Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Yeah so you can stop going on about Dave Warner. Relying on a Twenty20 cricketer for runs is a indictment on Australia's (mis)fortunes on the world stage.

Australia are getting absolutely ripped. So many wickets falling.

So good to see that arrogant, over-confident urchin Clarke looking forlorn from the rooms. It is good seeing this collective of arrogant, private schooled pricks lose.

I hope India get all over Australia -- and I'm sure they will. Australia aren't a good enough cricketing nation to combat the Indian's. It's going to be an ugly summer for Australian cricket.

Good to see that you have so much faith in your country. I'd be really happy if the Aussies could pick up at least one win in the series against India, and it would be great if we could avoid a whitewash.

Silent Alarm, the summer still has the ODI tri-series with India and Sri Lanka, and Australia are still ranked 1st in the world for ODIs.

Yeah so you can stop going on about Dave Warner. Relying on a Twenty20 cricketer for runs is a indictment on Australia's (mis)fortunes on the world stage.

Australia are getting absolutely ripped. So many wickets falling.

So good to see that arrogant, over-confident urchin Clarke looking forlorn from the rooms. It is good seeing this collective of arrogant, private schooled pricks lose.

I hope India get all over Australia -- and I'm sure they will. Australia aren't a good enough cricketing nation to combat the Indian's. It's going to be an ugly summer for Australian cricket.

You said this a few pages back when PAFC mentioned how he doesn't like soccer. I think it fits this situation pretty well.

Dude, chill out and let those who enjoy it discuss it. This input is just destructive and not needed.

WWWWWWOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

That was probably the greatest test between Australia and New Zealand ever. It had everything, and we came out on top! Never in my lifetime had we won, and what a way to do it. Suffer you lot, suffer :p:D!

Far out, that was disappointing. The match doesn't start on TV here until 3.30 so I had to watch it on Crictime.com. And I really underestimated Warner, that was an absolute champion knock.

And nah, not really Harps. Not a big fisherman.

Dave Warner, James Pattinson and Nathan Lyon are the only players who can hold their heads high after that. The rest should be ashamed.
Siddle kept us in the match for the first two innings. I had him down for man of the match this morning if we had won.

Edgbaston '05. Just couldn't stop drawing the comparisons during that, although this time we had a decent batsmen in. Lucky to get where we were.

The one good moment was Ian Smith almost crying when the LBW decision was overturned, and before that complaining that it spoilt the moment.

WWWWWWOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

That was probably the greatest test between Australia and New Zealand ever. It had everything, and we came out on top! Never in my lifetime had we won, and what a way to do it. Suffer you lot, suffer :p:D!

I don't get why NZ are celebrating so much. They won one test match, and the series still resulted in a draw? Also, if you're celebrating that you haven't won a test on Aussie soil for a few decades, aren't you just celebrating how terrible you guys really are?

I assume you said similar about Adam gilchrist when he played?

Just at Hobart, couldn't make it to the match today. But they don't start the Bellerive matches on TV here until 3.30. Sort of makes more people go to the match, if they can't watch it on TV.

I don't get why NZ are celebrating so much. They won one test match, and the series still resulted in a draw? Also, if you're celebrating that you haven't won a test on Aussie soil for a few decades, aren't you just celebrating how terrible you guys really are?

Pretty petty thing to say mate. After being so crap in Brisbane and being totally written off after Day 1, the Kiwi boys hung tough and dug out a result in the most exciting way possible. You try not winning a test against your greatest rival for 19 years. Imagine how much celebration would be going on if Australia hadn't beaten England in a SINGLE test for 19 years.....

Just at Hobart, couldn't make it to the match today. But they don't start the Bellerive matches on TV here until 3.30. Sort of makes more people go to the match, if they can't watch it on TV.

Haha that's sly:D

You said this a few pages back when PAFC mentioned how he doesn't like soccer. I think it fits this situation pretty well.
The "you can stop talking" was in jest. It was not a serious attempt to derail a conversation. The implication was that Warner's century is, or was, overblown. Especially when Australia had just lost three wickets fairly fast.

Good to see that you have so much faith in your country. I'd be really happy if the Aussies could pick up at least one win in the series against India, and it would be great if we could avoid a whitewash.

Silent Alarm, the summer still has the ODI tri-series with India and Sri Lanka, and Australia are still ranked 1st in the world for ODIs.
Are you actually sincere?

Not to belittle you, but that is an appalling assumption. Not liking a national sports team does not translate to having no faith in my country. How many millions of Australian people dislike cricket? I'm sure a majority of that cross-section also enjoy Australia and "have faith" in it. Why do I have to like a sports team to be Australian? I don't like Richmond as a footy club, yet I adore the suburb. They are not mutually dependent.

I assume you said similar about Adam gilchrist when he played?
Your assumption is incorrect -- I never said that. I don't care much for cricket, and I certainly can't remember how Gilchrist was installed into the test side.

Does anyone really care about ODI's (apart from the world cup) anymore. Everyone knows that series is just cash cow for the CA because of the Indians.

Still for the life of me cannot understand how someone can dislike a national team. I'm with SHP that it is almost quite disrespectful. You don't have to follow or support them but to support against them is wrong imo. Hoping Australia lose the cricket is really no different to supporting against us in the Olympics and I can guarantee you couldn't bring yourself to do that. You don't have to watch the cricket or get behind us but how can you support against us? If you really do hate us, just keep it to yourself its not something to be proud of and go boasting around. You all know that I don't like soccer and will be lucky to watch 5 minutes of the world cup but I still don't go around supporting England or the USA or something. I still would prefer us to win over anyone else but just aren't all that bothered if we lose

I follow Australia in every sport ;)

Disappointing loss. Siddle, Warner, Patto and Lyon were the only good players from our team all game. Starc needs some more time in First-Class cricket as well as Hughes.

IN: Cutting/Cummins, Watson/Cowan/Marsh
OUT: Starc, Hughes

I particularly can't stand the All Blacks and their bogan supporters so I'll back anyone playing against them..

If there's something you can't stand about a particular element associated with a team, I don't see anything wrong with disliking them (if I did I would be a hypocrite anyway) or expressing dislike for them (seeing thats what message boards are all about, opinion?). Sure, SA could remain neutral but he chooses not to, which is fine. Who are you to shoot him down for it? No-one chooses their country of birth, just like no-one chooses their relatives.

On the bright side, I haven't seen the term "un-Australian" used when referring to him, so that speaks well of the intelligence of the board, at least.

And Cutting is unlikely to be fit until late in the series. Hazelwood may come in, but I think Starc will be safe for now.

In the Olympics, I follow Greece and Australia. So? I follow them the same in any sports, unless they play eachother, I go for Greece.

Yeah but you've got Greek family and heritage, right? That's a bit different and is certainly understandable. I apologise somewhat to SA if he has family from another cricketing nation too and prefers them, however I just don't understand 'hating' a national side

If there's something you can't stand about a particular element associated with a team, I don't see anything wrong with disliking them (if I did I would be a hypocrite anyway) or expressing dislike for them (seeing thats what message boards are all about, opinion?). Sure, SA could remain neutral but he chooses not to, which is fine. Who are you to shoot him down for it? No-one chooses their country of birth, just like no-one chooses their relatives.
This, especially the last sentence.

Just because your born in that country doesn't mean you can't think that there is something wrong with their team.

I think the wallabies (as well as the rest of the ARU) are a bunch of private school w***ers. Call me un australian, it's just my opinion.