Society & Culture Rage-inducing situations

• Thread starter Thread starter Danog

You stop in the right lane behind the car, and wait while wave after wave of traffic goes through the intersecting road. Finally the light turns green - and the moron in front of you decides he wants to turn right, puts on his indicator - and you are stuck there while he tries to turn against a seemingly endless line of traffic coming from the other direction. Cutting into the left lane proves impossible; the traffic coming from behind you in this lane is busy and prevents this. Finally, the lights turn orange and the clown gets to turn right - while you are stuck at the now red light waiting for eternity for them to turn green again.

This!

Another thing that pisses me off is people who cruise to the traffic lights. Once I was in the right lane trying to get to the turning lane. The turning arrow is green, but since the other lights are still red, the f-wit in front decided to take their foot off the pedal and slowly cruise to the lights. By the time there was an opening for me to squeeze the turning lane, the turning light had changed to red. :mad:

The other time when I encountered someone cruising to the lights, it wasn't so rage-inducing because I managed to overtake him and cut back in front of him before the lights. What was rage inducing was that he had the nerve to toot the horn at me. Dude, I'm not going to sit behind you if you start to lift off 300 metres before the lights.

Didnt read this, cbf editing, will double post instead.

A couple of months ago, there was a pretty big smash on the Hume Highway, Melbourne bound, about ten minutes outside of Seymour. Everyone has done the right thing, gotten into the right hand lane, leaving the left clear for council to get through to clear the fallen trees.

Right behind this truck comes this moron who has thought he is clearly far more important than the rest of us. He stops right next to me and indicates. We have to wait about another ten minutes before the traffic moves a bit, I'm looking at him, trying to show him there's no way I'm gonna let him in. As I move past, he throws his hands up, clearly upset I havent let him in.

Why do people act like this?

I did this once, although it wasn't deliberate. Still my fault for not paying enough attention to notice the 'roadworks ahead' and 'left lane closed' sign. Felt bad about having to cut in.

And I'm not a P plater but it shits me when old people get let off the hook in regards to driving and young ones cop all the criticism.

I agree, entirely. I can't understand why young drivers are the target, and the ever increasing bans on what, when and with whom young drivers can drive ... this isn't a bloody nanny state. By all means, throw the book at convicted hoons and give them much, much more than a slap on the wrist. I support that. But blanket bans on drivers just because they're (generally) aged under 21 is ridiculous. And yet there isn't a word said about older drivers. Perhaps they should have the same restrictions as young drivers: can't drive high powered cars, can only have one passenger on a full licence, can't drive between midnight and 6am etc. It's quite easy for an elderly person to mistake the accelerator for the brake pedal, so you might as well give them something that takes 20 years to go from 0-60.

No, I'm not advocating the bans at all. All I'm saying is if the bans are good enough for under 21s, then it's good enough for the elderly ... and every other driver on the road.

People who smoke on footpaths even though there's numerous people around them. Particularly shitful if you're walking behind them.

At BDO some people just lit up their cigarettes. No consideration for the rest of us suckers standing around them in the crammed crowd :confused:

People who just ditch their cigarette butts. This is littering. Do people think this is not assholic behaviour? :confused:

Can be either your own, or ones you've found.

Sister is fat, and asks me for help to lose weight, as I am not. I tell her what she has to do. She completely ignores my advice because it's too hard. She decides to go about it her own way, which consists of things like walking on the treadmill while drinking Coke (for "energy to exercise with").

When I told her that the coke is a terrible thing to drink if she's trying to lose weight, she held the bottle to my face, pointed at the nutrition panel and said "See, it has no fat in it!"

She obviously gets 0 results. A few weeks later, I hear her talking on the phone to her friend. "I don't know how I haven't lost any weight, I've been skipping breakfast for weeks now. I've been doing heaps of crunches, too!"

She is also one of those people who thinks a "Diet" or "Lite" version of something means you can eat three times as many.

Rage_face.png

It appears your sister is a bogan. Sorry to hear it.

Staying up past midnight watching ABC television on a Friday or Saturday.

:thumbsu:

Also - people at ATMs who stand there after they have their money, card & receipt & proceed to take forever to put money in purse then move purse around in handbag .. or stand there reading the receipt.. while a long queue is behind them . Take your card, money & receipt & immediately move to the ****ing right please

This is annoying. Thankfully I haven't seen it happen in a while.

