Play Nice Random Chat Thread IV

My best friend died on a footpath of a smack overdose too, doesn't mean that my opinions on say, the ongoing war in Yemen and its associated humanitarian crisis are worth any more or less as result.

I am with Snake_Baker on this one.

It carries through to a wide variety of things - some people seem to think that motherhood confers a mystical wisdom as well. "Well, as Mum I think that crocodile farming is wrong!"

Sorry to hear about your mate. ODs are a shit thing.

Who knows maybe the anxiety issues surfaced after he was telling everyone to clean their room? Anxiety/panic disorder is one of those things you just can’t understand unless you experience it first hand. It changes who you are.

I reckon once (or if) he comes back into the public eye he’ll be humble about it

He needs some shrooms.

I was asking folks at work about this - those who are professional statisticians and the like.

They say the number of folks on the ship is fine for a sample, but that yes, the demographics are going to be skewed.

But given you're not going to get a perfectly weighted sample big enough anywhere restricted like that, the ship is about the best you'll get.
the old ocean cruising 3 demographics,
the newly wed, almost dead and overfed.

FFS, I would have thought that was pretty obvious. But not for Herr Dutton; a campaigner of the highest order.
It is interesting in the sense of how you define an Aboriginal Australian.

I think it means that anyone with indigenous ancestry anywhere in the world who can get a sponsor from an Aboriginal community is an Australian.

Actually, not an Australian, but a "belonger" :think:

I have never been interested in going on a cruise ship. Half the passengers getting seasick at some stage. Stuck on there, seeing the same people eating the same food, getting drunk, getting the coronavirus
Agreed. Maybe a 3 day boob cruise but I draw the line after that

so he is a vegan, whoop de do, personally i couldn't care less what someone wants to eat, its their choice, just dont try and ram it down every on else's throats, same with religion political views and sexuality.

and on that , i hear some people like a bloke ranting on the radio yesterday about how we steal calves from cows and subject them to long torturous lives milking them for our own use....

what a load of crap, if anyone really wants to see the type of like dairy cows have simply go through a drive through west gippland, watch em leisurely grazing away , half of them lying in the grass without a worry in the world, and come milking time, unprompted they casually waltz up to the dairy as they no theres a feed of grain up there for them, terrible life those dairy cows have.

fact is they have it better than most humans.

It is every person's choice, sure. But the choice needs to be an informed choice. Eating food is an energetic transaction between you and what's on your plate, and when what's on your plate comes from a sentient being just like yourself, you owe it to that being to understand what their half of the transaction was like.

I don't care what people eat. But I do care that they make informed decisions. At least put in the effort to learn. We are so disconnected from our food these days, and I'm not just talking about animals. Properly informing yourself about the dairy industry requires a bit more than just driving by a farm and seeing some cows in a field. That's not the story. Believe me, I wish it was - but that farm you saw is not at all reflective of the mass scale industrialised conditions under which the bulk of our dairy products come from. Nor the veal calves that are the main by product of that industry.

My best friend died on a footpath of a smack overdose too, doesn't mean that my opinions on say, the ongoing war in Yemen and its associated humanitarian crisis are worth any more or less as result.

I am with Snake_Baker on this one.

It carries through to a wide variety of things - some people seem to think that motherhood confers a mystical wisdom as well. "Well, as Mum I think that crocodile farming is wrong!"

I'm sorry about the friend you lost JeanLuc. Too many of us have been in your shoes.

The point of me bringing up his brother's death was because a couple posters implied that he was not sincere in his words, that he was simply on an agenda pushing ego trip. It had nothing to do with Yemen (or Hitler). I brought it up because regardless of the specifics of his speech, his intentions were genuine and heartfelt, and anyone who speaks with such pure intent about seeking the commonality among all of us deserves a listen. He won his 3 minutes up there. He can use it whatever way he likes. I thought he chose wisely, and with a great deal of earnestness. You and others may disagree, and that's okay. I just posted it because I thought it was pretty beautiful, and wanted to share it.

