Discussion Random Chat Megathread Mk II

Ok, is this the stupidest article out?
Here's an excerpt, and boy oh boy, how ****ing dumb.
3E73D30700000578-4334968-Marcus_Rashford_revealed_England_s_new_away_kit_on_Monday_a_two_-a-39_1490102387069.jpg

Marcus Rashford revealed England's new away kit on Monday, a two-toned blue version
3E7D8CAF00000578-0-image-a-9_1490098801905.jpg

But it was immediately criticised for being the same as England's last away kit, except not red
IT'S NOT THE ****ING SAME, IT'S TWO COMPLETELY DIFFERENT COLOURS FOR ****S SAKES.
WHAT DO YOU ****ING WANT, A GIANT UNICORN ON THE FRONT, IT THE ENGLAND NATIONAL TEAM NOT A STARTUP MLS FRANCHISE. Gosh, this makes no sense at all. Why is it that they're getting annoyed by it? They're the same company, and the template isn't even that bad.
Read this piece of shit here: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/fo...e-s-copycat-England-kits-templates-worst.html

WHAT DO YOU ******* WANT, A GIANT UNICORN ON THE FRONT
You make it sound like this is outrageous, but I think you'd be surprised how many people want " a picture of a _____" on the front of their team's kit/guernsey.

I suppose Daily Mail FC would fit on this list, too.

Reckon someone should make up a plain white kit with a daily mail logo on the nike template and send it to the investigative journalist behind this article.

I think the blue looks better.
upload_2017-5-29_20-52-53.png
After all, it's exactly the same except for all of it.

Ok, is this the stupidest article out?
Here's an excerpt, and boy oh boy, how ******* dumb.

IT'S NOT THE ******* SAME, IT'S TWO COMPLETELY DIFFERENT COLOURS FOR ****S SAKES.
WHAT DO YOU ******* WANT, A GIANT UNICORN ON THE FRONT, IT THE ENGLAND NATIONAL TEAM NOT A STARTUP MLS FRANCHISE. Gosh, this makes no sense at all. Why is it that they're getting annoyed by it? They're the same company, and the template isn't even that bad.
Read this piece of shit here: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/fo...e-s-copycat-England-kits-templates-worst.html
Don't be ridiculous, the unicorn is an emblem of Scotland, not England :p

So I was just dicking around with Inkscape, and decided to modify the image below, as if it were being used today. Didn't really know where to chuck it, so apologies if this isn't really the place for it.

Eagles-1.jpg

The West Coast site is littered with impact font, so it seemed the most logical choice.

Eagles-1.png

So I love checking out those vintage market places, which have little stalls all through a large building for people to sell all their old crap for exorbitant prices. In particular, I'm on the lookout for old automotive signs (not the cheap reproduction crap that all the bogans put in their "man cave"), any neat pop culture stuff, and of course old footy stuff (even though, as my team only started in 1991, its not easy to find anything that could really be considered "vintage"). I often see some pretty cool things, but its almost always at a silly price that I'm just not prepared to pay.

Well today I went to one and found two super neat items. Keep in mind, I found these in Geelong, and each item was from a different stall.

The first one to catch my eye was this SANFL magazine/book from 1983. Its in really good condition for its age, but what drew my eye to it was the cartoon logos on the front - the Redlegs logo in particular is what I noticed first. Interesting to note that they seem to have all been drawn by WEG, with the possible exception of Woodville (none of them have his little initials anywhere, but that one just doesn't seem his style). Initially, as its title says "year book", I thought it would be something that was produced at the end of the year - a sort of "season that was" deal - but it is actually a preview of the upcoming season, including a neat piece on Malcolm Blight returning to captain-coach Woodville. Despite the fact I am not from SA and have never had any historical connection to the SANFL, for a paltry $5, I simply couldn't leave it behind.

RenderedContent-3D7BA6CC-658D-4830-A111-3DA2DF183EC8.JPG

The second item took a little bit more convincing of myself to purchase, but I couldn't resist in the end. Its a block mounted Crows WEG cartoon print on a felt-like material. The copyright notice says its from 1993, meaning its almost as early as you can get for Crows stuff. It has some minor damage on the corners, but its probably going to end up in the garage anyway as there is no way my wife will let me put it anywhere in the house (don't have enough room for the Crows memorabilia I have as it is). It was $50, which is probably about the most I would want to pay for an item like this, but its nigh on impossible to find any old Crows stuff in Victoria, so I grabbed it.

RenderedContent-70C02FB7-D98D-4566-A391-DFE1CCB21A10.JPG

So I love checking out those vintage market places, which have little stalls all through a large building for people to sell all their old crap for exorbitant prices. In particular, I'm on the lookout for old automotive signs (not the cheap reproduction crap that all the bogans put in their "man cave"), any neat pop culture stuff, and of course old footy stuff (even though, as my team only started in 1991, its not easy to find anything that could really be considered "vintage"). I often see some pretty cool things, but its almost always at a silly price that I'm just not prepared to pay.

Well today I went to one and found two super neat items. Keep in mind, I found these in Geelong, and each item was from a different stall.

The first one to catch my eye was this SANFL magazine/book from 1983. Its in really good condition for its age, but what drew my eye to it was the cartoon logos on the front - the Redlegs logo in particular is what I noticed first. Interesting to note that they seem to have all been drawn by WEG, with the possible exception of Woodville (none of them have his little initials anywhere, but that one just doesn't seem his style). Initially, as its title says "year book", I thought it would be something that was produced at the end of the year - a sort of "season that was" deal - but it is actually a preview of the upcoming season, including a neat piece on Malcolm Blight returning to captain-coach Woodville. Despite the fact I am not from SA and have never had any historical connection to the SANFL, for a paltry $5, I simply couldn't leave it behind.

View attachment 377894

The second item took a little bit more convincing of myself to purchase, but I couldn't resist in the end. Its a block mounted Crows WEG cartoon print on a felt-like material. The copyright notice says its from 1993, meaning its almost as early as you can get for Crows stuff. It has some minor damage on the corners, but its probably going to end up in the garage anyway as there is no way my wife will let me put it anywhere in the house (don't have enough room for the Crows memorabilia I have as it is). It was $50, which is probably about the most I would want to pay for an item like this, but its nigh on impossible to find any old Crows stuff in Victoria, so I grabbed it.

View attachment 377897

Awesome stuff, crow. Was this at the Belmont markets? Or How Bazaar?

How'd you get into the Crows?

I didn't have much footy influence growing up. My parents weren't into footy, so my only real exposure was when I would stay at my grandparents on a Friday or Saturday night, and they would watch whichever game was on. I had been a Hawthorn supporter because of my Nan, but one night, Adelaide beat North Melbourne and the commentators said "Adelaide are a good side". That was it, I chose my own team and it was Adelaide. I have since traced that game back to Round 16, 1995. I was 7 at the time, too young to realise what it meant to support a team from outside Victoria. People have tried to sway me since, and I did get pretty close to changing once (to Melbourne!), but I stuck true. 97/98 certainly helped I think.

Awesome stuff, crow. Was this at the Belmont markets? Or How Bazaar?

I totally forgot How Bazaar was around! Must check that place out. It was actually very close to there, just at the other end of the bridge over the rail line. I think its just called Geelong Vintage Market - I didn't even know existed. We were looking at furniture places, and there is one called Schot's Emporium, and this place was right behind it.

I didn't have much footy influence growing up. My parents weren't into footy, so my only real exposure was when I would stay at my grandparents on a Friday or Saturday night, and they would watch whichever game was on. I had been a Hawthorn supporter because of my Nan, but one night, Adelaide beat North Melbourne and the commentators said "Adelaide are a good side". That was it, I chose my own team and it was Adelaide. I have since traced that game back to Round 16, 1995. I was 7 at the time, too young to realise what it meant to support a team from outside Victoria. People have tried to sway me since, and I did get pretty close to changing once (to Melbourne!), but I stuck true. 97/98 certainly helped I think.
Cool. I'm more or less in the same boat being a Victorian supporting a non-Victorian team, that's why I asked. Except I did have a good Collingwood influence growing up. I just liked Port's colours (lol) and Byron Pickett, and I was also around 7. I think my meltdown and tears on GF day 2007 at age 11 cemented my emotional attachment...

Cool. I'm more or less in the same boat being a Victorian supporting a non-Victorian team, that's why I asked. Except I did have a good Collingwood influence growing up. I just liked Port's colours (lol) and Byron Pickett, and I was also around 7.
Same but with Byron Pickett replaced by Chad Wingard.

Cool. I'm more or less in the same boat being a Victorian supporting a non-Victorian team, that's why I asked. Except I did have a good Collingwood influence growing up. I just liked Port's colours (lol) and Byron Pickett, and I was also around 7. I think my meltdown and tears on GF day 2007 at age 11 cemented my emotional attachment...

Ah cool! I reckon at that age, colours/favourite players are as good a reason as any to support a club. Once I started following Adelaide, Tony Modra was my hero player. Met him a couple years back at a game. Good times.

I recieved a WC T-Shirt for my 6th birthday, my 4 year old brother (who I commonly share a birthday with) recieved a Freo scarf. That was it for us both.

Got that shit signed by Judd, Glass, Fletcher and Gaspar. Wore that thing ragged.

View attachment 377897

Love that West Torrens logo, obviously not their best, but it takes me back to watching 5A in the Mallee and seeing ads for the Riverland Independents league fixture popping up and seeing the Cobdogla Eagles logo look exactly like that.

Actually, it still is that logo!

1279803_1_T.jpg

Discussion Random Chat Megathread Mk II