And I'm not a P plater but it shits me when old people get let off the hook in regards to driving and young ones cop all the criticism. The majority are a hazard on the road and IMO once someone hits 65 they should have yearly driving tests to prove they're still capable because I've seen many more incidents with old people & myself have had near misses with the elderly due to their inattention.

Couldn't agree more.

I've been meaning to make a thread on Old People drivers.

Working at a bottle-o with a drive through, I encounter many, many old people. Many of whom, can hardly support themselves, walk and climb stairs. Their reaction times would be worse than a child, let alone quick enough to make important decisions while driving a car.

A reaction test, as well as regular eyesight, and practical driving tests should be mandatory for anyone over 60.

This. It's amazing how often you see adults act like ****ing children due to impatience when it comes to the setting of customer service. These are grown ups we're talking about, behaving like bratty four year olds (and I only expect this behaviour from four year olds that have shit-for-brains parents). These are usually people that have not been well-educated or are ferals.

Tonight was classic. One back area person, myself and a manager running drive thru, front counter and the cafe. One of the crew on break decided to help out in cafe, spent half her break doing a massive order, then this stupid bitch had the nerve to come over and yell "WHY HAVEN'T I BEEN SERVED YET?!" and due to being flustered (as in, order taking/cashiering in drive thru down the other end of the store while running back to get orders) I turned around and said "BECAUSE THERE ARE ONLY TWO OF US!!!" Jesus christ, it's not like we intentionally not serve people.

Another one was Friday night. Stupid P-Plater came through, his order was a Large Coke, McDouble (god I hate those burgers...), large fries and something else. He started saying he had a large coke missing, then said something about the McDouble missing. I told him it was in there (because I had put the order together) and low and behold, it was in the bottom. No apology, just a "well, why isn't it in a box?!" FFS MAYBE WE DON'T NORMALLY PUT THEM IN BOXES, MAYBE THEY ARE MEANT TO BE WRAPPED!!!

Girls in clubs that just push through a crowd because they know nothing will happen to them.

Tonight was classic. One back area person, myself and a manager running drive thru, front counter and the cafe. One of the crew on break decided to help out in cafe, spent half her break doing a massive order, then this stupid bitch had the nerve to come over and yell "WHY HAVEN'T I BEEN SERVED YET?!" and due to being flustered (as in, order taking/cashiering in drive thru down the other end of the store while running back to get orders) I turned around and said "BECAUSE THERE ARE ONLY TWO OF US!!!" Jesus christ, it's not like we intentionally not serve people.

Another one was Friday night. Stupid P-Plater came through, his order was a Large Coke, McDouble (god I hate those burgers...), large fries and something else. He started saying he had a large coke missing, then said something about the McDouble missing. I told him it was in there (because I had put the order together) and low and behold, it was in the bottom. No apology, just a "well, why isn't it in a box?!" FFS MAYBE WE DON'T NORMALLY PUT THEM IN BOXES, MAYBE THEY ARE MEANT TO BE WRAPPED!!!

Golly I wouldn't like to be served by you. These peoeple seem to be asking legit questions and you start yelling at them. Ever heard of the customers always right?

People who don't thank or acknowledge your acts of goodwill....eg opening or holding a door open.....no reaction but walking through.

When someone comes to your store complaining that they dont understand what all the buttons mean on their tape player which they purchased off you.

Oh, you mean the: Stop, Pause, Record, Play buttons that have had the same symbols on them for the past 30 something years? Are you an absolute bafoon born and raised in a cave?

Piss off and don't waste my time.

You know whats worse?. A peasant that works in retail thinking they are better than ANYONE.

Golly I wouldn't like to be served by you. These peoeple seem to be asking legit questions and you start yelling at them. Ever heard of the customers always right?
Old wives tale, the customer is never ALWAYS right thats just ridiculous. I worked in retail for 4 years and we were never told that, it would validate the ridiculous demands of the worst of the worst customers.

I agree, entirely. I can't understand why young drivers are the target, and the ever increasing bans on what, when and with whom young drivers can drive ... this isn't a bloody nanny state. By all means, throw the book at convicted hoons and give them much, much more than a slap on the wrist. I support that. But blanket bans on drivers just because they're (generally) aged under 21 is ridiculous. And yet there isn't a word said about older drivers. Perhaps they should have the same restrictions as young drivers: can't drive high powered cars, can only have one passenger on a full licence, can't drive between midnight and 6am etc. It's quite easy for an elderly person to mistake the accelerator for the brake pedal, so you might as well give them something that takes 20 years to go from 0-60.

