Play Nice Random Chat Thread: Episode III

Trumpet
Boris
ScoMo

I get politics is politics, but these men are considered leaders.
It’s embarassing it’s come to this.

Canada and NZ must laugh at the state of it all

Trump? Lol. Remember when he was going to make America great again? Does Flint have drinking water yet? What’s the number of people living below the poverty line in America? Nearly 40 million people. There’s city’s in America that have 3rd world country conditions, New Orleans, Chicago, Detroit. Kids can buy a USED glock for $50 -$100. Trumps spent more on his golfing during his presidency then fixing any of that shit. He’s got all his nuffy supporters shouting “BUILD THE WALL, BUILD THE WALL” Mother****ers are cheering him every time he calls someone fake news but don’t see the campaigner just doesn’t want to answer the question asked by the journalist. Honestly they’re so ****en stupid. They fail to realise he’s not actually making America great again, he’s just keeping it the same. People think this is a left and right thing, bollocks. It’s just people with power bending over those that don’t.

Trumpet
Boris
ScoMo

Someone in particular on here will probably call me a feminist for this statement, but how freaking great is Jacinda Ardern? Does in the space of 3 weeks what the US can't even begin to get off the ground in decades and flat out bans semi-automatic weapons in her country. THREE WEEKS. Now that's what I call being a leader.

Trump? Lol. Remember when he was going to make America great again? Does Flint have drinking water yet? What’s the number of people living below the poverty line in America? Nearly 40 million people. There’s city’s in America that have 3rd world country conditions, New Orleans, Chicago, Detroit. Kids can buy a USED glock for $50 -$100. Trumps spent more on his golfing during his presidency then fixing any of that s**t. He’s got all his nuffy supporters shouting “BUILD THE WALL, BUILD THE WALL” Motherf***ers are cheering him every time he calls someone fake news but don’t see the campaigner just doesn’t want to answer the question asked by the journalist. Honestly they’re so fu**en stupid. They fail to realise he’s not actually making America great again, he’s just keeping it the same. People think this is a left and right thing, bollocks. It’s just people with power bending over those that don’t.
The issue is and always has been the damage he’s done away from the cameras and away from the spotlight as the attention is fixed on him.
The American people would be the most brain dead to exist in front of Australians and the British. There are those nationalists who lap up anything they are told and have no independent thought amongst them.
It’s excruciating.
Someone in particular on here will probably call me a feminist for this statement, but how freaking great is Jacinda Ardern? Does in the space of 3 weeks what the US can't even begin to get off the ground in decades and flat out bans semi-automatic weapons in her country. THREE WEEKS. Now that's what I call being a leader.
Whoever toes the sex line is conceding defeat. She optimises what modern leadership should be but isn’t.

The sooner they stop the pretendwendy "yay everybody soccer in Australia is for everybody being happy and having a FUN experience in a SAFE SPACE the better".

Yes it works in the MLS but we're not Americans and they at least get Rooney and Zlatan etc to watch.

Soccer here should be:

Melbourne Makedonia Alexander Killed Your Grandad vs Melbourne Hellas Macedonia is Part of Greece If You Say Different One Phone Call Mate Fifty campaigners With Baseball Bats

Republika Srbska Perth .50 cal 1354
vs Croatian Blood Eagles of Vengeance

Sydney Brigado Rossi
vs Western Sydney Il Duce Formation

War Criminals Adelaide
v Newcastle Nails Bombs at the Consulate Of The Illegal Occupiers Entity

The Cup

Everybody Else v The Muzzies

What do you mean "should be"? Australian soccer has always been like that.

Trumpet
Boris
ScoMo

Trudeau shouldn't even be in the same sentence as Ardern. Has had his chance to meaningfully tackle economic inequality and has done nothing but prop up the upper middle class.

Canadians chose him rightly or wrongly without a biased mainstream media and shonky election strategy.

Atleast he’s not a national embarassment.
But yes Arden is way out in front.

