Prediction R6: CHANGES vs Eagles

• Thread starter Thread starter Deathly

If our mids cant get on top (which they should), people here will get a rude shock by what Kennedy does to Pearce.
Guarding Kennedy's not a one man job, hes very predictable which makes it easy for the mids to kick too and West coast do deliver well to him. For pearce to win he needs good pressure up the field and some decent help down back (mainy in the form of guys filling holes Kennedy would lead into).

When was the last time Kennedy did a job on us ?
I have absolute confidence Alex will be too good for Kennedy . I think Hamling will go to him anyway.

The plan for this game will be to not put the ball on McGovern and Barrass’ head. Keep it low and run them ragged. The JLT game showed what can be done when you apply forward pressure and harass McGovern for space and time.
The key in this game will be how we use Brandon whose pressure has been great and Walters.

When was the last time Kennedy did a job on us ?
I have absolute confidence Alex will be too good for Kennedy . I think Hamling will go to him anyway.

The last time we played them.....

He pretty much does a job on us every single time we play them.

The last time we played them.....

He pretty much does a job on us every single time we play them.

More info needed. Hamling beat him.
Josh hasn’t kicked a heap on us since before McPharlin schooled him.
Apart from 7 against a severely depleted Freo in 2016 I don’t believe he has kicked more than 3 goals in a game against us.
Alex Silvagni had to spend part of that game on him.

If we play against the Eagles like we did last night we can still win with Kersten.

There was minimal long-bombing, so many goals were darting short kicks to targets, precision off the lead or running midfield goals.

That’s the only way we can beat the Eagles, and Kersten could actually kick a few with the right kind of delivery.

Unfortunately, the Eagles will apply a different kind of pressure than the Dogs and we might find ourselves bombing it more than we like - and then we’re screwed.

Apeness is just so raw but he’s the structural answer - mobile ruck who’s a forward target. He needs 3-4 solid games in Peel before he gets the go. I actually don’t think Cox is likely at all.

Srnadica, Meek or Jones just aren’t anywhere near the debuting level that Brayshaw, Cerra, Banfield and Crowden were at.

If we play against the Eagles like we did last night we can still win with Kersten.

There was minimal long-bombing, so many goals were darting short kicks to targets, precision off the lead or running midfield goals.

That’s the only way we can beat the Eagles, and Kersten could actually kick a few with the right kind of delivery.

Unfortunately, the Eagles will apply a different kind of pressure than the Dogs and we might find ourselves bombing it more than we like - and then we’re screwed.

Apeness is just so raw but he’s the structural answer - mobile ruck who’s a forward target. He needs 3-4 solid games in Peel before he gets the go. I actually don’t think Cox is likely at all.

Srnadica, Meek or Jones just aren’t anywhere near the debuting level that Brayshaw, Cerra, Banfield and Crowden were at.

The Bulldogs defence was utter dogshit.

The Eagles have both better players and organisation. We won’t be getting the number of easy lead up marks we got last night even if we use the ball well.

Cox or Apeness must play. We need an overhead marking presence

We're in trouble with a small forward line against West coast's tall backline - McGovern loves to play against us.
Kersten could be a chance to come in. Can't see Apeness at this point in time

Probably, but there would be worse things to do than tell Apeness to play out of the square and run straight through anyone that gets in his way.

We have got to find a way to stop McGovern taking intercept marks. Putting the fear of god into him might help.

More info needed. Hamling beat him.
Josh hasn’t kicked a heap on us since before McPharlin schooled him.
Apart from 7 against a severely depleted Freo in 2016 I don’t believe he has kicked more than 3 goals in a game against us.
Alex Silvagni had to spend part of that game on him.

6 in the first Derby last year and the 7 in the second of 2016, nothing else over 3, for a total of 37 goals from 15 derbies

Probably, but there would be worse things to do than tell Apeness to play out of the square and run straight through anyone that gets in his way.

We have got to find a way to stop McGovern taking intercept marks. Putting the fear of god into him might help.

There’s an easier way; Don’t kick it long and high to where McGovern is.
If we must kick it to a pack with McGovern in it then don’t try and outmark him . Go the spoil for the crumbers.

There’s an easier way; Don’t kick it long and high to where McGovern is.
If we must kick it to a pack with McGovern in it then don’t try and outmark him . Go the spoil for the crumbers.

I thought the same, but so many teams struggle with it so it's obviously not quite as easy as that.

How's Cox's form at Peel been? At least he can take a mark up there.

Brad Hill won’t be playing, Ross said to Basil the other night he was a few weeks away.

MJ for Tabs. MJ can help ruck along with APearce - Hamling can take Kennedy when this happens, it throws something different at them. Kersten wasn’t in great form and isn’t a key forward, Ape isn’t ready for AFL, neither are the young rucks.

I thought the same, but so many teams struggle with it so it's obviously not quite as easy as that.

How's Cox's form at Peel been? At least he can take a mark up there.

Let’s say we bring in Shane Kersten with an instruction to run side by side with McGovern, everywhere.
Shane is given the instruction to only spoil .
There is one thing slower than Jeremy McGovern and that’s lying on the bottom of the Atlantic.

Would love to see Cox get the chance to replace Tabs, I reckon he's got a quality enough mark and footy smarts to play the role. Not sure what his Peel for is like though. Otherwise Apeness would be great, crash a few pack, hopefully take some marks. Will probably be Kersten however.

Let’s say we bring in Shane Kersten with an instruction to run side by side with McGovern, everywhere.
Shane is given the instruction to only spoil .
There is one thing slower than Jeremy McGovern and that’s lying on the bottom of the Atlantic.

McGovern would destroy Kersten in a 1 on 1. Horrible mismatch.

Clearly the match committee will be keeping a close eye on the weather forecast before they make any decisions. Jono will replace Duman. Thats set in stone. Bhill if he's fit but doubt it. I dont mind the idea of Jono going forward to be honest. Use him to tag Gov and hopefully he snags a couple. If he could negate their rebound game and our half forwards and mids can lock it in our 50 for 65% of the game....we can win this one.

Go Freo....sick of losing derbies

McGovern would destroy Kersten in a 1 on 1. Horrible mismatch.

Did you miss the instruction Shane has to only go the fist ?
Shane drags Jeremy wide and if he doesn’t follow, then Kersten doubles back to him as an effective tagger.
Shane has no other aim than to neutralise McGovern in the air. The ultimate sacrificial role.

Did you miss the instruction Shane has to only go the fist ?
Shane drags Jeremy wide and if he doesn’t follow, then Kersten doubles back to him as an effective tagger.
Shane has no other aim than to neutralise McGovern in the air. The ultimate sacrificial role.

That’s not new, he played that role and was borderline last year. Nyhuis has a go, and was worse, though excellent against Tarrant.

Clearly the match committee will be keeping a close eye on the weather forecast before they make any decisions. Jono will replace Duman. Thats set in stone. Bhill if he's fit but doubt it. I dont mind the idea of Jono going forward to be honest. Use him to tag Gov and hopefully he snags a couple. If he could negate their rebound game and our half forwards and mids can lock it in our 50 for 65% of the game....we can win this one.

Go Freo....sick of losing derbies

Johnno replacing Duman set in stone? I certainly didn’t read the game nor the post-match that way at all.

Enter the Ape!!

We all know his body will never hold...but maybe just maybe..we tell him to go out there for one last time and knock those w***ers out. It’s not very humanitarian of me I know, but I just love seeing the Ape knock em down like he did to Goddard three times in the space of 20 seconds once.

But in all seriousness he’s not ready yet.