Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

What do you guys think of this?

A team-dedicated thread for each of the 18 teams, plus 1 thread for each of the common expansion teams (tassie, canberra, nt, etc).

It'd be task intensive, me having to move tons of individual posts from hundreds of threads, into those team threads. But the idea would be 18+ threads in the directory, where whenever someone wants to do something for a team, they just go to the one thread. It would also keep together for display/promotion, all the millions of different ideas/designs people have done for a team.

Wouldn't affect the comp threads etc, but essentially all those 'create an afl guernsey' threads, among others, would get eventually stripped of their posts as they got moved to the team thread.

So, we'd just have 'Fremantle jumper discussion' and 'Geelong jumper discussion', as opposed to a collection of threads like '2011 Jumper discussion'? I'd much prefer having a combination of two, maybe with the 18 clubs' threads being stickied.

Mainly stripping posts from the "create an afl guernsey" thread and the like. So with a Geelong Thread, for instance, someone may want to show their own Geelong idea, or how they'd change this or that, show their ideas for clash, away, home. The 2011 Jumper threads would still exist and center on discussions about the official guernseys as they are.

Basically, the team threads are to pool together all the images/discussion people do which are their own ideas for guernseys. Eg, say a Port Adelaide official came to this board, he could click thru the Power thread to see all the ideas people did for a guernsey.

I'm against it, currently if a big deals made about a clubs guernseys (WCE, Bombers clash) then a thread gets made, otherwise the posts are in the 2012 thread.

Both work well, IMO, instead of having 18 threads where probably 12+ rarely get posted in.

Also unlike a team board people here are interested in designs about every team, and no one wants to look through 18 different threads

If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Admin approval/screening involved.
Plus, board traffic/hassle to justify a second.
You know the story, Gibbsy with you.
All I can do is ask the 18+ agers who wants to be #2? Who can be on often, especially day/afternoon when I'm not around.
Getting a short-list, for admin to screen/choose. They may not choose at all.

A team-dedicated thread for each of the 18 teams, plus 1 thread for each of the common expansion teams (tassie, canberra, nt, etc).

Wouldn't affect the comp threads etc, but essentially all those 'create an afl guernsey' threads, among others, would get eventually stripped of their posts as they got moved to the team thread.

Great idea :thumbsu:
Might be a lot of work, but it'll be a one-off, not constant.
There needs to be something for non-AFL-club designs too... a generic "Create-a-jumper" thread for the newbies. But something for designs for existing clubs, has a huge amount of merit.

I'll also offer to be a #2 or #3 mod. I'm on fairly regularly (i.e. daily) and can pitch in with some of the more mundane moderator tasks.

I'll throw my hand up for a moderator spot if needed.

Also, off topic, but here's the first promo video for my charity Mario Marathon at the end of the fortnight. Spread it round, tell your friends and hope you guys come watch :)

[youtube]d1tbzwdu_78[/youtube]

Will collingwood wear their clash jumper on saturday?
They wore it vs Carlton in NAB Cup but they also wore their clash jumper against the bombers in the NAB Cup final and didn't wear it on ANZAC Day.

I'm also willing to put my hand up for mod if another one is appointed, now that I'm back from hols, I'm usually on daily (and sometimes more often). Though there's probably a few of us who could do a good job.

Holy shit. That derby was the most exciting finish I've seen in ages. For those in Melbourne who don't have Foxtel or just didn't watch, basically the Eagles were up by 4 goals with 8 minutes left.

Somehow the Dockers snatched all the momentum and had it down to two points to go with a couple of minutes left. By this point I was shaking as I needed the Eagles to win to get 8/8 tips (you may not know how monumental this is but I have been tipping for 12 years and I have only ever tipped 8 once, which was last year. Amazing).

So West Coast are trying to hold on, and then the ball travels to the wing with 30 secs left. Mzungu has the ball with 11 secs left and he just needs to bomb long and hope for a mark inside 50. There is a contest, and some Eagles player (could have been Rosa maybe) belts the ball out of bounds with the clock running down.

