Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Yeah, it will be delayed slightly but I'm still not sure that its gonna be quite as bad as everyone says. If we're that bad we'll still get the #1 pick next year and realistically how much different is a #4 pick to a #1 pick anyway? The draft really is a bit of a lucky dip and quite often lower picks turn out better than the #1 pick anyway.

2004 National Draft:

#1 - B.Deledio
#5 - L.Franklin

Even though Buddy was picked later in the draft, 99% of people would rate him better than Deledio (who is still a gun btw)

Then you look at #4, R.Tambling who was traded by the tigers because he was no longer required.

Yeah, it will be delayed slightly but I'm still not sure that its gonna be quite as bad as everyone says. If we're that bad we'll still get the #1 pick next year and realistically how much different is a #4 pick to a #1 pick anyway? The draft really is a bit of a lucky dip and quite often lower picks turn out better than the #1 pick anyway.

2004 National Draft:

#1 - B.Deledio
#5 - L.Franklin

Even though Buddy was picked later in the draft, 99% of people would rate him better than Deledio (who is still a gun btw)

Then you look at #4, R.Tambling who was traded by the tigers because he was no longer required.
Brilliant move on our behalf, Buddy could have easily been picked up at pick 3 for us, but if we had done that, we wouldn't have been able to pick up Roughy at 5 (Richmond rated Rough and Tambling over Franklin).

But even we have had some massive draft bloopers. We picked up Tassie kid Mitch Thorp at pick 6 in 2006 ahead of Joel Selwood (Pick 7). Mitch played 2 games at Hawthorn, he had a bad disciplinary record and was delisted at the end of 2009. Selwood on the other hand...

All true of course. You look at a player like Rory Sloane for us, who slipped through one draft, came to us at Pick 44 in his second year of eligibility, and is now looking like a future captain at only 30 games of experience. Then compare that to James Sellar, who was our first round pick in 2006, and has done shit all.

Yeah, it was an awesome draft for the Hawks!!! Pulled it off really well. Everyone makes mistakes in the draft though. As I said, a lot of it is luck. Can't be bothered doing any research right now but some of the selections we have made have been fizzers compared to who we could've got :/ One who I'm not too sure of at the moment is Andrew Moore, hasn't really had much of an impact yet. I just get the feeling that pick 9 may have been a tad generous when we could have had a Fyfe, Melksham or Gysberts.

Always had a soft spot for the Hawks, love the way they go about their footy. So many stars that I love including Buddy, Rough, Mitchell, Hodge, Rioli, Burgoyne, etc. Also a lot of ex-port players in there ;) Have been my 'finals team' since about 08, since port have started missing them, and will be again this year.

EDIT: WOW, SELLAR IS THE BIGGEST HACK ON AN AFL LIST :/

Shane Savage= Pick #75 2008 Draft
Liam Shiels= Pick #34 2008 Draft

Both were such steals. Guns.

Hey hey PAFC, Sellar's not Danny Meyer ;)

Yeah Danny Meyer's a joke too and should never have been promoted. Did f*ck all last year when Primus played him and never deserved to be upgraded :rolleyes:
The difference is: Adelaide gave up a 1st round pick for Sellar, Port picked Meyer up with pick #20 in the rookie draft.
Just quietly though, Richmond have made some TERRIBLE draft decisions over the years!!! They were the ones who wasted a 1st round pick on him and Tambling!!!!
Can't for the life of me work out why Adelaide gave up their 1st rd compo pick for that old 1st rd hack either. Especially when Craig declared him as 'not in our best 22' at the start of the season :rolleyes:

The Rising Star Award is finished for this year already.
Heppell from Essendon will win it pretty easily.

PS That is not a comment on Dyson Heppell, the other nominees, or those who have not been nominated, more a comment on the system in general.
n742623059_2075308_3146.jpg

Would love to see him win it, deserves it to.

I'm still holding out judgement on Tambling. Hasn't had a full preseason yet, and has been shuffled around a fair bit this year. Next year we should see if it was worth it or not.

As for Sellar, we still got a bit of use out of him as a backup. Meyer's just plain terrible :P
But let's not turn this into a shitfight, those belong in the Bay.

I'm still holding out judgement on Tambling. Hasn't had a full preseason yet, and has been shuffled around a fair bit this year. Next year we should see if it was worth it or not.

As for Sellar, we still got a bit of use out of him as a backup. Meyer's just plain terrible :P
But let's not turn this into a shitfight, those belong in the Bay.

