Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Who else on here has got FIFA 12? Picked it up the day it came out with a pre-order, and I'm absolutely hooked on Ultimate Team mode. Reminds me of the days of swapping footy cards in the school yard, it works on the same basis as fantasy teams where you have to manage your players and build up your rating/coins/chemistry.

For anyone on PS3, I'm Cyclone_Gibbsy - add me
Played it at a mate's the other day, it seemed amazing.

I'll add you on PSN next time I'm on Gibbsy :thumbsu: , my name will probably be a giveaway to who I am.

And yeah I love 2k11, amazing game, not too sure if I'll have the cash for 2k12 considering I've bought two games in the past week but I will pick it up. NBA's Greatest mode will be insane.

I'll be picking up 2K12 as soon as I get my PS3 fixed. Need to replace the entire CD Drive :( Might just end up getting a new PS3

Not a fan of soccer games (or soccer in general), find them pretty boring.

Give me a 2K Basketball game any day, NBA 2K11 is the best sports game I've ever played.

I'm not a fan of games at all. My fingers and thumbs weren't designed for such things. :eek:

C'mon guys, AFL Live is where its at...
Where's the Aussie spirit? :p

C'mon guys, AFL Live is where its at...
Where's the Aussie spirit? :p

It was there a couple of months ago! Haha. Moved on from that now, to FIFA 12 obviously. I still enjoy playing it with mates, but single player can be tedious with the limited game modes. Sorta waiting until the early team lists for next year are submitted so I can create GWS.

Haha yeah, I must admit its not the greatest game around. Give it a few years though and I reckon it'll be a gem :) Been getting around it a fair bit atm in the holidays with friends and too lazy to buy anything new :eek: Not the slightest bit interested in soccer so FIFA certainly isn't on the cards at all. Played Ashes cricket 09 today actually, thats a great game :thumbsu: Thinking about getting one of the NBA games cheap (cash converters :)) soon...

Haha Crime Converters. :D Just pick one up on Ebay bro, or even have a look around the game stores in your area... 2k11 is cheap as chips now if that's what you're after.

I'm hoping there's a new cricket game that comes out this year too. International Cricket 2010 was pretty cool with the action camera angle, so hopefully there can be improvements made this year.

In my opinion, Aussie Rules football and cricket are the two hardest sports to be replicated in a video game format. Footy because it's just so fast-paced and there are so many different aspects to it, and cricket because of the subtle nuances that go unnoticed by these game developers.

Cricket is hard to have real-play simulation because of dot balls. Who wants to play a game where they have to block and not score as part of the action? May as well play for real :)

I never buy latest games because I'm not a gamer. Sometimes I will pick up an older game though, just because it's cheap and because it's likely to run on my computer (doesn't need mammoth computer specs, RAM, processor speed etc). EB Games and Harvey Norman are the best for these, also keep an eye on Target and Big W for anything reduced to clear. Can pick up games for $20 or under. HN often puts things in clearance bins, I got Euro 96 and a c.2000 NBA game from there for cheap. More recently I've bought Lego Star Wars and Lego Indiana Jones for $15-20.

Occasionally I'll play NBA Jam on MAME and let the flawed arcade logic hand my butt to me :D

Seriously, I get most of my games from Cashies these days. I used to get PSP games for $10-20 and a lot of the xbox games are under $50. I got all my controllers there too (except the one with the console) for about half the price and there's nothing at all wrong with them. Choose carefully and that place is awesome!
Always check out places like EB, Gametraders, Game, etc too as you can often get bargains there too.

I know I've brought this up on this thread before but I seriously recommend Premiership coach for the PC. Its a pretty basic manager style game (only in its 2nd edition) but I can guarantee its really addictive and loads of fun! I love playing with the GC and developing all their rookies into champions. Its only available at EB but at this time of the year you can easily pick it up for less than $30 (if you can still find it). I got mine at the end of the last school holidays for $25. If you all want something to froth over go to http://premiership-coach.info/ and read all about. There's also a thread in the video games>AFL games board

Thinking of getting premiership coach, is it a good game and do you recommend getting it??? Also tossing up undead nightmare on xbox aswell. Got a bit of cash ATM so looking to buy one of those 2 games.

Also, how much downloads does Xbox Live take up, thinking of getting it except I've got a small internet package. Getting more in December so may have to wait :(

Thinking of getting premiership coach, is it a good game and do you recommend getting it??? Also tossing up undead nightmare on xbox aswell. Got a bit of cash ATM so looking to buy one of those 2 games.

Also, how much downloads does Xbox Live take up, thinking of getting it except I've got a small internet package. Getting more in December so may have to wait :(

Yeah, if you can get a copy certainly buy PC! As I said, it'll cost you less than $30 and I personally would pay as much as $70 or $80. I play it as much or more than AFL Live on my 360. In terms of features its nothing revolutionary. Its a little bit glitchy and not exactly 'user friendly' compared to most games but I still spend hours a week on it. I was originally hesitant as I already had the 2010 version but this is a huge step up again :thumbsu:
I know my brother has undead nightmare but I haven't actually played it :eek: It looks heaps of fun and he raves about it but I just haven't got enough time at the moment. We had a free monthly trial for xbox live but I didn't actually pay too much attention to how much data it used, sorry. Maybe ask on the tech board, they'll probably be more useful :thumbsu:

Anyway guys, I'm off to a party :) I'll be back soon...

I'm sitting here and egging on PAFC for a "Hey do you wanna come for a walk?" line tonight.

I know I've brought this up on this thread before but I seriously recommend Premiership coach for the PC. Its a pretty basic manager style game (only in its 2nd edition) but I can guarantee its really addictive and loads of fun! I love playing with the GC and developing all their rookies into champions. Its only available at EB but at this time of the year you can easily pick it up for less than $30 (if you can still find it). I got mine at the end of the last school holidays for $25. If you all want something to froth over go to http://premiership-coach.info/ and read all about. There's also a thread in the video games>AFL games board

My friend has it on his computer... he likes it but I found there's one glaring problem:

No GWS.

For a game which is meant to simulate future seasons, you'd think the developers would have built it to handle 18 teams instead of 17. It's the same as the 2008 Melway which had EastLink "under construction" despite the road being due to open that very year. As soon as the year's up, it's dated because it doesn't have the latest teams.

Same friend (a Hawks fan) also showed me his ladder from a simulated 2013 season... Richmond went through almost undefeated, losing in the final round, still finishing top... then lost both the qualifying and semi finals to crash out. Part of me would rather finish 9th.