To be fair any prime minister would have got the gun reform through in NZ at that time . It had the wish of the people and parliament. Plus it was sensible
Australia achieved the same after Port Arthur

I don't think any country has successfully managed the inequality gap though.
NZ also has a massive gap between rich and poor, and its growing. We are also the 2nd worst country behind Canada for House affordability.
Much of this is due to a huge increase in migration where our population has grown by close to 20 % in the past 15-20 years and its causing our infrastructure to creak. (Imagine Melbourne's population increasing from 5m to 7m in a short space of time and see what would happen to your housing prices)

so Ardens doing an OK job, but no guarantees she will get re-elected. Shes in govt with NZ first who are a populist party and the Greens who are largely nuts
so she may get dragged down by that . Plus a real lack of senior, capable, MP's in her cabinet which isn't helping her
However She is helped by the fact that the opposition party leader is seen as a smug twat. If they had a half decent leader I think Ardern would be in a lot of trouble

Trumpet
Boris
ScoMo

Canada and NZ’s leaders are too busy moral grandstanding, amongst other severe issues, to be laughing at other countries.

Moral grandstanding. Otherwise known as showing compassion for those less fortunate instead of playing cynical dog whistle politics to capitalise on some of the people's misplaced fears about those brown people from overseas. ;)

You are a smart bloke, surely you know the business of using identity and tribal allegiances is used by all in political sundry.

Thanks for using the dog whistle term; I wanted to use this meme for so long...

The issue is and always has been the damage he’s done away from the cameras and away from the spotlight as the attention is fixed on him.
The American people would be the most brain dead to exist in front of Australians and the British. There are those nationalists who lap up anything they are told and have no independent thought amongst them.
It’s excruciating.

Whoever toes the sex line is conceding defeat. She optimises what modern leadership should be but isn’t.

I was actually just making a joke about Groin mislabeling me a feminist a couple pages back. Not toeing any line, quite the opposite.

With respect to Trudeau, he's fallen quite a few rungs in my esteem in the last year. Domestic politics-wise, multiple issues. The SNC-Lavalin affair, his backing of pipelines, and most currently the water crisis in Attawapiskat that's been put on ignore for years. He's behaved like an impetuous child more than once on the domestic scene, and it's a bad look. Super disappointing. Still, the thought of us being led by Andrew freaking Scheer next go around is not stomachable. It'll have to be Trudeau. (Although, in a parallel universe, I'd love to see how Jagmeet Singh would go if he had a crack at it. NDP still way too unlikely to get in though.)

All that being said, I still think Trudeau's done a good job representing Canada on the world stage, and I'm proud of his continued stance on accepting refugees, and his unwavering position on inclusiveness. These are important things to keep fighting to uphold in our world. So I still give him that. Plus he's done a good job of neither ruffling nor bowing to Trump. Not an easy task, given the close nature of our countries' relationships to one another. Full credits there.

I know, I did prepare a longer response, but a meme suited my purposes better.
Actually, this reminds me. I was going to tag you in something the other day.

What's your analysis of the Iranian seizure of that British ship? Something that will be able to be resolved amicably through diplomatic means, or another step in the escalation towards war?

Canadians chose him rightly or wrongly without a biased mainstream media and shonky election strategy.

Atleast he’s not a national embarassment.
But yes Arden is way out in front.
Sorry if it been done before but:
Jacinda Ardern = The Street 😄

Actually, this reminds me. I was going to tag you in something the other day.

What's your analysis of the Iranian seizure of that British ship? Something that will be able to be resolved amicably through diplomatic means, or another step in the escalation towards war?
As you would expect, it did increase tensions between all the involved actors. It is worth noting that Britain has differeing interests to that of the USA. It is not the days of Howard-Bush-Blair with a unified 'coalition of the willing'.

I don't expect much escalation from the USA and Britain's response will be limited as it wants to preserve the previous nuclear deal with Iran.

I am viewing this from the lens of how Britain reacted to Chinese naval activities in the South China Sea. Britannia rules the waves. Britain is not afraid to send its ships to 'press home the issue' and assert its naval/trade rights in shipping areas vital to British interests (Australia wouldn't dare do this beyond parts of the Indian Ocean).

In saying all that, Britain is not what she used to be and a decent portion of her armed forces possess US military equipment, (replacement ammo/spare parts have to come from US factories. In addition, C4ISR means that the British armed forces are linked into the US controlled defence network.) which gives the US some indirect sway over Britain's strategic actions.

