Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

If memory serves me correctly, last year Hawthorn wore their clash jumper against Carlton. Does anyone know if they'll be doing the same tonight?

Hopefully not, absolutely no need to :thumbsdown:
Think they only try to wear it interstate now anyway

Yeah, I don't get drunk so much either. I feel pretty cautious about the whole culture. Still, my high school is having our ball this weekend. I'm not going to the ball itself, but I am going to the ball - which will be genuinely wonderful. It's going to be my first and last time talking to some kids, and my last shot at getting drunks with the people I've considered 'friends' for five (plus) years.

say wut.

Haha, was thinking the same when he posted it. Think he meant to say he's going to the afterparty :confused: Doubt that he would be allowed to get paro at a school event, especially considering not everyone is 18 yet

Cool to see another couple of people that are going to be doing a Journalism course here. Career path fellas?? Where do you want to end up?

Something tied in with planning, particularly transport planning. Don't know if you ocker boys will understand the lingo I'm about to use, but I gained enough credits to pass NCEA with Merit in June (effectively I wouldn't have to turn up for the rest of the year), am about five away from excellence with finals to come. Top geography student in year level with my mate, so thats quite an honour, do well at economics (school has one of the top economics departments in country, one of the teachers is the writer of the nationally used textbook :D), and history. Really have no time for maths, aspects of physics I'm good at and English can be shit boring. Basically I'm lining up uni in Melbourne, will probably live on my family's couch there for the first year :p.

Fremantle Oval. IMO it's a reason why they havent had the same dominance at Subi as the Eagles, it's a pretty different ground and not pretty when the wind gets up.
Pretty much my favourite ground in Western Australia, though. I adore the old grandstand. Geographically, it's just a wonderful place. Especially just sitting there on a warm hazy Saturday on the embankment, watching South. I've always dreamed about one AFL game being played their a season. It's never going to happen, but it'd be electrifying. I had a dream about it once... but is there anything more tedious than listening to the dream of another?

Would anyone here have any idea how the AFL could overlook John Butcher or Tutt as this weeks Rising Star Nominee? Couldn't believe it when I found out Fasolo won the nomination, just shows how much the AFL love Collingwood and how underrated interstate players are :rolleyes: To be fair, Fasolo also deserved a nomination for his efforts this season but how can you seriously overlook a bloke who kicked 6.0 in his 2nd AFL Game?!?!?!?!?!?!? Tutt also kicked 4 and had 26 disposals which would also be a fair nomination. Fasolo's performance was solid but probably not nomination material compared to the other 2. I really do hate the AFL, John Butcher is still my nominee for his performance :heart:

Because they're trying to back-date their nominations for guys who hadn't won nominations earlier in the year. The fact is that guys who debut in the last 3 or 4 weeks of the season won't win it anyway.

But the round-by-round nomination system doesn't really work IMO. If they're going to do that, then they should nominate the rising star who performs the best in that week, and whoever wins the most weekly awards is the yearly winner (ie. Heppell and Shuey might win 4 weeks each for the year, thereby being joint winners).

Hmmm... its a bit of a silly award really. I presumed that had something to do with it as well. Oh well, Butch should still be eligible next year I think so 2012 NAB Rising Star winner ;)
That's a better suggestion as well. But I think part of the idea of the Rising Star Award is that it helps boost the confidence of younger players and build their reputation up. Therefore, they want to nominate as many different players as possible, to do this to. I think each nominee gets some bank account or finance plan from NAB or something as well, so they would probably wnat to distribute this evenly as well??

You could be right about the nominee's prize, I'm not sure. It's still a flawed system though! And how much more confidence-boosting could it be than your team giving you their faith in selecting you? :)

Butcher should be eligible next year, assuming his age falls within the bracket.

You could be right about the nominee's prize, I'm not sure. It's still a flawed system though! And how much more confidence-boosting could it be than your team giving you their faith in selecting you? :)

Butcher should be eligible next year, assuming his age falls within the bracket.

Yeah, I'm pretty sure NAB give them all something but I'm not 100% sure. But yes, I think this week is a perfect example of why it's flawed. The two players I mentioned were far more deserving on the 'weekly nomination' concept which they are supposed to follow :rolleyes: Yeah, its not a massive confidence booster but to be recognised by the AFL itself would also feel pretty special.
In regard to Butcher's age, that was my only concern. I'm not sure what the cutoff age is, but iirc he might be turning 21 next year. He definitely will have played less than 10 games though

Rising Star nominations are a bit of a farce. Wouldn't pay too much attention to them. They don't reward great performances in a single match, rather an average performance after a few weeks of consistency. There simply aren't enough weeks for all these gun young players.

