Apr 24, 2013
Arden Street Hill
Essendon Lawn Bowls Club
I dunno, I reckon the issue is you don't get actual working class people, you get the very well off upper middle class who see themselves as "left" or "progressive" self-selecting and thus controlling what gets made.

I think we agree that it is they who are the detritus of the contemporary cultural left.

Absolutely, and they have far too much representation and influence.

Kurds and Israelis been allied for a long time.

Also dawning on Israel that if Trump will sell out the Kurds on a whim, he'll probably sell them out for an Iranian deal (the way they see it) too.

I know, its just Netanyahu is a *en hypocrite.

Shes nobodies fool alright, she’s spending his coin like a drunk at a casino..

Sigh, you honestly reckon Bill's out the back in the shed having a tug while this happens, that he's not 100 per cent across it.

FFS.

You know much about her old man?

If its possible to have shiftier character than her boyfriend, her old man was it.

Hat tip to DesertRoo for this:

Same in journalism, used to a profession where smart working class kids could get a cadetship or a gig with a country paper and work their way up, but the gutting of print media and the rise of "internship culture" means you only get a certain class of person now.

When I was at The Conversation I'd make sure that every intern round we did, I took at least one kid who had an actual job, like worked at Safeway or a cafe, just to try and ensure some balance.

Its been a problem since Lenin.

Working class politics has always been best represented by unions and in Australia they've been relatively unnecessary for decades because they were so successful decades ago. These days many are useless. We will still need them tho, more so in the future.

Mar 23, 2001
Forever Death riding *
Wildcats/Pacers/Chelsea/Scorchers
Sigh, you honestly reckon Bill's out the back in the shed having a tug while this happens, that he's not 100 per cent across it.

FFS.
Mate Im s**t stirring, dont get so worked up over it, you’ll live longer..

I know a little bit. A big fat Loudmouth who rolled in high society. Defrauded heaps of people. Had a few kids but only liked her. Mysteriously fell off his boat whilst taking a leak.

Mossad agent, daughter was most likely too. Epstein was certainly working with intelligence at some level.

Dec 27, 2017
Mossad agent, daughter was most likely too. Epstein was certainly working with intelligence at some level.

She definitely opened a lot of doors for him. She a campaigner of a thing. She tried to get one of their girls to be a surrogate for her. One of their girls was getting close to turning 18, Maxwell told her she’d soon be no use to them so they’ll pay her to give them a baby. God only knows what she had planned. Evil

Feb 11, 2013

Slightly off topic from spygate stuff but worth discussion.
One of the most fascinating political tightropes is a China-Led RCEP.
basically you’ve got half of the worlds population covered in a trade deal involving China, India and a number of other Asian and Pacific countries Australia and NZ will be the big winners on the business side.

And on the realpolitik you’ve got the Clowns In America pushing the Modi ultra religious party further right then anyone thought possible, members of the bjp party have called for all muslims and christians to be wiped from India by dec 2021.
And on the other side of the Himalayas, you’ve got China re-educating Uighurs.
which stages for an interesting decade ahead, of two diametrically opposed philosophies, god willing and godless. which left to fester will eventually meet head on. Which is perfect for the west as they don’t have to take on China, they just have to have an equal rival. The fascinating story of Elephant and the Dragon.

when your talking of peace and planning for war.

Ulster Plantation onwards.

In what way - chattell slavery is the ongoing legal ownership of a genetic line of humans by other humans.

I have looked for examples of this in Ireland and its hard to find any. I am not denying connvict transportantion, indentured labour or any of the atrocities that came with British invasion (I had ancestors transported to Tassie for as far as i can tell the crime of Ribbonism which the Poms of the day would have said was equivalent to joining ISIS, even tho its far from it.) Irish and others were indentured in the new world.

But that is different. Chattel slavery is the total ownership of a person and their kids and if it existed in Ireland it was gone by the 1200s.

Slightly off topic from spygate stuff but worth discussion.
One of the most fascinating political tightropes is a China-Led RCEP.
basically you’ve got half of the worlds population covered in a trade deal involving China, India and a number of other Asian and Pacific countries Australia and NZ will be the big winners on the business side.

And on the realpolitik you’ve got the Clowns In America pushing the Modi ultra religious party further right then anyone thought possible, members of the bjp party have called for all muslims and christians to be wiped from India by dec 2021.
And on the other side of the Himalayas, you’ve got China re-educating Uighurs.
which stages for an interesting decade ahead, of two diametrically opposed philosophies, god willing and godless. which left to fester will eventually meet head on. Which is perfect for the west as they don’t have to take on China, they just have to have an equal rival. The fascinating story of Elephant and the Dragon.

when your talking of peace and planning for war.

Modi and the Hindutva don't need much pushing from the west.

iSmack

Apr 6, 2015
Hmmmm, the Russians didn't do much fighting against ISIS.
Fighting in terms of Russian ground troop engagements with ISIS? Your correct if that's what you mean.

But, having 48,000 heavily armed Russian troops stationed in strategic locations halted ISIS advancing.

The constant shelling by the Russian airforce was not just massive....it was non stop. It's estimated that the Russian airforce launched approx 1900 airstrikes per month over a 3 year period concentrated on opposition and ISIS positions...

The Kurds are good people with many legitimate greviences.

But let's not kid ourselves, they are not an effective fighting force without a foreign nation doing 98% of the heavy lifting. The Kurds amongst themselves don't seem to agree. Syrian Kurds vs Turkish Kurds vs Iraqi Kurd.....it's a mess.

I suspect the western romance with the Kurds comes from the fact that there aren't many good horses to back in that part of the world and.....

1. Western media doesn't want to give Russia credit for the obliveration of ISIS

2. The Kurds are pro-democracy with many Kurdish females fighting alongside male soldiers.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

B4Bear

Jul 6, 2011
Fighting in terms of Russian ground troop engagements with ISIS? Your correct if that's what you mean.

But, having 48,000 heavily armed Russian troops stationed in strategic locations halted ISIS advancing.

The constant shelling by the Russian airforce was not just massive....it was non stop. It's estimated that the Russian airforce launched approx 1900 airstrikes per month over a 3 year period concentrated on opposition and ISIS positions...

The Kurds are good people with many legitimate greviences.

But let's not kid ourselves, they are not an effective fighting force without a foreign nation doing 98% of the heavy lifting. The Kurds amongst themselves don't seem to agree. Syrian Kurds vs Turkish Kurds vs Iraqi Kurd.....it's a mess.

I suspect the western romance with the Kurds comes from the fact that there aren't many good horses to back in that part of the world and.....

1. Western media doesn't want to give Russia credit for the obliveration of ISIS

2. The Kurds are pro-democracy with many Kurdish females fighting alongside male soldiers.

Remember this: It is boots on the ground that allow you to hold the ground. That is what the Kurds did. You can not win by airstrikes, you have to be able to hold the ground and deny freedom of manouver to the enemy; the Kurds did this, not the Syrians, not the Iraqis (initially) and not the Syrians.

iSmack

Apr 6, 2015
Remember this: It is boots on the ground that allow you to hold the ground. That is what the Kurds did. You can not win by airstrikes, you have to be able to hold the ground and deny freedom of manouver to the enemy; the Kurds did this, not the Syrians, not the Iraqis (initially) and not the Syrians.
Correct. But let's not overstate their effectiveness as a fighting force....bomb a town to bits for 3 months from the sky, lay a seige and then mop up any hungry, ammunitionless ISIS fighter up was effectively the strategy.