No, I'm not advocating the bans at all. All I'm saying is if the bans are good enough for under 21s, then it's good enough for the elderly ... and every other driver on the road.

Could you imagine the outcry from the general public if seniors were required to display an S-plate on their car?

The Herald Sun would be full of anecdotes from over-60s saying how careful they are driving and how good their eyesight still is and that such an introduction is an infringement on their rights and a case of a small minority ruining it for the large majority.

Exactly how it is for P-platers... :rolleyes:

I'd be fully supportive of restrictions on seniors. Some displays of their driving that I've seen are simply scary.

Then, if I manage to fight through the old lady and baby obstacle course, I'm invariably stopped at the checkout as both Coles and Woolworths are determined to be tight-arse bastards who only ever have about three checkouts manned, with queues about five deep.
What really shits me at supermarkets is when you're ducking in to grab one or two items and there are multiple lanes open, but some idiot goes in the lane that has a basket only symbol above it with a trolley. WTF? Are they blind?

Rage is avoided in these situations if I have one or both of my young sons with me. I make sure to say to them - loud enough for both the person and checkout chick who should have refused to serve them - 'See <name> that symbol means you should only be in this lane if you've got a basket, unless you're inconsiderate'. No need to swear, but being put down in front of a 3 and/or 5 year old does wonders for my temperament in the situation. I'm sure there's rage transferal to them towards me though :p

Rage is avoided in these situations if I have one or both of my young sons with me. I make sure to say to them - loud enough for both the person and checkout chick who should have refused to serve them - 'See <name> that symbol means you should only be in this lane if you've got a trolley, unless you're inconsiderate'. No need to swear, but being put down in front of a 3 and/or 5 year old does wonders for my temperament in the situation. I'm sure there's rage transferal to them towards me though :p

I can't wait to have kids so I can do sh*t like this with them. :p

Kids are great for insulting someone under the pre-text of educating them on the virtue of being considerate :) Prams also great for bumping people hogging lanes. A 'Sorry, I didn't mean to bump you whilst you were blocking the way' were also good for stopping rage (of mine).

Me and the old man were heading into Freo on a really busy day (think it was during the buskers festival on the easter long weekend). We drive around a multi story carpark for about 10 minutes to find that it is completely full. Already impatient by this point, we then we notice a 4WD parked exactly in the middle of two spots, so it's taking up half of each.

FUUUUUUUU

Anyway, we then proceeded to completely let down all four of its tires, so hopefully that bastard won't be doing that again.

How did she react?

Bullshit, this is a myth that has no substance to it. I sincerely hope you are not in agreement with the way that female behaved. If the employee was the first to yell then fair enough, but when you are abused by someone that has not displayed patience nor an ability to understand that people are under pressure by ignorantly yelling, I side with the employee if they choose to reciprocate by putting her in their place. (edit - and it's not just what is being asked, but how it is being asked... similar to talking to girls).

I was at Myer the other month and this old man wanted to return a fragrance because he simply didn't like it anymore. He didn't have the receipt, and you could tell that a portion of the fragrance had already gone. Upon the manager refusing his request of a refund, he chucked a bratty four-year-old like tantrum before proclaiming numerous times, "the customer is always right!" - my arse the customer is always right and I was more than happy to see his reliance on this myth shattered to pieces. lol, 'customer is always right'.

People that seem to think the "Pick up & drop off" area at the airport means "Pull up, park, sit on your phone for 5 minutes, get out of your car and and act like your passenger has arrived, wait another 5 minutes before they get there".

Saw someone park his car there and stoll into the airport to pick someone up. Made me rage.

How about getting more staff on? It's the the customer's fault you're understaffed.

I don't even work in retail and even I understand that the mere cashier has no control over staffing issues. If I can see that a place is under pressure due to a rush in customers, I have the common sense to understand this concept (it is shocking how so many people do not) and display the fact that my parents taught me about patience as a five year old and wait for my turn in an orderly manner.

I didn't mean for it to come off as I was blaming shibz personally for the understaffing.