selection.

So the real question now is…

Who provides LESS to their team on Sat night?

Lachlan Murphy? Or Billy Frampton?

It’s all I’ve got to hang onto, that they might cancel each other out and mean that we’re not actually playing one man down

Destroy an AFL career just so fans can be happy you reckon?

Destroy a career?

I’ll give you a hint, he by his own actions have destroyed it. He has been given 119 games and just once he has got over 20 disposals and no, he hasn’t only been a half forward either.

He kicked 7 goals from 17 games last year and has scored no goals in 4 games this year. Who do you blame for that?

Preview R23: Changes vs. Collingwood