Did you see Gervais’ bit about it? I’m not suggesting Joaquin isn’t being genuine, it’s just that Gervais bit was so bloody good that I think about it every time I see a Hollywood elite give a speech like that.

I've seen his bit about actors' speeches in general - did he do one specifically about this speech of Joaquin's? If he did, I haven't seen that. But yeah, the one he did a couple weeks back hosting the Golden Globes I saw.

I like Gervais a lot, and agree with you that some of his best stuff is when he's having a go at celebs and awards shows. But on the flip side, I also believe that there are some speeches that deserve our thoughtful consideration. Mr. Phoenix's speech last night is one of them. We can have both.

wasn't too bad as fees only came in my last year.
The other side of that though was that grads were only just getting minimum wage, that' s if they were lucky enough to get a job in the 90's.
Graduates in my field today are now starting on 60k..

look all generations will have their tough times.Im just trying to point out that contrary to some peoples beliefs it wasn't all a bed of roses back in my time

Good points, also starting as an undergrad in the early 90s, everyone went to uni as there were bugger all jobs. Remember sitting in my first lecture with students literally sitting on the floor in the aisles, and the lecturer saying, "the government made us take way too many of you guys so we're going to make first year really tough to the point that most of you fail, and the rest of you will want to drop out." 10 years later I was interviewing graduates for roles paying 180kUSD starting salary, these kids would turn up to work for 3 months, and then quit cause "its too hard and the hours are too long". Now the young guys who work for me complain its too hard to buy an apartment, but they have no problem buying 2 coffees a day, cafe meals for breakfast and lunch, then ordering uber eats for dinner, everry day, and going out and spending whatever they have left at the bar on a friday night.

I'm sorry about the friend you lost JeanLuc. Too many of us have been in your shoes.

The point of me bringing up his brother's death was because a couple posters implied that he was not sincere in his words, that he was simply on an agenda pushing ego trip. It had nothing to do with Yemen (or Hitler). I brought it up because regardless of the specifics of his speech, his intentions were genuine and heartfelt, and anyone who speaks with such pure intent about seeking the commonality among all of us deserves a listen. He won his 3 minutes up there. He can use it whatever way he likes. I thought he chose wisely, and with a great deal of earnestness. You and others may disagree, and that's okay. I just posted it because I thought it was pretty beautiful, and wanted to share it.

Agree. I, also, love what Ricky Gervais does as well. On Ricky, I watched one of his excellent stand-up shows, where part of his spiel was tearing into Hollywood hypocrisy. However, at the end of his show, he made a plea on behalf of the treatment of dogs in China. All valid stuff but it could be argued that there was a touch of the pot calling the kettle black. I think a ton of cringing hypocrisy emanates from Hollywood. For me, Phoenix is not part of that... on this occasion (I think). It seemed to be from the heart and he’s entitled to his opinion... and he had earned his moment. We can, and do, and will make our own minds up about what he said.

I love a lot of Gervais' comedy (moreso the earlier stuff), but in my opinion he's as guilty of preaching from the pulpit as many of his film/tv colleagues.

He has his own agenda, and he pushes it just like others. Maybe not in speeches, but defnitely on twitter, in interviews in his stand-up and (significantly) in the shows that he writes, directs and stars in.

He's also determined to prove to us and himself that he's 'different'.

"that farm" is a little bit more than a farm i casually drive by, the owner rotates his herd through our paddocks on an agistment agreement. this is where i get to marvel at how content they actually are, especially with the current conditions, possibly the greenest febuary i have ever seen, i do get your point about some of the more wholesale, high intensive operations however.

I doubt that when River was mixing the coke and the heroin in the spoon with his sweet as cool LA band mates, he was thinking much beyond IMMA GET HIGH AS SHIT to be honest.

so he is a vegan, whoop de do, personally i couldn't care less what someone wants to eat, its their choice, just dont try and ram it down every on else's throats, same with religion political views and sexuality.

and on that , i hear some people like a bloke ranting on the radio yesterday about how we steal calves from cows and subject them to long torturous lives milking them for our own use....

what a load of crap, if anyone really wants to see the type of like dairy cows have simply go through a drive through west gippland, watch em leisurely grazing away , half of them lying in the grass without a worry in the world, and come milking time, unprompted they casually waltz up to the dairy as they no theres a feed of grain up there for them, terrible life those dairy cows have.

fact is they have it better than most humans.