This umpire has the most balls I have ever seen and he calls deliberate! My heart was racing here :p Ballantyne as the shot 55 out on the left half forward flank, pushed hard right up against the boundary (think Fev vs Crows circa 2004).

Siren has gone. Didn't think there was any chance that he could make the distance at all. Anyway he sizes it up, lets fly and struck it beautifully off the boot. It looked like it was online and I was shitting myself, but in the end it hits the top of the padding on the post along with a Naitanui fingertip.

Funnily enough Balla thought he had won the thing :D Felt a bit sorry for him after the game as he looked like he was about to burst into tears. Really couldn't do much more though, gave it his best shot.

So all of that just for a free Whopper voucher!! This one will be tasty :):thumbsu:

Thrilling finish. Felt for Ballantyne pretty badly at the end, I actually don't hate him as much as the rest of the footy public. Was barracking for Freo as well, would've been a much better result for the Hawks, just to couple with our win today.

Thrilling finish. Felt for Ballantyne pretty badly at the end, I actually don't hate him as much as the rest of the footy public.

I'm with you here. I'd love him at the Pies. Just a good aggressive player who doesn't mind stirring other players.

I am so proud to be a Docker.

I always am. I love the spirit of our club, I love the normality of our supporters, I love the city of Fremantle, and I love our loyalty - honestly, 44,000 members for a club that's not even made the finals five times? I also despise the Eagles. I think this little design forum here is the only place where I respect West Coast fans (who I don't actually know). Call it barbaric, it probably is, i'm jus' sayin'.

I wanted nothing more than to smash West Coast today.

That come back was brilliant. The Eagles couldn't have come back from that. I thought it was out of the question for us to come back and win, but we did it. We pulled back three goals and we kept pressing. Things went against us. Kicks were sprayed and holding the balls paid. That goal-mouth scramble... my heart was between my teeth. I haven't sat up so much in so long. I spotted Mainey's wirey hair in the corner of the screen. The Sherrin glossed in the half-light of Subi. I could see it spinning in, thudding against the ads that were awash with yellow and blue bloody pom-poms. It didn't happen.

But it seemed it didn't need to happen. Deliberate out of bounds? Contentious, indeed, but a decision that could go either way... and it went our way. I wouldn't have any other footballer in that pocket. Ballas against those pricks? I laughed when Adam McPhee lined up. What would he have to say? You're useless McPhee. (go to a Fremantle game when McPhee's playing...). It was wonderful though. He lined up and he sucked in and you could tell he was going to slot it. You felt it was right, it was Fremantle's night. He ran up and I caught a girl, chevrons adorned on her chest, pretty cute, with her hands together... every Freo fan was like that. He kicked it and it looked wonderful off the boot. My dad and I jumped up, my uncle from Melbourne was over, and he too felt the joy (he's a Freo fan as well). But it hit the post. Lost in the patch of purple and white. It was weird. Crowls was fist pumping, so I was a little confused.

I'm not awfully aggravated. We tried our hearts out. We came back from 22 points (obviously, for that game, it was a huge margin). Every bloke on that ground should be proud, man. It was a great game. Props to West Coast for their competitiveness.

But it doesn't matter. I'm confident a top six finish is definitely possible. We'll get there. Worst case scenario, right now, seems like a top 8 - our first back to back finals appearance isn't so bad for a season ravaged by injury. We'll be alright.

It's sour to blame injuries and umpires, but they really cost us. Umpiring decisions weren't really bias, i'd say they were inconsistent and plain bad, for both sides. But hey, I can't complain. This club made me immensely proud today.

It was a great game but I think it was so close because of our poor goal kicking, 8.17 is just not on.

At the end I thought I was going to have a heart attack, that deliberate shouldn't of been paid IMO, but who knows what the umps are going to pay/not pay these days.

How many points were rushed behinds, though? Low scoring games, like that one, always have a high level of scrapped/pushed behinds.

I am so proud to be a Docker.

Really great post mate. Would rep you if BF had that feature.
As for the cute girl... if the Dockers got up you should have just ran over and given her a big hug. And make up something about forgetting your phone number and asking for hers instead :D;)

Also, do we have more Eagles supporters on here than any other team?