Preview R9: Changes vs. Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter jamesclean

Will we rest anyone?

But he’s right? 9 turnovers, even more fumbles. I wouldn’t have gone as far as to suggest dropping him but sometimes he’s an active hindrance to how we are playing.
He’s not right. He’s either in the team or out of the team. There’s no inbetween.

Also I dont want Berry dropped (and the PR/club culture impact of doing that off a showdown medal would be insane)

BUT

his fumbles ARE an issue. A big issue.

Almost every player in our team was fumbling. Berry's were just more noticeable because he was around the ball so much.

He also won some fantastic clearances, tackled like a demon, and seems to have a good dynamic with McAndrew (certainly better than he ever had with ROB). Leading metres gained player on the ground too, ahead of the next best by more than 150m.

I wouldn't have given him the Showdown medal (Milera for mine), but he was comfortably in our top 5 players yesterday. I know he's not fashionable, but he's probably been our best midfielder this year. It's crazy to me how much people want him out of the side.

Even with Walker out, it's worth considering resting Thilthorpe. Poor dude looks beat up and pissed off, and his game is getting worse each week. Hell, give him a month off (noting we have a trip interstate, followed by a six day break, followed by a trip to Tassie off a five day break, and then a round 12 bye coming up).

As for who comes in, Fogarty once he's ready, but don't rush him in. Curtin can play up there as needed, and for the other spot, why not just play Maley, or hell, give Marsh or Welsh a debut. Or even Ludowyke. What's the harm? Or once Keane is back, try N Murray up forward. Let's see if we have a viable alternative for when Walker hangs up the boots.

After the bye we have Geelong, Bulldogs, Melbourne, Port. Those four weeks will determine whether we're a serious final contender this year or not. Let's get Thilthorpe cherry ripe for it, as well as our other important players like Ah Chee, Fogarty, Keane, Curtin, Hinge, Draper, etc. Then we'll have an opportunity to see whether we've got what it takes in 2026.

Almost every player in our team was fumbling. Berry's were just more noticeable because he was around the ball so much.

He also won some fantastic clearances, tackled like a demon, and seems to have a good dynamic with McAndrew (certainly better than he ever had with ROB). Leading metres gained player on the ground too, ahead of the next best by more than 150m.

I wouldn't have given him the Showdown medal (Milera for mine), but he was comfortably in our top 5 players yesterday. I know he's not fashionable, but he's probably been our best midfielder this year. It's crazy to me how much people want him out of the side.
Because it’s symbolic of how bad our midfield is if he’s been our best mid and did you watch last weeks game?

Agree with this. His fumbles stood out big time but he did more good than bad and that tackling number is massive.

The calls for him to come out of the team this week are crazy. He would want to tidy up his fumbles though.

Milera in comparison won a similar amount of ball, used it beautifully and didn’t make any mistakes. He should have won the medal.

Aliir gobbled up everything but also made some big mistakes leading to goals (at least 3 i remember). He also played on the losing team…so tough t***ies.

Because it’s symbolic of how bad our midfield is if he’s been our best mid and did you watch last weeks game?

He has been good. Not perfect, I agree. It would be great if we had a midfield full of players better than him. But we don't, and he's been good. He's shouldered a massive load and stood up under pressure. By comparison, the likes of Soligo and Peatling have wilted away.

The fumbles are an issue, but he is far from alone there. Outside of Milera and Cook, the whole team seemed to have a problem with it.

Yes, I watched last week's game, much to my displeasure. Berry was poor, as were 21 of his teammates not named Dawson.

Out - we wont make all of these

Walker - the poorest of poor management. Either doesnt travel to Brisbane to play a game we were never winning, or rests last night. Just dumb.

Butts - The body is a clear worry moving forward. Just cannot stay fit.

ANB - Probably wanted to play to give some leadership and credit to him for digging in under duress. Give him a spell.

Bond - Not upto it im afraid.

Cumming - You either give him a spell in the 2s or push him back for Bond. Didnt make any glaring errors but didnt do enough.

Taylor survives, hes too clever to leave out and I reckon he could have a big game in him next week.

IN

Dawson - Assuming hes good to go, id play him back

Murray - Should never have been dropped, straight back in

Draper - Get him out of the SANFL and play him. I get the form isnt there but it was only 2 weeks ago he exploded from stoppages and did all the things we want from him

Ludo/Marsh - neither are ready but give one a taste of it against VFL standard oppo.

