Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

If my username was like @lmach's (first letter is first letter of first name and last 4 is first four letters of surname), instead of COHL, it would be clari.

On campus accom.

I got so lucky withy my shareys, every single one is an absolute lad. All great blokes that love to party. Most nights we have a few coldies, invite a few birds over and have a kick of the Sherrin outside (well lit). We also have a TV &numerous hard drives between us.

It's bloody awesome. The downside is I've been missing my parents so much, and overall I've been very sad. I guess I'd be much worse if I had shit people in my block.
That's cool. I'm happy for you. Sounds like you lucked out, and believe me, it's extremely rare for you to find people you like that much – let alone getting along with all of them. Though, it sounds like you've knocked off a few brews already!

As for the homesickness. I can agree. It's a pretty huge milestone. You're starting the period of your life where you're no longer a kid. It's pretty big. Metaphorically, your home is everything you've always known. I changed houses a lot as a kid, as that's how my parents made a lot of their money, but I always lived in the same town and suburb-ish. Anyway, you still feel so attached and close to those things. It would be insane, queer, and wrong if you didn't feel a little sad about leaving.

You'll get over it, though. My first two or so weeks in Perth were a bit like that. Even though I'd been going to Freo every month for most of my life. It was just weird to be so removed. I was so nostalgic and homesick for my first two weeks in Melbourne. I thought about going home and looked up flights in the uni break. I wanted nothing more than to have my old man make me a cuppa every night, to have the meals he'd always cook, and to hang out with my high school mates.

But you know what? I've just filled my time in. Checked out footy grounds, walked around the inner suburbs, had some nice food, and started to meet some more people. And that's all you really need to do. I've met people who I like being around and who I think I can be myself around – that's what makes life nice. You sound like you've got that. In a month, you'll be completely fine man. You'll love living away from home. You don't want to be cocooned at home forever. You'll learn to get on with people more, and be a lot better socially (I'm not socially ******ed, and nor are you (considering you seem to mates with your houseys) than kids who live in the same town and only talk to the same few people. It seriously makes you a lot stronger of a person.

And let me guess, your mum had a cry when you left? Remember that she's excited and proud, as well as sad. It's genuinely hard to see, and I've had to experience it twice!

I still miss WA sometimes. I realise my high school mates make me laugh like no one else. I wish I could go for swims and I've found out how nice my hometown actually was, no matter how boring. So PM me.

On 1 hand peole say boarding is good then they say it sucks ik confused.
Aye, it's like everything in life. Different people have different experiences. Some days are good, some are shit. Living away from home is a really positive thing, and I don't think I'd trade it – but some of the things that make it such a good, growth experience are the things that weigh you down. It's a bad feeling when you're not living off much money or when you feel guilty about how much money you spent on a night out.

I just found out someone who used to be my best mate was accepted into the same Uni as me. He had been the closest friend I could ever imagine having since I moved to QLD when I was eight. We started to drift apart when he moved schools at the beginning of 2010. We used to see each other everyday at school and hang out every weekend. Now I'm lucky to see him once a month, if that. There's always one mate in everyones childhood who is like family, or in this case, closer than family, to me. I'm actually almost tearing up typing this (no homo). I'm hoping Uni can bring us closer.

/my emotional post for tonight

I just found out someone who used to be my best mate was accepted into the same Uni as me. He had been the closest friend I could ever imagine having since I moved to QLD when I was eight. We started to drift apart when he moved schools at the beginning of 2010. We used to see each other everyday at school and hang out every weekend. Now I'm lucky to see him once a month, if that. There's always one mate in everyones childhood who is like family, or in this case, closer than family, to me. I'm actually almost tearing up typing this (no homo). I'm hoping Uni can bring us closer.

/my emotional post for tonight
That's great news for you.

#greatsheilahsinqueensland

I've still got 3 years of school left. :mad:

You really don't appreciate what you have until it's gone.

Tonight is one of the worst nights to drink in melbourne. The heat will dehydrate u + alcohol dehydrates u = hangover tomorrow & craving water!

It's cool down here mate I don't reckon it got hotter than about 31, we got the sea breeze