Review R23: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood

I thought his best moment was when he won that contested ball against Daicos and then proceeded to to bang the ball on his boot without even lifting his head to look up the field despite having time to do so. Ball went straight to a Collingwood defender. Reminiscent of early crows when long high bombs to no one was the norm.
Or given off to I think Dawson along side him

Go and watch the game again. Murphy - and I am being glass half full - definitely reduced JDaicos impact on the game after quarter time, and was a pretty hard tag

Not just you but can anyone else that is swallowing the Murphy hard tag on Daicos malarkey try to explain Murphy's stats.

1 tackle and 9 pressure acts from a hard tagger??

For reference our other smaller forwards that weren't performing hard tag duties plus they got over 3 times the possessions Murphy did.
Keays 7 tackles and 28 pressure acts
ANB 2 tackles and 18 pressure acts

Not just you but can anyone else that is swallowing the Murphy hard tag on Daicos malarkey try to explain Murphy's stats.

1 tackle and 9 pressure acts from a hard tagger??

For reference our other smaller forwards had that weren't performing hard tag duties plus got over 3 times the possessions Murphy had.
Keays 7 tackles and 28 pressure acts
ANB 2 tackles and 18 pressure acts
Again how many tackles on Daicos

There’s enough pictures from other angles to show that.
It also went straight to an umpire.

“straight to an umpire”, the umpire was about 2m away from him with his arms in the air calling the out of bounds. Even if it went downfield toward an umpire, it’s still a free kick. Unless you reckon kicking the ball 50m to the non stoppage umpire wouldn’t be a free kick. You know it is ok to admit that a free kick went our way.

I wonder what our coaches will make of our midfield?

They have had some very good moments over the season but been shaded by some of the better midfields recently, bailed out by a potent forward line and a well-structured defence. Sustainable?

Can Soligo, Peatling and Berry go head-to-head with the best midfields of the competition now?

It's too late in the season for any wholesale change eg adding Draper into the mix, so what's the tweak we can make now if we start getting beaten up inside?

I wonder what our coaches will make of our midfield?

They have had some very good moments over the season but been shaded by some of the better midfields recently, bailed out by a potent forward line and a well-structured defence. Sustainable?

Can Soligo, Peatling and Berry go head-to-head with the best midfields of the competition now?

It's too late in the season for any wholesale change eg adding Draper into the mix, so what's the tweak we can make now if we start getting beaten up inside?
I have faith with what we have that can go thru there

Mark Keane is surely in the AA discussion too.

Reliable defender but with a great mix of dare. Just enough 'crazy' in his eye to be intimidating as well.

I'm loving our big Irishman.
Dont think it's crazy. He is looking for the best option all the time. Maybe a couple of steps ahead of the play. Might have something to do with the way they play the Gaelic game. Sometimes he makes a mistake, but the pluses are so many..

Two posters whom I respect but often disagree with (no problem) have suggested that Murphy was not garbage/invisible last night and that he actually did an effective job on Daicos, below:
It was bloody obvious to anyone at the match that understands football.
I played footy but only to B-Grade Amateur level and the modern game has a lot of nuances (zoning/structure/set plays etc) that I admit freely I have little knowledge of eg yesterday I saw one of our blokes take possession and give a handball off to a teammate on his blindside! I thought "How tf did he know his mate was even there?" (OK, talking/calling but also because they've trained that positioning so often, yeah?).
Anyway, while a lot of those things get past me, I think I understand footy on an ok level, and can see when someone has had an impact <== ie I see it. I notice it.
I did not notice Murphy yesterday and I am not cracking wise about "he does things nobody (but Nicks) notices".
Except for a couple of clangers he was invisible to me.
I was not "at the match", so that might be why.
We stopped Josh Daicos getting uncontested possessions and Collingwood just blasted the ball into their F50 and our boys mopped it up.
Yes, Keane and Worrell were amazing, but who was the "we" you're talking about?
Murphy?
I did not see it.
I’m not sure if we will use Murphy again in this type of role. It made things very difficult for Taylor who usually plays the defensive forward role. It wouldn’t surprise me if Murphy isn’t in the 23 next week but the Murphy Derangement Syndrome over the last few days has been ridiculous.
He did his job tonight, end of story.
But, but, but everyone checked the stats so he must have been garbage.
AND
Daicos had a few chain handballs and some easy kicks but Murphy was by his side continually.
7/10 job done. Daicos didn't affect the game as he could have.
Mate, plenty of players "didn't affect the game as [they] could have" eg it wasn't Thilthorpe's best game.
Thilthorpe was scragged and harassed and double-teamed all night. Fly got Moore and others to do a number on Thilthorpe, but it was clear to me that Thilthorpe still had impact:
1) when he was rucking, plus obvious follow-up pressure acts, and
2) often brought the ball to ground when being crashed into on two sides in marking packs, then
3) stood up in the last for that strong contested mark (when most needed) and goal, without which we would have lost.

