Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Come on m8 you're using anything above the standard pair of 20 buck earbuds then the difference between 192 and a lossless rip is easily noticable.
192 is basically the watershed point, but at 320 you'd be stumped to pick the MP3 in something like an ABX test. 192 you'd probably just be able to pick out.

I find that the audio is more tinny and the quality fades at a higher volume when dealing with sub 256 sort of level files and VBR torrents.

No disagreement there mate, the extreme high frequencies and extreme low frequencies are the first thing the MP3 encoding process will get rid of

So there is a bloody discernible difference rabbitoooooooooooh

What 'phones do you have?
My best set of headphones are Shure SRH440's, pieces of crap. Tinny to all buggery, no low and poorly made. Bought them 4 years ago haha when I bought the majority of my gear. Not too bad for streaming listening though haha

Yeah? I think I came across them when I was looking for a pair to get a few years ago. I settled on some Alessandro MS1s, which share the same driver as the Grado SR125s IIRC but heaps cheaper, made by a small audio company in the US.

Very good for rock, as Grado has the rep for, in your face sound. Soundstage isn't huge and it's lacking bass but yeah. Does the rest fantastic.

I reckon i'll pick up a pair of Senn HD25s next. Seems like the complete package and I'd like some closed cans this time around.

The difference in volume between 256 and 320 kbps is enough for me to stick to 320 when I can. When I used to listen to playlists (now I pretty much exclusively listen to albums), I'd find myself constantly changing the volume if songs were different bit rates.

For headphones, I have Sennheiser HD 429s, which are decent enough. Nice bass response and general clarity, and enough isolation that I can actually hear my music on the bus.

I have a set of Audio-Technica ATH-M50s that have been serving me well for the past 3 years. I mainly got them after seeing tech channels on YouTube like MKBHD recommending them. You can find them hovering between $170 and $200 online, but it's possible to snag one for $150. I got mine from a place called Addicted To Audio for $169. There has been a newer version released called the ATH-M50x but the lowest I've seen it go is $190. I want to get them, but my current headphone still serve me too well.

The best budget earphones I ever bought were the JVC HA-FX101b. Fantastic bass and only cost me $15.

The best mid-range (and best earphones I've ever had) are the SoundMagic E30 ones. Cost me like $60 IIRC from eBay but are they ****ing brilliant. Bass has impact, treble is quality and has great clarity. Also have lasted for ages.

The best expensive ones I've bought (although I still rate the E30 higher, a lot of people think these are better) are the ACS T15. Cost $250 though and, honestly, it's not worth it. The sound is brilliant, I won't kid you, but you can get an equivalent sound with a smaller price.

The difference in volume between 256 and 320 kbps is enough for me to stick to 320 when I can. When I used to listen to playlists (now I pretty much exclusively listen to albums), I'd find myself constantly changing the volume if songs were different bit rates.

For headphones, I have Sennheiser HD 429s, which are decent enough. Nice bass response and general clarity, and enough isolation that I can actually hear my music on the bus.
I used to have a pair of HD418s, from the previous range. Super comfy.

One week before I start uni and I finally get my checklist of paperwork to be done. So much to do in 7 days

Police clearance, working with children card application, course practicums. I don't see why I couldn't have been notified earlier about this stuff. Its not like I've had much to do in the past couple months. Ridiculous really.

One week before I start uni and I finally get my checklist of paperwork to be done. So much to do in 7 days

Police clearance, working with children card application, course practicums. I don't see why I couldn't have been notified earlier about this stuff. Its not like I've had much to do in the past couple months. Ridiculous really.
What course are you doing?

has the AFL signed with ISC to do all their one-off game jumpers? first the IR, now the indigenous all-stars.
I made some training singlets on their creator and enquired them and i was treated like it was a sporting club, dont think they like u just ordering 1, i never got an email back from the guy though.....

no, you'd have to buy in bulk, otherwise they'd never make a profit, having to print one top of one design for thousands of people, they'd go bankrupt pretty quick, or have to put their prices up a long way.
dam,no wonder the guy on the phone who rang me sounded pretty confused

he rang me on the dam bus and i thought it was someone from school so i picked up in a accent hahah then hung up and dialed back talking properly

no, you'd have to buy in bulk, otherwise they'd never make a profit, having to print one top of one design for thousands of people, they'd go bankrupt pretty quick, or have to put their prices up a long way.
wasted my thousandth post on this shit.