Play Nice Random Chat Thread IV

But I'm not commenting from a political viewpoint. Not even a bit. I also have not called for her to be sacked, though I'm not at all confident in her doing a job that the community relies upon so heavily at present.

I don't understand how people aren't at least a little uncomfortable with this. But again, each to their own.
From a medical point of view, what has Victoria done wrong?
What could’ve they done better?
what actions has she done that you think she should lose her job as a professional?

What, like 50 times?

No, she wasn't being facetious just as much as she wasn't being literal. It was a metaphor for her strident anti-male stance, as proved and emphasised by the books she subsequently wrote.

Now she has a son.

He's gonna grow up to be an loud mouthed, sexist ocker who can fight, just to piss her off.

fu** me. Every tabloid hack is over this. Latham has come out of his hole. Even Dutton. The same dog who stuffed up one boat that actually mattered and forgot to declare a million dollar home.

Another example that these whiny right wingers only care about free speech until someone (usually a minority) says something that gets in their feelings.

Is Dutton responsible for that cruise ship?

LuvtheKangas said:
There have been more deaths from Covid than any other event, including some wars, since the Spanish Flu pandemic of just over a century ago.

“In 2018, there were an estimated 405 000 deaths from malaria globally, compared with 416 000 estimated deaths in 2017, and 585 000 in 2010.”

No deflecting, at least be accurate in what you say.

Clementine has a right to an opinion, Van Diemen has a right to share the opinion. It’s not a hard concept.

Mate, "event". It's just happened this year and it has led to a complete change in the way we live our lives. It's only comparable to other sudden disease outbreaks.

How the hell does a 2017 or 2018 stat relate to a completely new and different health crisis? How has malaria changed the way we go about our daily lives? If malaria was a health crisis, why aren't we all affected by it daily?

It's a completely invalid comparison. Are you going to talk about car accidents next?

No NWS health.. There was a great presser from the Boarderforce commissioner the next day. He didn’t miss.

That’s not enough. They should be sacked, he literally failed in their job. Today. The Victorian Deputy health minister should be judged on her job. So far I haven’t seen a single thing in the news Vic health has ****ed up.

Actually weren’t they congratulated by their handling of a cruise ship???

Mate, "event". It's just happened this year and it has led to a complete change in the way we live our lives. It's only comparable to other sudden disease outbreaks.

How the hell does a 2017 or 2018 stat relate to a completely new and different health crisis? How has malaria changed the way we go about our daily lives? If malaria was a health crisis, why aren't we all affected by it daily?

It's a completely invalid comparison. Are you going to talk about car accidents next?
What does it say about society, we’re happy to let more people die from preventable diseases every year.

Until it effects us, then we freak out and run to big brother to protect us.

There have been more deaths from Covid than any other event, including some wars, since the Spanish Flu pandemic of just over a century ago.

I didn't use hateful in my initial assessment (yesterday) - I just focused on the baffling lack of judgement for someone in her position. The hate part has come to light in her showing support for Clementine.

I disagree about the health crisis concept I spose, because of things like polio and smallpox, and ongoing issue so things like Ebola, even malaria and other preventable illnesses as well as antibiotic resistance but it's certainly the worst and most potentially disruptive short term plague since ... well probably before the Spanish Flu actually. The world seemed pretty stable, even during the fires. But it won't be for a while after this. We could see wars and ongoing economic depression from this. The sort of disruption that blackfellas saw post Cook? Who knows, it is possible.
About her judgement...well her professional judgement must be okay because compared to the rest of the world Victoria is doing very well in terms of managing this chaos. At least in the short term. Who knows what will happen in the long term. There is an argument to be made that flattening the curve just shifts or hides cases in the future, and it's probably true for areas that can't control their borders.

But aside from that (which is a potential judgement issue) the Victorian Health Dept has done well and she must have had an important role in it.