Yeah, Meyer's a joke!!! Still though, Tambling for a 2nd rd pick I could understand, but I can't get my head around a 1st rd pick. Thats what he was originally seen as, but 7 years into his career have certainly proved otherwise (remember he is injury-prone as well). Seriously, I can't see him being as good as the likes of Selwood, Franklin, D. Thomas or Butcher (;)), which potentially is what you could very easily have given away for him.
Or perhaps look at it this way. Forget that the GC or GWS actually exist. Bock seems happy enough at the crows and is playing some good footy but it appears that the struggling tigers are after him to fill a big hole and act as a mentor to the younger blokes. They offer Tambling, who can't make their bottom 4 side, as a straight swap for Bock, a former B&F winner. What would you think then? That is essentially what happened ;)

By the way, I'm not getting stuck into you or anything, just trying to show you things from a different/outsiders perspective :thumbsu: I'm certainly not trying to turn it into a 'shitfight' anyway, as you said they belong in the Bay :p

Or perhaps look at it this way. Forget that the GC or GWS actually exist. Bock seems happy enough at the crows and is playing some good footy but it appears that the struggling tigers are after him to fill a big hole and act as a mentor to the younger blokes. They offer Tambling, who can't make their bottom 4 side, as a straight swap for Bock, a former B&F winner. What would you think then? That is essentially what happened ;)

By the way, I'm not getting stuck into you or anything, just trying to show you things from a different/outsiders perspective :thumbsu: I'm certainly not trying to turn it into a 'shitfight' anyway, as you said they belong in the Bay :p

Wouldn't mind, because GWS don't exist we'd still have Davi$.:p Also from reports out of the club, Tambling's been great off the field, helping do what McLeod used to do with the indiginous community.

All good mate, I'm just being weary of the potential for this to escalate given the whole Port/Crows rivallry. You've bought some good debate and a different point of view to this board though mate since joining, which is always good to have. :thumbsu:

Haha, I know where you're coming from. No point arguing about football decisions at the moment though judging by our current ladder position :p
Thanks a lot, its good to know that people appreciate my opinions and they're not just coming along as utter bullsh*t :) I've received a few of these comments and it really is encouraging :thumbsu:

On another note, I actually hate BigFooty. It takes up too much of my time now and keeps me up too late at night :p I've really gotta get to bed now ;)

Shane Savage= Pick #75 2008 Draft
Liam Shiels= Pick #34 2008 Draft

Both were such steals. Guns.

Truth. Savage has taken a little while to come on, but has become a handy player. Hope he can squeeze back in before the finals. Shiels I predicted would be a gun back in 2009, and he's proved me right.

Stratton was picked at #46 in 2009 as well, hopefully he's able to get back in the side for finals as well, as long as he's fit.

And Suckling and Bruest were picked up as rookies, we have a very good history with the rookie list at Hawthorn. Sewell, Osborne, Young, Gilham (and Benny McGlynn :( ) were all drafted as rookies.

Got my predicted ATAR today:

67.87%

Absolutely gutted. Was realistically hoping for a push toward 80, expecting a mid 70's. Philosophy gets scaled down 15%, which ruined my average - and with that average, I would've been getting close to, if not, 80's.

Anyone do Philosophy last year? What was your scaling like?

Never heard of Philosophy, I don't even know if they offer it in SACE. I picked my year 12 subjects probably about 6 weeks ago. Chemistry, Physics, Maths Studies and Tourism. In SACE we also have to do some stupid thing called the 'research project' for a semester so obviously I'm doing that as well. 2 lines of frees next year, YES!!!!!!!! :D

67.87%

Absolutely gutted. Was realistically hoping for a push toward 80, expecting a mid 70's. Philosophy gets scaled down 15%, which ruined my average - and with that average, I would've been getting close to, if not, 80's.

What subjects are you doing?

67.87%

Are you sure thats the ATAR you are predicting? And how was it done?

It's supposed to be a percentile, not a percent... and AFAIK the increments are 0.05 eg 67.85

Just talking to someone from my school on tumblr.

Apparently, our school deliberately lower our predicted ATAR. Some absurd tool for motivation. That does make sense. Why else would Philosophy be scaled by 15? That's like lowering some other subject like Geography or History by 15. And I mean... doesn't an ATAR of 67 equal an average of around 50? I'm certainly higher than that.

Philosophy - 60
History - 55
Economics - 50
English - 75

These are slightly conservative marks, if anything. I think Philosophy is actually higher, and English is definitely higher.

1) English at UWA
2) Journalism at Curtin
3) English and Writing at Murdoch

And La Trobe is my number one preference in Victoria.

Pffffffffft. University:cool:

Oh well, you work your arse of as a tradie while I'll get paid 5x as much just for sitting in an office all day doing my dream team ;)

Oh well, you go **** yourself over every day whilst working your arse of as a tradie while I'll get paid 5x as much just for sitting in an office all day doing my dream team ;)

That's not very nice.
I hope you get carpel tunnel doing ya dream team and have constant back problems, working in the same four walls all your life while I travel the countryside and have a different work location every day.

Two can play at that game smart arse;):cool::D

And for the record. I do my super coach when there's free time at work by sitting at the beach on nice days watching bikini clad women strut their stuff.

So. :thumbsu: