Review R3: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. North Melbourne

I thought North were very good today and will win 8-10 games this year

Midfield is dangerous

Peatling and Soligo were superb given Dawson ans Crouch battled

Peatling a ripper pick up
the goose step inboard by peatling on centre wing in the 2nd qtr - you cant teach that. absolute gun.

Good

Peatling
Tex
Ranks
Laird
Tt
Fog
Draper
Curtin
Hinge

Dirty day

Dawson

Pathetic

Milera - just a weak defender

Sholl - learn how to tackle you soft coxk.. just hopeless all day with the softest tackle attempts you’ll ever see. Total liability

ROB - you arent a talented footballer and you arent a midfielder once the ball gets on the ground.. you need to get out of the talented guys way..

And our seniors like laird and keays need to stop calling for the footy when the player that has it is a better decision maker, is in a better position and has more talent.

The maaggot umpires.
Having not seen the game and going on some comments where did you have Soligo

Matty only had 62% time on ground today not sure why, probably giving Rankine 83% and Soligo 81% more time in there.
Jordan Dawson the most with 86%

Reckon Norths mids are not quite the right matchup for Matt, lot of speed and drive from the contest, we got cut up on the spread quite a bit today, doesn’t get any easier next week, Suns midfield is absolutely flying atm

Having not seen the game and going on some comments where did you have Soligo
I had it
3 Hinge
2 Rankine
1 Laird

Soligo next best along with Thilthorpe, Peatling really got going after half time.

Thilthorpe starting to deliver in a big way. You can really see him ripping finals apart. We just gotta get him there fit and healthy. Big guys like him always scare me a little when it comes to injuries.
He is going to be a menace in this league for the next 10 years...

Good:

Peatling. Showed why we and others chased him so hard.
Curtin. He's coming along very nicely. Love him
Sid is speeeeddyyyy. Loved his goal
Beardthorpe. He's menace. He's just so big and strong and yet so agile
Hinge. General back there
Soligo
Rankine

Bad:
Our skills were down today. Quite often they'd cough it up, and we'd have players free on the overlap and we'd **** it. Need some composure.

Ugly:
The umpires were horrid. Cap man in particular needs to go to specsavers.
Xerri is a bit of a thug isn't he? Just wanted to hurt people today.

Clarkson comprehensively outcoached by Nicks...

According to Kane
Comprehensive is a big word to describe what happened coaching-wise (especially for Kane, but in that case it's syllable-wise).

Still, there are coaching things that annoyed me:
  • We were outnumbered at stoppages for a lot of the game.
  • We let that huge defender guy be on his own in front of the ball.
  • We lost center clearances a LOT.
  • Didn't feel like we had smalls at the front of the pack, like they did.
  • We couldn't find a way to get Dawson into it up, after moving him in front and behind the ball (maybe he just had a mare).
We didn't try to do anything about those sorts of things. I guess you don't have to when you're winning, cos you just keep doing that then.

Sucking at center clearances was frustrating though. Just pick that one Nicks.

Good:

Peatling. Showed why we and others chased him so hard.
Curtin. He's coming along very nicely. Love him
Sid is speeeeddyyyy. Loved his goal
Beardthorpe. He's menace. He's just so big and strong and yet so agile
Hinge. General back there
Soligo
Rankine

Bad:
Our skills were down today. Quite often they'd cough it up, and we'd have players free on the overlap and we'd **** it. Need some composure.

Ugly:
The umpires were horrid. Cap man in particular needs to go to specsavers.
Xerri is a bit of a thug isn't he? Just wanted to hurt people today.
Isn’t that what rucks are for

I really rate your judgement, but I’m not sure he’ll come on that quick. This was definitely his best game for the Crows and he seemed to build in confidence as the game went on
Agreed. He will be absolutely great but too early to say he’s that good . He does seem the type though that could rapid improve this year. So exciting

Good

Winning a game where Matt Couch and Dawson didn’t have ball dominance is good especially as Clarko would’ve put the most effort into stopping those two.

Winning stoppage clearances against this North group also a huge win for the group and a big turn around from the usual, being pretty much able to break even around clearance and stoppage also better than last week.

Hinge massive and had to be given they’re getting nothing from Milera, Sholl or even Cumming in terms of quick ball movement or run and carry. Desperately need to find some more runners to carry the ball forward.

The veterans Tex & Laird managed to pull off some important moments especially Tex in the 3rd qtr, like I mentioned in the gameday thread did not like Laird’s 1st half but whether it was just because it was his 250 or not he actually cracked in hard to get ground ball and lay tackles in the 2nd half which was much more like his style of game prior to 2018. In the short term it’s helping the backline having him there but you can’t escape that nagging feeling him continually getting 30 touches at halfback for 100 metres gained is not helping game style or player development long term.

Rankine’s fitness a standout as he had a couple of quiet periods but still manages to find the ball 30 times by still running so hard late in the game. Needs to hit more targets though that’s been down to start the year.

Soligo & Thilthorpe continuing their magnificent form and Curtin and Peatling playing their best games for the club the biggest positives.

Bad

Unsurprisingly everyone but Nicks can see Keane cannot play as the main key defender on the 200cm spearheads, him and Borlase looked totally on different pages to each other and with better delivery would’ve been exposed even more for continually losing touch on their opponent. They seriously don’t look like they can combine and play together.

Also another stupid repeated bonehead move by Nicks to take away Dawson’s early season proficiency by again trying to use him to play directly on Davies-Uniacke, just a stupid move that failed miserably last year and always takes away from Dawson’s game.

To keep a watch on

No real ugly’s except umpiring, but need to keep a watch on a few things;

North made them look slow post contest a number of times, some North players found themselves in far too much space.

Like 2024 it took just Murray’s absence to make the defence look shaky and confused - especially at what times they needed to switch or leave their man.

Like I mentioned outside runners not contributing any run and carry.

Fogarty getting sucked in again to wrestling his opponent and going out of his way to look for contact - that’s bad old Fog stuff.

Neal-Bullen is trying to be so unselfish at times he’s handing balls off to players under pressure or in really poor positions inside 50.

Ugly: Channel 7 commentators, led by Nick Riewoldt, throwing a tantrum over the stop of play because of Rachele's injury. Nick cried "Since when do we stop the game for winded players?"
More Ugly: Nick Riewoldt doubling down at half time after learning Rachele was subbed off and it was more serious than being "winded"
Even More Ugly: Nick Riewoldt crying about Keane for staging. This guy is fully Vic biased, why the hell did they drag him over to commentate on this game?

Review R3: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. North Melbourne