There is also the Five Eyes (UKUSA) intelligence network links to come into all this. For example, what intelligence is the USA passing along to GB and Australia over Iran? The Iraq War showed how influential intelligence can be.

This article does a reasonable job of summing up most of the current situation and I am not usually a fan of the NYT. Keep a close eye on events is my suggestion.

I was actually just making a joke about Groin mislabeling me a feminist a couple pages back. Not toeing any line, quite the opposite.

With respect to Trudeau, he's fallen quite a few rungs in my esteem in the last year. Domestic politics-wise, multiple issues. The SNC-Lavalin affair, his backing of pipelines, and most currently the water crisis in Attawapiskat that's been put on ignore for years. He's behaved like an impetuous child more than once on the domestic scene, and it's a bad look. Super disappointing. Still, the thought of us being led by Andrew freaking Scheer next go around is not stomachable. It'll have to be Trudeau. (Although, in a parallel universe, I'd love to see how Jagmeet Singh would go if he had a crack at it. NDP still way too unlikely to get in though.)

All that being said, I still think Trudeau's done a good job representing Canada on the world stage, and I'm proud of his continued stance on accepting refugees, and his unwavering position on inclusiveness. These are important things to keep fighting to uphold in our world. So I still give him that. Plus he's done a good job of neither ruffling nor bowing to Trump. Not an easy task, given the close nature of our countries' relationships to one another. Full credits there.
I've held this position for some time but found that they are also selective, despite exposing Australia's inhumane policy. There are a bunch of Thai political exiles who are being hunted down in Laos and other countries in Southeast Asia by Thai death squads and Canada have actually resisted taking them in, with Australia actually appearing more likely than Canada as potential country of asylum.

Yeah, I won't argue they're not selective. I know politics plays a huge role.

I think what upsets me most is still the neglect of our Indigenous peoples. We've got third world conditions in Attawapiskat, and the Trudeau Govt. has said it will supply one litre of water per person per day and anything over that the people must pay for. And that's just one community, that happens to be receiving media attention right now. There's countless others, including many made utterly toxic and unlivable due to the tar sands that Trudeau is continuing to keep alive and well through his choice to keep supporting the fossil fuel industry.

I mean, I know why he does it, and who he's trying to please, and I know that we can't all have the same priorities, but surely providing clean drinking water to every person in your country is a must at bare minimum. It's a basic necessity of life. This is Canada for gods sake.

Yeah, I won't argue they're not selective. I know politics plays a huge role.

I think what upsets me most is still the neglect of our Indigenous peoples. We've got third world conditions in Attawapiskat, and the Trudeau Govt. has said it will supply one litre of water per person per day and anything over that the people must pay for. And that's just one community, that happens to be receiving media attention right now. There's countless others, including many made utterly toxic and unlivable due to the tar sands that Trudeau is continuing to keep alive and well through his choice to keep supporting the fossil fuel industry.

I mean, I know why he does it, and who he's trying to please, and I know that we can't all have the same priorities, but surely providing clean drinking water to every person in your country is a must at bare minimum. It's a basic necessity of life. This is Canada for gods sake.
Yep, it's these contradictions and inconsistencies, like the tar sands debacle, that have seemed to undermine his political credibility. Would be interested to know how his international popularity translates at the domestic level.

Haha, well, his trip to India contained enough gaffes to keep the media occupied for quite a while here, but people have mostly forgotten about it now. Other than that, I'd say for the most part we were all just a bit bemused, as a collective, at his initial "fanfare". But overall, I feel like most of the country is pretty happy with how he's gone. Getting through the NAFTA renegotiation was an important one, obviously, although that one I'd pay more to Chrystia Freeland, our Foreign Affairs Minister. Relations with China are crap right now, but the Meng Wanzhou complication has bought him some space there.

I don't know, is he still popular internationally? I feel like it's died down a lot. But then, I don't see it from there, of course!

I’m not exactly sure what you mean specifically? Foreign policy? Don’t mind him being tougher on China, they’ve had it coming and many presidents before him wanted to pull them up. Or are you referring to him naming Jerusalem the capital of Israel? Supporting MBS and the Saudis on the genocide of Yemen, whilst simultaneously trying to bait Iran into a conflict? All that stuff is well known and not what I’d call off camera.