In terms of the tweet itself, in my opinion it's suffering more from interpretation than intent.
A lot of what Ford says or tweets or whatever is just the reaction of someone who was oncebacked into a corner and fighting about it and approaches everything that way now. It's a dynamic, and tho I don't really take any notice of this stuff any more it was obvious years ago when I did that was what was happening with her. She gets piled onto in the media more than even Tef does here (not just from me.)

She gives as good as she gets. What she says seems hateful but so does the worst of what she cops so is it any wonder?

What does it say about society, we’re happy to let more people die from preventable diseases every year.

Until it effects us, then we freak out and run to big brother to protect us.

Well, it might be something to do with the extremely rapid spread and contagion of Covid, and the steep learning curve associated with understanding how it 'works' (e.g. the contagion aspect) and how to deal with it.

I agree with the principle of the point you are making - the developed world has been irresponsible, at best, and callously indifferent, at worst, to the serious threats faced by millions of people in developing nations. This is a problem that has persisted for decades, and perhaps some good might come out of the current crisis in that it might result in better international policy in this area. I'm not overly hopeful here, sadly.

Not sure what you mean by the big brother reference - developed nations have systems in place to deal with public health issues and we are currently relying on the system in place. It is being tested by the extremity of the crisis. In Australia, we are fortunate that the system has held up better than most. It's a credit to our national expertise and to the politicians willing to listen to expert opinion and act (relatively) decisively.

About her judgement...well her professional judgement must be okay because compared to the rest of the world Victoria is doing very well in terms of managing this chaos. At least in the short term. Who knows what will happen in the long term. There is an argument to be made that flattening the curve just shifts or hides cases in the future, and it's probably true for areas that can't control their borders.

All good points, ferbs. My own view is that we have done very well in Victoria despite the fact that there are individuals in the system incapable of holding up their end. My preference would be that they remain at soldier level, not as officers. But that's the way the world works.

The machine is bigger than the individual here (hello, USA) and the majority rule way of implementing policy has been effective.

It would be ironic, wouldn't it? It was one of my first thoughts when I heard her baby was a boy.

It's bound to happen. There are some things she doesn't get. One of them is that male humans evolved to be competitive and violent (among other things, like co operative and conciliatory as well,) as did female humans. Her boy is caring that genetic baggage and will be raised by a feisty aggressive mother.

He's gonna get into heaps of fights I reckon.

Props to a majority of posters recently with opposing views, whilst robust, haven't gone full blown attack mode.

Left/right/up/down/gay/straight, you're all North folk and decent people. :thumbsu:

It's bound to happen. There are some things she doesn't get. One of them is that male humans evolved to be competitive and violent (among other things, like co operative and conciliatory as well,) as did female humans. Her boy is caring that genetic baggage and will be raised by a feisty aggressive mother.

He's gonna get into heaps of fights I reckon.
The universe is a strange beast.
Young boys need sport as an outlet, it’ll be interesting her take on the male sports environment, when she see the positive aspects of it.

fu** me. Every tabloid hack is over this. Latham has come out of his hole. Even Dutton. The same dog who stuffed up one boat that actually mattered and forgot to declare a million dollar home.

Then

Another example that these whiny right wingers only care about free speech until someone (usually a minority) says something that gets in their feelings.

I'll let the reader identify the staggering hypocrisy.

Has anyone bothered to speak with Cook’s relos on this “slur”?

I reckon wherever I have lived I have run into a Cook.

(More often than not they are simply known as Cookies.)

Sometimes they even ask me when I visit online Bicycle Lycra shops if I mind some Cookies.

Long story short, I will support whichever way the Cooks go on this.

And check this out for a stern look

D61B7154-EC72-403D-B06C-C08EDA43EC08.jpeg

Have we got a thread for the us election? We have Trump going up against Biden. It’s going to be a lot of fun. Donald ‘just inject them with bleach’ Trump V Joe ‘I don’t know where I am’ Biden.
It’s what America deserves but the rest of the world does not.