Prediction R8: Changes vs Saints

• Thread starter Thread starter MrDanggazz

I dunno, but I think all the kids in the team shouldn't get dropped again this season unless for injury. The only way they learn is in the big time, win together, lose together. No other way.

There’s nothing in the cupboard that will improve upon the 22 greatly.

We just need our injury list to get shorter. B.Hill, Taberner, Walters, Logue, Darcy, Bennell....

Someone else said it, but it’s true, the positive from the weekend was no injuries at either Peel or Fremantle.

Agree, the bye can not come quick enough.

When we get some players back I hope we take the opportunity to rest a few players like Hill who looks sore .

For those who want to know more about Strndica's recent form, he has played the last 3 games in the Peel 1sts at an average of 2 goals and 16 hit outs a game.
Solid enough for a guy who started in the year in the reserves but lets see him build for a little while longer.

Code:
Round Oppo        Disposals  Marks  H/O  Score
6     Claremont   16         4      21   3.1
5     East Perth  15         8      9    2.2 
3     Perth       9          4      18   1.0

For those who want to know more about Strndica's recent form, he has played the last 3 games in the Peel 1sts at an average of 2 goals and 16 hit outs a game.
Solid enough for a guy who started in the year in the reserves but lets see him build for a little while longer.

Code:
Round Oppo        Disposals  Marks  H/O  Score
6     Claremont   16         4      21   3.1
5     East Perth  15         8      9    2.2
3     Perth       9          4      18   1.0
So this week it'll be 20 disposals, 8 marks, 25 hitouts and 4.4

Nicccccceeee

I dunno, but I think all the kids in the team shouldn't get dropped again this season unless for injury. The only way they learn is in the big time, win together, lose together. No other way.

Yes and no. I’m not against 2 weeks at WAFL for a specific focus. So long as the opportunity to be recalled is there. Think we have done this well. Logue went out last year. Didn’t demand a recall but was and did better.

I think there’s plenty to learn at WAFL level.

Hamling, Pearce, Ryan, Wilson, Hill, Blakely, Hughes, Duman gives us too many defenders for mine. Especially when Langdon, Tucker, Banfield and Cox can all rotate through their as well. If johno comes back then two of them need to go, but for mine Johno's not needed at the moment.

Out - Hughes, Cox*
In - Walters(if not fit then Nyhuis/Giro), Nads/Ape

* He can take a grab but doesn't compete hard enough when out of position for mine. Didn't crash a single pack and looks real slow/lackluster once the ball hits the ground and he has to chase.
I was a big fan of Cox last year, but for mine he shouldn't be in the 22 at this point of time.

Hamling, Pearce, Ryan, Wilson, Hill, Blakely, Hughes, Duman gives us too many defenders for mine. Especially when Langdon, Tucker, Banfield and Cox can all rotate through their as well. If johno comes back then two of them need to go, but for mine Johno's not needed at the moment.

Out - Hughes, Cox*
In - Walters(if not fit then Nyhuis/Giro), Nads/Ape

* He can take a grab but doesn't compete hard enough when out of position for mine. Didn't crash a single pack and looks real slow/lackluster once the ball hits the ground and he has to chase.
I was a big fan of Cox last year, but for mine he shouldn't be in the 22 at this point of time.
No way will we go in without Cox, he's building and he ll learn in the role. We need it for a Forward structure perspective. When Tabs comes back in, Cox will have had a few games under his belt.

We'll be fine this weekend. Our responses to putrid performances the following week the last couple of years have always been good.

Last year we were belted by Port Adelaide, then beat the reigning premiers.
10 goal loss to Brisbane, then we lose to Geelong on their deck by a 50/50 kick.
50 point loss no show to Hawthorn, play well against GWS and lose by 2 kicks because we lost Blakely.
2 100pt losses in a row, scored more than the combined scores in those games in a 2 goal + loss to Essendon.

This year we already responded to R1, I expect no different this weekend.

We'll be fine this weekend. Our responses to putrid performances the following week the last couple of years have always been good.

Last year we were belted by Port Adelaide, then beat the reigning premiers.
10 goal loss to Brisbane, then we lose to Geelong on their deck by a 50/50 kick.
50 point loss no show to Hawthorn, play well against GWS and lose by 2 kicks because we lost Blakely.
2 100pt losses in a row, scored more than the combined scores in those games in a 2 goal + loss to Essendon.

This year we already responded to R1, I expect no different this weekend.

Plus it’s the Saints. If we don’t win by 40+ we ain’t fair dinkum.
This should honestly be an absolute slaughtering. 110-60 minimum type score.

I’ve watched a couple of Saints games this year and I’d say it was the worse I’ve seen of any team for sometime. Including our massive losses last year.

They have been woeful.

Watching Fyfe interview after the game he said we need to find some talls. I think Strndica is a huge chance to come in. Him & cox could both play forward with McCarthy

I’ve watched a couple of Saints games this year and I’d say it was the worse I’ve seen of any team for sometime. Including our massive losses last year.

They have been woeful.
Agree about the Saints they have been ordinary. At least we can say we are in a rebuild. they were supposed to have finished theirs 2 years ago.

No way will we go in without Cox, he's building and he ll learn in the role. We need it for a Forward structure perspective. When Tabs comes back in, Cox will have had a few games under his belt.

If cox stays in, we need to bring in an extra Medium Tall to have in the fwd 50 when cox is in the ruck...that’s the reason why Fyfe rucked. And also with Fyfes post match presser pretty much saying we need more talls.

Bit of heat on the Saints at the moment. Expect them to come out with a point to prove. But if we can’t beat these clowns at home we’re in big strife.

Watching Fyfe interview after the game he said we need to find some talls. I think Strndica is a huge chance to come in. Him & cox could both play forward with McCarthy

The only issue having all three in, is two of them don’t put on enough defensive pressure. But yeah we need a bit more height and a little less short people in our F50( especially when we play away from Optus stadium) we seem to lose our run and just kick it long to a contest when we play away.

If we win we will have an outpouring of vitriol from a certain flog on the Saints board about how we are a club that harbours sexual predators..blah, blah, blah.. that’s when you know the win has really hurt.

If we field the same team, we’re going to kick 4 goals again (or maybe ~6), even if it’s the Saints.

We need more than McCarthy, Cox (played 1 game this year), a cooked Ballantyne and rotating midfielders. We need to bite the bullet and bring back Kersten as third tall, and/or Strnadica as second ruck with Cox permanently in full-forward. Nyhuis has been showing a bit of firepower so play him too.

It’s getting tiresome watching every patch of the defensive 50 expertly covered and the Bonne and Clyde machine gun special up front.

They have been woeful.
Not with our current forward line. Need to be realistic. I would be happy just to take the win. Even if its a 20-30 point win.

At the risk of sounding too simplistic, I reckon if we want to kick more goals, we should bring in more forwards:

Out: Hughes, Cox
In: Kersten, Strnadica

Johnson will come back in, that’s guaranteed, most likely for Duman. Keen to see big Strnadica be rewared and have a run at it for his good form for Peel, Saints aren’t strong in the ruck department which gives him a chance to assert himself in the game. Kersten being another who’ll get looked at, we have extremely little forward presence and he needs to come in and be a target if selected.

Tough to call who comes out though, Crowden looked like he needed a rest, Hughes was very rusty, Cox might be on the chopping block for his apparent lack of effort but he looked very good in the air went he got a decent run at it. Could be anywhere between 0 to 3 changes.