Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Best Australian Open in a long time, mens comp in particular :thumbsu: That final last night was simply awesome. My brother had about 10 mates over to watch it too, so the atmosphere in my loungeroom (with support split about 50:50) made things even better. Pretty happy with the result too. Djokovic has been my favourite player ever since he won his first Aus Open a few years ago (08 I think) and after what his body's been through this open definitely deserved the win. Nevertheless, the game still could have very easily gone either way. Both semis were fantastic as well.
On the other side of the draw in the Women's comp, everything in the final except for the looks of the two players was pretty disappointing ;) Didn't quite live up to expectations, Sharapova was simply outclassed. For obvious reasons I've always liked seeing Sharapova win but I certainly wasn't too disappointed in seeing Azarenka win this time :p It really has been a fantastic 2 weeks though. Up until a couple of years ago never thought much of the sport but I really am genuinely gonna miss it until next year. The two weeks really flies by too quickly :thumbsd: Yet another sport which is too hard to properly follow on free-to-air :(

On another note, officially a Year 12 student as of tomorrow too :(
So your only 17? I thought u were much older

Grrr it shits me that you lucky buggers actually finish in Year 12, but I've got another year to go after this :p. At least I'll be better educated than you lot.

Though it is called Year 12 it is actually the 13th year of schooling here, as there is also Kindergarten, so we run K-12 (don't know the exact way all states run as there are differences but this is what happens in NSW).

Tassie works the same as Vic except high school stops at year 10 and we do year 11-12 at college- which is where I am.

So your only 17? I thought u were much older

Yep, only turned 17 about 3 weeks ago :)

At least you can look forward to Leavers.:cool:

F*ck yes!!!! Schoolies is going to go off, can't wait. Although I won't be 18 then so I'll have to be sneaky ;)
The way I'm looking at it is that I have three terms left to push myself as well as possible and set me up for a good future

Though it is called Year 12 it is actually the 13th year of schooling here, as there is also Kindergarten, so we run K-12 (don't know the exact way all states run as there are differences but this is what happens in NSW).

Here in SA I think you do 1.5 years of kindy (from 3.5 - 5 years old), then Reception, Years 1 - 7 (primary school) and 8 - 12 (high school). Pretty much the same as Victoria looking at Gibbsy's post

Piss off you ****.

Ha. You have a join date of June 2011, hardly enough experience to be (a) hanging shit on EFH or (b) to even have any idea why people do so.

Bif of decorum would be nice.

Ha. You have a join date of June 2011, hardly enough experience to be (a) hanging shit on EFH or (b) to even have any idea why people do so.

You don't need to be on this forum for long to know that EFH is an idiot.;)

We might be changing to the Victorian system soon too, from what I've heard.

I think they're actually trying to introduce a national education system actually, instead of all the different state variations. Would make sense too

IIRC Saints and EFH have a history together

Bloody hell, Laneway's acts are quality. Was at the seafood festival today and Laneway was going on right next to it in fenced off Silo Park, not that it stopped hundreds of people getting good viewing positions and chilling on the lawn across from the fences :rolleyes:. Last day of holidays well spent.
I'm eighteen ten days before Laneway.

Perth is not sold out. So buying them at the door (as happened in Brisbane) might actually work in my favour. If I buy a ticket, they won't ask for ID (all they want is my $130). From what I hear, buying the ticket there gets you immediate entry... so you basically waltz in without having ID checked.

An absolute shame about the clash situation in Perth. The two main attractions for me are Yuck and The Pains of Being Pure at Heart. And they clash. A truly stupid decision. Their fans are much alike and shared, so why put them on together? I'll choose the Pains, though.

Who did you hear/see?

Trust me, I think I know why and when to hang shit on him.

I think they're actually trying to introduce a national education system actually, instead of all the different state variations. Would make sense too

That is correct as far as a national syllabus goes, but if I remember correctly that is all, the actual school systems wont change.

Vic schooling system basically works like this: Pre-kinder, Kinder, Prep, Grades 1-6, Years 7-12.

Pre-kinder is totally optional though, AFAIK, and it's just another form of childcare...
BACK IN MY DAY... yawn... yeah we didn't have pre-kinder. Just regular kindergarten (1981 for me).

The only loser on here is me.

Shut up, loser...

:p :)

While everyone's doing it.

|| Kinder ( 3 y/o and 4 y/o ) || Primary School ( Prep to Grade 6 ) || High/Secondary School ( Year 7 to 12 ) ||

Small wrap up from me about the gaming marathon: We managaed to raise $6635 for charity:water from donations from 246 people, we flew through 35069 rings in Superman64, we got lots of free Nando's chicken as we got sponsored by them and we completed 10 out of 11 games. The unlucky game was Megaman.

Thanks to anyone here who may have tuned in or donated.

Small wrap up from me about the gaming marathon: We managaed to raise $6635 for charity:water from donations from 246 people, we flew through 35069 rings in Superman64, we got lots of free Nando's chicken as we got sponsored by them and we completed 10 out of 11 games. The unlucky game was Megaman.

Thanks to anyone here who may have tuned in or donated.
That's fantastic Doc!
And Megaman unlucky?... More like impossible :p

Our system is along the lines of Kindy (3-5y.o) (but my parents sent me to some arts one, damn them!) Primary School (NE through Year 6), Secondary/High School (Year 7 to Year 13). Then finally Melbourne and University!

An absolute shame about the clash situation in Perth. The two main attractions for me are Yuck and The Pains of Being Pure at Heart. And they clash. A truly stupid decision. Their fans are much alike and shared, so why put them on together? I'll choose the Pains, though.

Who did you hear/see?

My mate and I were in the area from 1 ish through to 4.30 so we heard our fair share. We basically wandered from lawn beside fence to lawn beside fence, chilled and listened to Austra, Cults, Girls, end of Glasser, buggered off to get a Gelato and a drink for 30 minutes, returned in time to see Yuck, and then headed to Queen Street to grab a bite before hopping on the ferry and heading home. Yuck was the fave, but I didn't dislike any of the performances (Austra was a really dark sound, hadn't really heard them before). Yuck and The Pains of Being Pure at Heart clashed in Auckland too. Though I've only really listened to Yuck, so it wasn't a bother for me.

Cracked up watching abbott today.

Its amazing how many delusional morons the liberals churn out. Sad thing is there's lots of delusional morons in australia and they'll probably get in :thumbsd: :(