Edwards - Should never have been dropped
I like the idea of Ludo/Marsh playing for Tex. Good game to debut. Especially for Ludo being a Vic kid

Concerned they rush Fog back.

Alternatively play Dawson forward/mid. Probably most likely outcome.

With Tex out and Thilthorpe struggling i wouldn't hate trialling a different forward set up completely.

Go small, force the mids to hit up targets rather than bombing long.

Maybe it can become habitual and when the big guys are fit and return, it'll benefit them even more too.

Out: Walker (hamstring), Butts (groin), Berry
In: Fogarty, N. Murray, Dawson
you are dropping BOG Berry before Taylor who has been ****ing useless all year? seriously? why the love for some players like taylor and nank?

Ill add that Filthy needs to get into the ruck.

He was nowhere last night, dropped the bottom lip a bit and almost coasted around.
tt needs a rest for a week or 2. never seen him less competitive in the air (often well behind opponent) and his kicking for goal from easy set shots is as bad as i can remember

that said, with tex out and a returning fog it may be hard to justify. BUT tigers are terrible, 16 injuries and returning from perth. if we ever are going to run with fog, t murray and maley (or try ludo) then this is the week

edit - ah chee can also play the third tall leading forward very well so he could be the other option instead of maley. curtins size also provides a KPP type option also

tt needs a rest for a week or 2. never seen him less competitive in the air (often well behind opponent) and his kicking for goal from easy set shots is as bad as i can remember

that said, with tex out and a returning fog it may be hard to justify. BUT tigers are terrible, 16 injuries and returning from perth. if we ever are going to run with fog, t murray and maley (or try ludo) then this is the week
Fog shouldnt come straight back into the side.

ideally yes. but do you agree tt doesnt look right and ideally we give him 1-2 weeks off before the last game vs horks before the bye (which thankfully comes early for us this year)

We know he doesn't enjoy playing one out, likes to play up field and get involved more

So maybe lets try that ??

9 day break and an easy kill to pump his tyres up a bit

We know he doesn't enjoy playing one out, likes to play up field and get involved more

So maybe lets try that ??

9 day break and an easy kill to pump his tyres up a bit
thats fair, and at least t murray showed last night he can be a part of the three tall forwards going forward. more than what maley ever has (a kangas mate of mine thought it was a joke we picked him up but seems a great team man and decent 5-6th KPF type option who you could keep on minimum chips for another yr or 2)

you are dropping BOG Berry before Taylor who has been ****ing useless all year? seriously? why the love for some players like taylor and nank?
Taylor is a one touch player with great disposal playing a low production forward role

edit - ah chee can also play the third tall leading forward very well so he could be the other option instead of maley. curtins size also provides a KPP type option also
Sound arguments made above. Unfortunately experience teaches us that Nicks is more likely to go with his strongest available lineup. Nicks has not managed player loads or niggling injuries very well in the past.

Taylor hasnt been useless all year, even last night.
without checking would he consistently be in our bottom 2-4 ranked players virtually every game do you think? at least peds kicks more goals (more than double on average). taylor is too slow for afl imo.

he and nank are the 2 i dont rate that most on here do and thats cool - i hope i am wrong and he turns things around

agree re low production. but i believe there is ZERO chance he stays in and Berry gets dropped. And I think you would really believe that also
I don't think Berry will get dropped but I do think he will get found out again against a quality side

he definitely was against lions. but overall has improved this year dont you agree?

how do you rate taylors year?

would you think taylor would be leading berry in the b&f at this stage? to me its like 10,000,0000,0000 : 1 that he would be. (not taking bets currently :) )

he definitely was against lions. but overall has improved this year dont you agree?

how do you rate taylors year?

would you think taylor would be leading berry in the b&f at this stage? to me its like 10,000,0000,0000 : 1 that he would be. (not taking bets currently :) )
I think in most games Berry has played exactly the same this year as previous years. Especially looking at how he performed not just against Brisbane, but other quality teams

However he's played more games than Taylor so he'd definitely be above him in the B&F

without checking would he consistently be in our bottom 2-4 ranked players virtually every game do you think? at least peds kicks more goals (more than double on average). taylor is too slow for afl imo.

he and nank are the 2 i dont rate that most on here do and thats cool - i hope i am wrong and he turns things around
You already are