Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

In Perth though?

i went on holidays 2 years ago 2 tassie and went into 4 op shops while there n came back with 4 jumpers.

went 2 adelaide came back with a port adeilaide magpies jumper from 3 op shops

welll worth it mate u might not get somthing 1st go but eventually u will get somthing. even ask the ppl who run it if they will keep them asif 4 u

Proud of my boys after that game I am, but that was truly the worst umpiring performance I have ever seen. Matthew Nicholls, be ashamed. After the game ended, the crowd stood as one and booed just him. Never, ever have I seen a crowd turn on one umpire like that.

Had to get that out of the way, but that was a great game to watch. We matched it with a top team, and after the rollercoaster season we've had, I;ll take it.

A question: when was the last time Sydney wore its home guernsey and white shorts?

Occasionally they used to wear the White shorts against Essendon and Brisbane when the Away team,
I remember 1999, Matthew Lloyd kicked 13 against them in White shorts.
Apart from that, I can't think of a time for quite some time.

Occasionally they used to wear the White shorts against Essendon and Brisbane when the Away team,
I remember 1999, Matthew Lloyd kicked 13 against them in White shorts.
Apart from that, I can't think of a time for quite some time.
Does the AFL consider red a light colour in Sydney's case?

No, because they also have a Whiter light uniform.
Sydney's uniform is their Dark uniform, and it is not listed as clashing with anyone, though they choose to wear their clash against Brisbane, and therefore wearing Red shorts would be correct.
If there was a rule enforcing Light shorts when Away, regardless of clash, they would have to wear them. Seems the White with Away only needs to be enforced when the Home shorts are the same (or very similar) colour.
Essendon wear White shorts on every second Anzac Day.
West Coast wear White with their Royal Blue jumpers.

seems this is the random chat thread. i was wondering what side you barracked for mero? i imagine you as a deeess supporter dunno why lol

I think that if he wanted people to know, he would have it listed...

Anyways, am going to head down to the local vinnies and see if they have anything of interest, will let you guys know how it goes...fingers crossed!!

I am an Essendon supporter.
The reason I don't list it is because I have found people tend to see posts through the perspective of "this post is from a supporter of this club" rather than an individual opinion.
For instance, I once posted that Richmond have a culture that needs to change. Less finals appearances since their most recent Grand Final than Fitzroy. (Which is true, by the way)
And replies to that varied from "fix your own club first" to "Essendon is only any good because of Sheedy, who bought Richmond's winning culture with him".
Nothing to do with what I posted, all about who I barrack for.

Alright guys, ATAR time. Five and a half weeks of school left. After that, is mocks, then the real deal.

I need to really face up and start revising. I've been abhorrently lacklustre in my study this year. I'm sitting on an ATAR of around 76 I reckon - I'd like an 80-85. UWA/La Trobe (in Melbourne) is my aim, but i'll get into Curtin easily. So wish me luck.

If anyone else is doing ATAR right now, hit me up through a PM. We can share our gut-wrenching angst together!

Here's for a Fremantle surge and a Premiership in the vein of the Crows of '98!

So, until November...

EFH, find anything at your Vinnies?

And SA, I need an 85 for my first choice. Human Movement at uniSA. Probably a... fair bit below at the moment, I'm having major procrastination issues. Fell into the trap of thinking I had more time then I did, pretty common from what I hear in year 13*

*I'm doing year 12 over two years, we have that option in SA.

I'm starting Year 11 next year, and not sure about these scores. What would be a par/average score?

80 is a pretty easy ATAR to get. There's really no par score, it all depends on you.

I think a 90 ATAR is about a 70% average across all your subjects, obviously depending on what subjects you are doing.

Pm if you need help, I'm still pretty good at this stuff.

An ATAR is a ranking, not necessarilly a score (e.g. 99 = top 1%). Therefore, it depends on how the rest of your year level go as to how you go as well. With the same results, you could get 2 completely different scores over 2 different years. Pretty confusing stuff really...
Some of the basic uni courses (such as finance) only require an ATAR of about 60 yet something as hard as medicine (what I'm hoping to get in) or engineering will require an ATAR well into the 90s (probably 97/8+). Once again, the ATAR required is not necessarilly based on the difficulty of the course but moreso the popularity of the course. These also vary every year.
I'm in year 11 at the moment and trust me SHP, you probably won't really need to worry about them too much until you begin year 12