Preview R7: Changes vs. Fremantle

My apologies to Rob.

We lost the hit outs 45 to 49 but won the clearances 46 to 35. I do recall thinking at the time that we did better than expected against a high quality midfield.

So we have won clearances 5 times in 6 matches. Our only clearances loss was 37-40 against Geelong. My point was that if we continue to win clearances it is very difficult to see Rob playing in the SANFL. I will just have to close my eyes when he takes possession of the ball.

Ok, no wuckers, still doesn’t explain why you thought we were smashed by suns in terms of clearances. It was well known that we did extremely well against a gun clearance group on their home deck.

Yes, we would all like a 26 year old Max Gawn but is there a stand out ruckman in his mid 20s who would be a match winner? If yes, would you be willing to pay the $1.5M a year? No one on this Board was interested in Grundy at $1M a year.

Winning the clearances doesn’t guarantee a win but we have already seen with Strachan and when Rob is struggling that getting smashed in the clearances makes losing very likely.

I don’t think you need a $1.5m ruckman to have a dominant midfield.

Good to see Draper retained. As much as he looked tired against GWS, I'm more than happy to back him in to work through it. And an away trip to Perth is great experience for a young player.

Peatling and Rachele are two big ins, and Berry out doesn't cost us much at all. Obviously we will miss Fogarty, but that can't be helped.
The more games draper plays the better for draper and the team.

Smart move not risking Fog... Geesus almost sensible by Crows... :embarrassedv1: - Solid Ins.

Yeah; it's such an odd feeling not to be blown away by at least ONE Selection oddity, or nightmare (eg Smurphy for that one game).
Omitting Berry, ok, sensible.
It's very smart to omit Fog who'll be rarin' to go against Carlton.
Suggests to me that Rachele is ok, or they would have rested him too. He'll add some spark inside the F50.
Peatling back too, great.

I'm starting to think we could even be 7-2 after 9 games :oops:.
Don't pinch me!
If this is a dream, lemme sleep.

Ok, no wuckers, still doesn’t explain why you thought we were smashed by suns in terms of clearances. It was well known that we did extremely well against a gun clearance group on their home deck.
Simple anwer.

I quickly checked the clearances for each of our matches from the AFL website before posting. I read the clearances for the GCS v Crows back to front. Following your comment I realised that I had made an error since my recollection was also that our midfield did much better than expected against the GCS.

My apologies if this mistake has caused you any distress.

The point to my post was that it is far from obvious to me that ROB should be dropped, unlike the comments from a number of posters. He will never be a champion, game changing ruckman. Imho the best we can hope for is for ROB to help us win the clearances most weeks and not cause much damage in general play.

Should we bring in McAndrew? So far he has done no more than Strachanie in the SANFL. Hopefully he continues to perform well in the Twos and is ready to step in if ROB’s form drops or gets injured. I question his ability to run out a full AFL game, particularly if he is doing 80% of the ruck work. I think it could be a major problem on Optus Oval in Perth. I would love for him to demand selection and improve our team. Last SANFL match he outplayed Cameron McGree. Cam has had a great couple of years at Glenelg but three years ago he was flicked by South Adelaide and was running around with the Wine Flies in the Southern Footy League. Probably not quite Max Gawn standard.

Are all your positions based upon stats?
I have noticed an enthusiasm by some on this Board to rip apart my posts if there is the slightest inaccuracy.

My impression watching the games live and subsequently watching the replay is that we have done quite well in the clearances this year. I thought I would quickly check if my impression was supported by the facts. Unfortunately I misread the stats for the GCS match.

Once again, my humble apologies if my post has caused you any distress.

I have noticed an enthusiasm by some on this Board to rip apart my posts if there is the slightest inaccuracy.

My impression watching the games live and subsequently watching the replay is that we have done quite well in the clearances this year. I thought I would quickly check if my impression was supported by the facts. Unfortunately I misread the stats for the GCS match.

It’s ok, nothing wrong with you stating, as fact, that we were torched on clearances in the Suns game. Most learned students of the game thought exactly the same.

Reckon JJ missed 3 and was horrible. Hopefully Rach is cool, reckon it’s dubious though.
1 thing we can count on, a Fremantle player will test the theory within 30 seconds of the pre game handshake.

And I guarantee no in-training hit from a Crows player will come close to that first white line fever hip'n'shoulder from the oppo.

Oh you’re no orphan there…

TBH people will want to clamp down on Serong, and I get it, he's the star player. But I think the easier and more impactful target in terms of the end result would be Brayshaw. He seems to do more scoring damage with his touches (More Goals, I50s and GAs). So shutting down Brayshaw and letting Serong try to win it on his own could be the more impactful solution.

I've said it before. Sometimes the best way to stop Batman's influence on a situation is to take away his Robin. Calling Brayshaw 'Robin' is probably a bit of a kick in the d**k to him, but I doubt many people would pick him over Serong.
My mate loves Brayshaw in Fantasy Footy - even has him as Captain

I dont mind the changes - unfortunately with Fog out for 1 it probably means we take Tex

I do see three talls as Emergency so who knows

The changes seem well thought out. None of the old bring back Murphy panic he used to have. So its good to see reasonable changes.

As for the emergencies id say its cover if Tex pulls up sore between now and then and it wouldnt surprise me if all 3 travelled.

Surely his cards are stamped now that Davis has seen him play, isn’t that right AFC979810

Yup. Thats it.

So good that Murray was in charge of the sub for the first 4 weeks... then took a week off with the disastrous fog sub.

Keep telling you. Good= Davis. Bad=Nicks. We know the inner workings.

Yup. Thats it.

So good that Murray was in charge of the sub for the first 4 weeks... then took a week off with the disastrous fog sub.

Keep telling you. Good= Davis. Bad=Nicks. We know the inner workings.

everyone makes mistakes. it was like when some said Nicks was good and the bad was Roo. Its turned out both maybe.

Cmon mate, you don’t reckon you’ve brought that upon yourself given your style of posting over the years.

You post as if most on here are idiots who don’t see the game like you or have your level of knowledge “tools and trolls”. You’ve jumped at posters yourself.

Of course you’re going to get picked up.

Its got the McHenry stink around it, just without the added non statistical roll BS

I heard the only game that Murray has watched of the Adelaide Crows in the past 10 years was round 13 against Richmond.

My sources say he actually called Nicks and told him to never play the soon to be uncontracted Ned again.

Preview R7: Changes vs. Fremantle