If I were to guess I reckon he’s killed way less people with drone strikes then Obama did.

Or are you thinking more nationally?

Personally I don’t think he makes any decisions. He’s surrounded himself with people that he has make decisions for him and he’s just the mouthpiece. Unfortunately those people are just ego padders or they get fired.

The bloke has accidentally became president because he just wanted to run with the goal of becoming the most famous man in the world.

Though I do enjoy laughing at him, I think he’s an awful human and history either won’t remember him or he’ll be remembered as a joke president like Reagan at best.

[/QUOTE]

Not

Trumpet
Boris
ScoMo

It’s embarrassing it’s come to this.

lol. NZ and Canada. Too busy grandstanding and pushing their own agenda. Ardern is travelling the world trying to get the internet censored even more and leveraging the Christchurch incident to her advantage.

Just like Trudeau and his "my cabinet will be 50/50 men and women!" :$

Morrison is a joke. Correct there. We could do with a strong leader like Trump.
Trump? Lol. Remember when he was going to make America great again? Does Flint have drinking water yet? What’s the number of people living below the poverty line in America? Nearly 40 million people. There’s city’s in America that have 3rd world country conditions, New Orleans, Chicago, Detroit. Kids can buy a USED glock for $50 -$100. Trumps spent more on his golfing during his presidency then fixing any of that s**t. He’s got all his nuffy supporters shouting “BUILD THE WALL, BUILD THE WALL” Motherf***ers are cheering him every time he calls someone fake news but don’t see the campaigner just doesn’t want to answer the question asked by the journalist. Honestly they’re so fu**en stupid. They fail to realise he’s not actually making America great again, he’s just keeping it the same. People think this is a left and right thing, bollocks. It’s just people with power bending over those that don’t.
This is one of the worst comments I've read on big footy. You talk about US issues but then refer to the wall. He wants to close the border so more money and time can be spent on US issues and the US people first and foremost.

Who was in power during the Flint fiasco? Obama. He played a part in that saga as did other democrats.

The gun issue has been an issue for decades. Of course he calls out fake news. The news discovered a long time ago that drama sells and Trump has been like gold for them. It's kept them ticking over and getting views. How about call out the news that have been peddling a 'Russian collusion' narrative for 3 years now. Or Pelosi, schumer and other democrats that have hamstrung Trump with the wall despite Trump asking for less money to fix illegal immigration than Bill Clinton, Obama, and Chuck Schumer. Don't believe me - listen to the words themselves:

Of course it's only racist when Trump says it :$

Obama put kids in cages:

The report that outlines that 95% of migrant children have been reunited with their families or sponsors.

"Of the 1,603 discharged children, 1,546 children—or 95 percent—were either reunified with an individual sponsor or released to a parent. Specifically, 1,061 children were released to a parent and 485 children were reunified with an individual sponsor.

No one ever thinks as to why the children are separated at the border. It's no different to a child in the US if they are with their dad while he commits a crime - they are separated. To keep the child safe. As AOC incorrectly pointed out "but it's not a crime" - as the previous ICE director rightly pointed out, it is a crime to cross the border illegally. The hint is in 'illegal' immigration. A number of children/girls have been r*ped and assaulted crossing the border. Some have been kidnapped in Mexico so that the adult has a better chance of crossing the border with a child.

unemployment at 3.7% which is near it's lowest level in almost 50 years.

Canada-US-Mexico deal is better than the previous NAFTA agreement.

You are falling for the narrative hook line and sinker if you're getting this angry. You're right. It's all done to pull the wool over your eyes but at least try and make up your own opinions before using cliche MSM talking points.

Feminist! :moustache:

I don't mind her. I dislike the censorship stuff she's peddling but 3 weeks...come on...I could have waltzed into NZ and got that done after the Christchurch incident. It made sense and was an easy sell which is why everyone was on board with it.

US labour bureau stats are fraught with difficulty when talking about unemployment. Labour force participation is at its lowest point since the 1970s, at like 60 something per cent the last time I looked at US labour market stats.

Not saying Trump supporters are alone in ignoring the participation rate but just mentioning that unemployment figures on really mean something to people who dont have an understanding of labour force statistics. They're a good marketing point that politicians from across the spectrum use, but rarely accurately reflect the state of the labour market.