Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Oh god.

This is what you call 'twelve year old logic'.
I don't see how that's twelve year old logic, but I dont really care. I just want to talk about sport.

I also don't see the need for rudeness on an Internet forum mate, I was just stating my opinion.

Anyway, I don't see how soccer is more interesting. I have watched heaps of soccer games and I used to play it. The only interesting bits are when one team is making a serious attempt at goal. And I dot just mean the goals themselves, I also mean the build up play and aggressive defending. Unfortunately this usually doesn't happen much in your average game, making it, in my opinion, a pretty boring sport.
Rugby on the other hand is always build up play and attacking attempts.

A bit of footy controversy in the USAFL. Apparently a member of the Central Districts Bulldogs came over and played with the Dallas Magpies, helping them to win the Division I championship. (Yes, even Aussies here call the grand finals, "championships".)

Only problem is, Jason Sutherland was ineligible to play for Dallas under USAFL rules.

(Sorry, in a hurry and didn't grab this from the video, but rather from a screen shot of the raw video I shot, so poor quality, but here's Jason warming up with Dallas.)

Forfeit. Win vacated. Yes, we have no Division I champ this year. :(

http://www.usafl.com/news/2012/10/30/2012-division-one-championship-vacated
It's what the dog gets.

I don't see how that's twelve year old logic, but I dont really care. I just want to talk about sport.

I also don't see the need for rudeness on an Internet forum mate, I was just stating my opinion.

Anyway, I don't see how soccer is more interesting. I have watched heaps of soccer games and I used to play it. The only interesting bits are when one team is making a serious attempt at goal. And I dot just mean the goals themselves, I also mean the build up play and aggressive defending. Unfortunately this usually doesn't happen much in your average game, making it, in my opinion, a pretty boring sport.
Rugby is full of men who were once fat kids with no skill or hand-eye coordination.

I am batman. :confused:
That's exactly the point. You don't get it.
When they keep the ball in their half, they ARE building and setting up a plan of attack at that moment. But of course you wouldn't get that.
You've played? Surely you must've been striker to not get this. I've played as well. I was goalie for most of my time playing. I've seen this, and seen the defenders look for a player to either bomb it long or pass it to a midfielder so they can make the pass. Once I as the goalie smashed the opposition's through ball to a striker for him to put away.

Another thing, you have to be an athlete to play soccer, whereas in Rugby, some fat bugger wearing a headband can still be in the team. How the hell can they bend down to pick up the ball :eek:
Oh and while we're at it. This is the real football. Not rugby. In rugby, you don't even use your feet!!
And why is soccer called "The World Game"? Because every country plays it.
I rest my case.

Another thing, you have to be an athlete to play soccer, whereas in Rugby, some fat bugger wearing a headband can still be in the team. How the hell can they bend down to pick up the ball :eek:

fat-mats-magnusson.jpg

Since we're talking about which sports are better (all in my opinion of course):

Aussie Rules > Test + One Day Cricket (the real forms of cricket) > Football (or "soccer")
They are the three main sports I follow. Daylight between these three sports and the next ones

Basketball > Twenty20 Cricket (not real cricket) > Rugby League
Watch a bit every now and then.

Hockey (field) > Swimming > Rugby Union > Rowing > International Rules > American Football > Tennis
Watch once in a blue moon.

Golf > Baseball > Motor/bike racing > Horse racing > Equestrian
Not a fan.

I just googled fat soccer player and posted the first image that came up. I thought there was a fair chance it was a charity game but I thought it was funny anyway.