Ha, with all due respect, you might want to have a quick re-read of what I said.

My post was solely addressing the subject of whether or not Joaquin's speech was coming from a sincere place. If you check my post you'll see that I wasn't in any way lauding him for his veganism, so not sure why all that other stuff was directed at me. I was simply clarifying that his back-story would seem to suggest that the speech he gave wasn't a piss take. That's all.

It is interesting in the sense of how you define an Aboriginal Australian.

I think it means that anyone with indigenous ancestry anywhere in the world who can get a sponsor from an Aboriginal community is an Australian.

It's ridiculous that if you have an Australian parent and are born overseas you aren't in the same position but I don't have a problem with the courts decision.

It's disgusting the way we've become such a bunch of tight arse whimps about who is an Australian. We wouldn't be here if the poms didn't want the joint for a prison and yet now we'll throw someone to the wolves for growing a bit of weed and "sharing" it with the wrong person.

The idea that a cop from Quensland pre Fitzgerald is any way an appropriate person to administer a character test is laughable.

Actually, not an Australian, but a "belonger" :think:

I'd rather be a "belonger" than an Australian citizen.

This is my home. It's where I belong.

Dunno how much notice you take of Tefs anarchist rankings but if you think the state ultimately has the right to tell you anything about anything you're very much mistaken. The state is a parasite, we feed it cos it's useful to help us manage our affairs. We choose to enable it because it benefits us but it starts behaving like this it needs to be put in its place.

Human rights are inalienable. That means they are given to you by God or the universe or the very fact you were born. Not cos a bunch of ****wits in Canberra decided to give them to you.

Never forget that.

The government, which now defines "Australia" and what it means to be Australian exists because of us. Not the other way around.

Wouldn’t be surprised if he has

Well he didn't do them properly....

I've seen a few things where he has brought up psilocibin, including a talk where he went on for a while about how good it was for people with terminal conditions.

That may seem counter intuitive - the bad news is you're gonna die, the good news is take this, trip balls and think about it. (If you've ever seen that mk ultra footage of the soldier tripping in a cubicle and being asked what the time was you'll get what I mean.)

But apparently it works.

Peterson is often an idiot, but he seems like very good clinical psyche doctor. He is definitely a compassionate, empathetic person who cares about stuff, and more importantly, people.

"that farm" is a little bit more than a farm i casually drive by, the owner rotates his herd through our paddocks on an agistment agreement. this is where i get to marvel at how content they actually are, especially with the current conditions, possibly the greenest febuary i have ever seen, i do get your point about some of the more wholesale, high intensive operations however.

There are beef cattle here and they have a very similar life but we take their children away, cut them up then eat them.

I know grazing animals are just natures way of concentrating protein but I also know other people (the missus for example) see it differently.

I wonder about that bargain sometimes:

Here's paradise - we'll give you all you need - food and medicine, a beautiful territory of your own, the best alpha bull/a herd of gorgeous females - an almost perfect life.

You just give us all your children, and we'll eat most of them and give the best this sort of life.

Are they called cows cos they are cowards or is it a smart decision?

There are beef cattle here and they have a very similar life but we take their children away, cut them up then eat them.

I know grazing animals are just natures way of concentrating protein but I also know other people (the missus for example) see it differently.

I wonder about that bargain sometimes:

Here's paradise - we'll give you all you need - food and medicine, a beautiful territory of your own, the best alpha bull/a herd of gorgeous females - an almost perfect life.

You just give us all your children, and we'll eat most of them and give the best this sort of life.

Are they called cows cos they are cowards or is it a smart decision?
Who knows, some aliens may be doing the same with us!
They give us a planet to roam around on, create, breed and then cark it while they wait and snatch our souls to keep firing their reactors/suns/bongs whatever!