I wanna believe you blokes about Murphy, but I cannot remember seeing a single thing --- not even one --- that Murphy did that was impactful on last night's game, or indeed upon Daicos to keep him quiet.
Should I watch the replay and look harder? <== seriously.

I'm willing to concede that I could well be wrong and that I might have missed a lot (or all) of what Murphy did because I watched on TV which misses broader-picture events away from the central action.

In fact, I'd love it if Murphy had a job to do and did it, effectively. Great! if that was the case.

I just didn't see it, although I was looking for Murphy whenever possible.
eg Hugh Bond had low numbers but I remember at least three of his tackles as being impactful at crucial times --- gets a tick from me.
Zac Taylor was ineffective (and subbed out because of it) but he gets a Mulligan from me on the back of recent games (Murphy does not).
Murray had poor numbers, but I remember one of his defensive marks at a crucial moment (I have no numbers on spoils, 1%-ers, pressure acts etc).

Murphy, nada; I cannot recall a single moment when I thought "Oh, good one Murph".

I didn't see Murphy "by [Daicos'] side continually", in fact I hardly saw him at all. I do remember the play-on/slip/htb and a few ineffective late attempts but he struck me as being ... looking for the right words ... a bit lost/ poor positioning/ off the action.
Another poster (sorry, don't remember who it was) pointed out that Murphy had 9 pressure acts for an entire game. Channel 9 showed (and praised) a kid for GWS do 4 pressure acts, one after another, in about 10 seconds of play.
Murphy's stats for a full game were comparable to Schoenberg's for a single quarter.

So, serious question (not a set-up, not a trap) what did Murphy actually do that got your approval? :confusedv1:
I'd be happy to watch the game again, just to see what you saw.

No doubt, but there’s still not much difference. TT up by 2.7 hitouts and 0.2 goal assists and down by 1.5 score assists per game. He can definitely make it and be deserving, but wouldn’t be certain about it at all.
I haven’t got him as a lock like Dawson and worrell

“straight to an umpire”, the umpire was about 2m away from him with his arms in the air calling the out of bounds. Even if it went downfield toward an umpire, it’s still a free kick. Unless you reckon kicking the ball 50m to the non stoppage umpire wouldn’t be a free kick. You know it is ok to admit that a free kick went our way.
Given the rule that was quoted this morning that it’s only if the umpire deems it to be time wasting, Im happy that common sense prevailed.

If we win next week, our collective losing margin for the season will be 51 points. What a stat.
Better than the 2008 Geelong Cats who went 21-1

I wonder if we replaced Nicks with Murray Davis whether garbage like Murphy and Shoenberg would continue to be picked over dowling.. and whether we’d ever see that nonsense chip it around in defence before finally dump kicking forward bullshit again..

I think not.

I get a very strong feeling that Davis is the reason for ths move from 15th to 1st.

And that its him thats saved nicksy from making all the same mistakes from the last 5 seasons.. and its just that Nicksy gets his way still on occassion.

On occassion this year the camera has panned onto Nicks and Murray and Murray has been looking at Nicks with a look of “you are seriously out of your depth” and on other occassions he puts his hand on his shoulder to try and calm Nicksy.

Put the real man in charge.

Review R23: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood