Discussion Random Chat Megathread Mk II

Does anyone have a vector of the current NB guernsey template? Thanks (I wasn't sure were to put this request)

I picked up a Switch with Animal Crossing over a year ago, and I've been having way too much fun with designing custom kits/guernseys for myself.

For example, Wellington Phoenix's home kit:
20231109_135053.jpg
(The Maori design, combined with the lack of pixels is a killer 🥵)

I've also created the Crows Gather Round and Home guernseys, Carlton heritage guernsey and Sturt guernsey but I'll upload those separately once I get back on the Switch!

Which begs the question: are there any games where you've done similar and created your own guernseys/shirts (outside of AFL games, of course)?

I picked up a Switch with Animal Crossing over a year ago, and I've been having way too much fun with designing custom kits/guernseys for myself.

View attachment 1849589

I've also created the Crows Gather Round and Home guernseys, Carlton heritage guernsey and Sturt guernsey but I'll upload those separately once I get back on the Switch!

Which begs the question: are there any games where you've done similar and created your own guernseys/shirts (outside of AFL games, of course)?
I used to make rugby jerseys and NBA jerseys for GTA RP. loved seeing people in the server rep them.

View attachment 1849589

Ooh love this question, when I had animal crossing I had my little character wearing the prison bars hahaha. The best example I have of my own is my Dream League Soccer kits which are for a Port Adelaide team. Home is black, away is white and the alternate is teal. The image quality is a bit shit given they’re screenshots of a mobile game so bear with me.
IMG_9832.jpeg IMG_9833.jpeg IMG_9828.jpeg IMG_9829.jpeg IMG_9830.jpeg IMG_9831.jpeg
The thought process behind a black and white home kit is that with promotion and relegation they don’t bother to make every team have unique colours because that’d be impossible. Teal becomes what yellow was to Arsenal and Chelsea, red for QPR, the Catalan colours for Barca, the sort of recurring colour scheme that’s not in team colours. I’ve used the pattern on our 2023 clash jumper on the home and away kits but I’ve left a little gap between each row to darken the home a bit and give the away a little more of a Port Adelaide flair. Then the 3rd kit is a throwback to an obvious iconic Port jumper which works given it’s so teal dominant. The GK kits are just pink, green and orange versions of the home and because of the commonality between Port captains and soccer goalkeepers wearing the number 1 I have my keeper as the captain. The lightning bolt striping has to be one of my favourite details about it though.

Wondering if anyone has a link to a nice professional looking basketball template, like a realistic looking template. Not too fussed on what parts are included but ideally one with at least the front and the back of the jersey. Thanks!

View attachment 1868578

every day that I don’t wind up in the bad graphic design thread is a good day. 🥳
Ermmmm, akshully there’s not enough contrast between the Heat logo and the Riverbank Stand 🤓☝🏼
I kid of course, absolute ripper as usual. SA Cricket is lucky to have you.

Ooh love this question, when I had animal crossing I had my little character wearing the prison bars hahaha. The best example I have of my own is my Dream League Soccer kits which are for a Port Adelaide team. Home is black, away is white and the alternate is teal. The image quality is a bit s**t given they’re screenshots of a mobile game so bear with me.
View attachment 1849885View attachment 1849886View attachment 1849887View attachment 1849888View attachment 1849889View attachment 1849890
The thought process behind a black and white home kit is that with promotion and relegation they don’t bother to make every team have unique colours because that’d be impossible. Teal becomes what yellow was to Arsenal and Chelsea, red for QPR, the Catalan colours for Barca, the sort of recurring colour scheme that’s not in team colours. I’ve used the pattern on our 2023 clash jumper on the home and away kits but I’ve left a little gap between each row to darken the home a bit and give the away a little more of a Port Adelaide flair. Then the 3rd kit is a throwback to an obvious iconic Port jumper which works given it’s so teal dominant. The GK kits are just pink, green and orange versions of the home and because of the commonality between Port captains and soccer goalkeepers wearing the number 1 I have my keeper as the captain. The lightning bolt striping has to be one of my favourite details about it though.
Dybala, CR7 and Neymar playing for Port. Now that'd be awesome

On SM-A235F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Freight Train loving your Strikers work mate. Question for you around the stuff you've showed off here.

Are you given a huge number of press photos, or do you find yourself having to just pick the best option out of a small set? Also do you do end up having to doa lot of retouching to the photos provided to you - is that something that they try and limit?

Freight Train loving your Strikers work mate. Question for you around the stuff you've showed off here.

Are you given a huge number of press photos, or do you find yourself having to just pick the best option out of a small set? Also do you do end up having to doa lot of retouching to the photos provided to you - is that something that they try and limit?

Got quite an in-depth content library that the public don't have access to, between content days and matchday imagery, so there’s plenty to work with.

Also, I don't really do any "retouching" to photos in terms of a player's appearance, can’t honestly answer if it’s frowned upon or not but I just don’t do it to begin with. Like I mess about with stuff like lighting, contrast and colour to suit the creative, but no “airbrushing” per se.

was recently looking at previous grand final records and noticed this grand final logo on the '05 record. anyone know anything more about it?
s-l1200.webp

Was reading this on wiki about the public votes to name the new ABL (Australian Baseball League) teams back in 2009.
View attachment 1880185
Does anyone know what the other 3 names per team that were options? could be a good what if thread.
Maybe Giants, bite rebranded to that as it was the name of the original club that competed in the previous ABL iteration

Was reading this on wiki about the public votes to name the new ABL (Australian Baseball League) teams back in 2009.
View attachment 1880185
Does anyone know what the other 3 names per team that were options? Could be a good what if thread.
i can't find much learnt more history on old sydney names from the old ABL, would love to know as well

Recently passed 10 years on this site which is crazy to think about given I’m 20 now, nearly passed exactly half my life being on here. Can’t imagine seeing a 10 year old posting on here these days, that’s for sure 😳

Anyway, FJGD was the first board I posted on when I joined this BigFooty and I used to always scroll through creations made here on Google Images as a kid, as I’m sure many people did before joining here. I’m sure I was a little shit at times here, and embarrassingly some of those times I couldn’t use the excuse of being 10 because I was definitely older than that. Despite that, I’m glad to have found such a welcoming and encouraging community that’s helped me develop my skills over time. Without the encouragement from many people here I wouldn’t have gone from making basic recolours of existing designs on Paint, to some of the stuff I do now in Photoshop. I don’t post a lot of it these days because I’m a bit of a perfectionist, but just trust me I’ve been working on stuff. You guys know who you are, and I’m so grateful.

Naturally, the crowd has constantly evolved around here and I enjoy seeing new faces climb into the upper echelon of what I’d consider the best sports design community on the Internet. I love that this is a board where club rivalries are set aside for the most part. It may seem corny but I cherish the memories like competing in NAFL Reserves seasons in years gone by, or watching all the new jumpers drop for 2015 (crazy offseason that was).

I’ve changed a lot in the time since joining, I mean I was a Collingwood fan back then (no I don’t regret changing teams, got to see my Dad enjoy a premiership and one of my favourite players win one which was enjoyable in its own way), but I’ve literally grown from a boy to a man in this time. I found a passion for design, managed to learn a lot about footy, and also uncovered a passion for sports journalism and long form content, which I’ve since gone to uni for and covered footy as high as VFL level. That’s something I never would’ve found without this board and site, and again I’m extremely grateful. To everyone I’ve interacted with on here, whether those times were good or bad, I want to thank you. Here’s to 10 more years!

Discussion Random Chat Megathread Mk II