EDIT: Just saw PAFC's post on how much the AFL love Collingwood. Maybe in some circumstances. But as a club we will never let go of the fact that not a single player was listed in the AFL's Team of the Century. How that works I'll never know. Nuts Coventry, the all time leading goalkicker at that stage, didn't even get a mention.

Butcher should still be eligible, turns 21 in July. When's the cut off date?

6 characters.
Every round, an Australian Football League rising star nomination is given to a standout young player. To be eligible to be nominated for the award, a player must be younger than 21 years of age on January 1 of the award year and have played 10 or fewer senior games before the beginning of the season. A player who is suspended during the season is not eligible to win the award, however is still eligible for nomination.

Butcher should still be eligible, turns 21 in July. When's the cut off date?

Cool, cheers to you and Willo for clearing that all up for me :):thumbsu: I'm a much happier man now

Rising Star nominations are a bit of a farce. Wouldn't pay too much attention to them. They don't reward great performances in a single match, rather an average performance after a few weeks of consistency. There simply aren't enough weeks for all these gun young players.

EDIT: Just saw PAFC's post on how much the AFL love Collingwood. Maybe in some circumstances. But as a club we will never let go of the fact that not a single player was listed in the AFL's Team of the Century. How that works I'll never know. Nuts Coventry, the all time leading goalkicker at that stage, didn't even get a mention.

Yeah, I know, its a bit of an abuse of the system. As I said, clearly either Butch or Tutt had a better weekly performance than Fasolo's (which don't get me wrong, was still very good). Tbh, Fasolo also deserves a nomination and is probably more likely to win the award considering he has played a lot more footy. I agree that it would be unfair to award Butch the award after maybe only 3 or 4 games for the season anyway. I'm not saying that he was robbed of his chances of winning the award, but just the recognition I thought he deserved for that awesome performance.
I think everyone knows that the AFL do make some 'special rules' for Collingwood though, hence why so many people dislike them. Eddy is as much a reason as any why I hate the club, he just seems to stick his nose into too much of other people's business and just demands things to be done. I just don't like how every year Collingwood only have to travel interstate 3 or 4 times, compared to a lot of other clubs (particularly WC and Freo) having to do this every 2nd week :rolleyes: We all know that the AFL made plenty of compromises on the Collingwood guernsey issue (and still to an extent do) for years as well (i.e port wearing TRAINING jumpers in 03). Also Eddy kicking up a fuss about us not being allowed to wear the prison bars in the Heritage Rounds sh#tted me off really bad. Anyway, I'm not really in the mood for another heated debate. Port and Collingwood supporters are supposed to hate each other ;)
I must admit though, your team of the century point is pretty valid. It probably is pretty unfair but then again so are a lot of the things the AFL do. The AA team always has controversial decisions as well. For example, I'm still not sure whether Scott Thompson will make the team this year, just because he isn't recognised as much being at an interstate club. As much as I hate the crows, I enjoy watching this guy play and his season has been simply awesome. 51 disposals last week highlights his efforts but even just looking at his stats he isnt that far behind the likes of Swan and Ablett. Another one being, that Daniel Wells is being talked about as a contender but someone compared his stats to Danyle Pearce's on the port board and they weren't that much different. Pearce hasn't had a great season, yet Wells is being overrated because he is a Victorian club player. I think the competition needs to really work on becoming less Victorian-orientated, even though it will be a massive task

A bit offtopic but very, very, very relieved (and somewhat surprised :eek:) to see that big Jackson Trengove has finally signed a new long term deal with us. It seems that a lot of players a keen to stick with us and I just hope the club starts rewarding them for this. Reports are that once one or two sign on, the reset should follow :D

Don't worry about going off topic it's an RDT. But yeah, good to see that Trengove has re-signed. The club needs some good news.

I forgot to mention that the training jumper was actually worn in 2002, not 2003 - a small inaccuracy on Mero's site

Don't worry about going off topic it's an RDT. But yeah, good to see that Trengove has re-signed. The club needs some good news.

I forgot to mention that the training jumper was actually worn in 2002, not 2003 - a small inaccuracy on Mero's site

Haha, yeah I guess you can't go offtopic :p
It really is about time something good happened to us this season. Its but nothing but a disaster this season and to see the players showing faith is a positive sign that things are on the up. Don't underestimate us too much, we've got some good talent coming through and with a couple of good years of drafting I think we have the ability to craft a very nice looking team. Sure we have a few hacks at the moment, but names like Boak, Gray, Trengove, Hartlett, Jacobs, Pittard, Butcher :)heart:), Lobbe, Moore and even blokes like Carlile, Pearce and Chaplin begin to excite me in what they have the potential to do in a winning environment :cool: Sure its gonna be a few hard years yet, but as a club member I know the good times will come soon...

The problem is that SA football's picked the worst time to bottom out possible with GC and GWS. I have faith that both clubs will get back up, but in Port's case it would probably take longer then usual because of the new clubs.