Play Nice Random Chat Thread IV

Where’s the property?
Crossover, West Gippsland. lovely country and as green as i have ever seen it at the end of January! Close access to the Rokeby/Crossover rail trail (walking, MTB and horse trail) https://www.railtrails.org.au/trail?view=trail&id=213 and crossover regional park (off road motorcycle and 4wd) . all segregated as well.

Entrance finally graded and waiting for toppings. The Stingys (E. Cinerea) root ball was a real battle to pull out, I reckon it would have been over 3 tonne with all the clay bound up in the root system. I had to sheave a 3 tonne chain block as single pulling wouldnt budge it and pull it about a meter at a time then lash the root to the tractor while setting up the block to go for another pull. whilst the tractor seemed to have the power it simply didnt have the traction to pull it out of the crater however it was able to hold it from rolling back into the crator. Good thing there were another couple of decent gums to anchor pulling gear to.

The below before/after pic is a little bit deceiving as the White Gum (E. scoparia) looks bigger as its closer.

drive.jpg

And heres the huge root ball.
root.jpg

.....ummm dunno where you live but it’s doors, windows, railings, tables, bbqs, outside benches and basically anything facing west or anything that was not covered.

Edit- and it’s not a bit, caked on 1mm deep on some seats

I didn’t get it that bad. I did see some people cleaning the footpath and gutter in our street. Thought that was strange

I saw the opening story on ch 10 news tonight Re. the Coronavirus situation, first, old mate ScoMo is on saying we will evacuate the Aussies trapped in Wuhan to a Quarantine facility on Christmas Island, Qantas are going to help with the air travel required. Next up the Qantas boss comes on and says, nup, no plans for planes to Wuhan, followed by some random stating that once actually making it to Christmas Island, the citizens will be charged for the privilege. wtf ?
When I first heard of the plan (sans details), I thought this is a goer.

In <12 hours this cluster**** of a government has managed to screw it up.

Unbelievable as to how incompotent they are at, well, everything.

When I first heard of the plan (sans details), I thought this is a goer.

In <12 hours this clusterfu** of a government has managed to screw it up.

Unbelievable as to how incompotent they are at, well, everything.
Good thing Scotty from marketing has a plan..
pray to god.

fu**en w***ers only worried about having a surplus budget. Why the fu** does a government need a surplus budget? Is the government a corporate enterprise to make money?

It’s certainly better than running a deficit and then having to tax the shit out of hard working people to pay the interest on the deficit.

Look at the Andrews government wasting over a billion dollars on the east west link and looks like another 3 billion on Westgate tunnel.

Fair dinkum, anyone would think he don’t give a shit about where our hard earned tax dollar is spent.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

It’s certainly better than running a deficit and then having to tax the shit out of hard working people to pay the interest on the deficit.

Look at the Andrews government wasting over a billion dollars on the east west link and looks like another 3 billion on Westgate tunnel.

Fair dinkum, anyone would think he don’t give a shit about where our hard earned tax dollar is spent.

We’ve been over this Andrews wasted $300M on the E/W link. And that was only because the liberals signed the deal with the German company that was supposed to build it just before the election, even though they knew that labour wasn’t going to build it if they got in, and it was pretty well known that labour was going to win. Matthew Guy signed that deal to make Labour look bad. It’s why I can’t stand politicians.

Also, have you seen how much the current NBN budget has blown out? We’re getting shafted and we’re getting shit internet that is already obsolete and will need replacing in the near future. Pack of w***ers the lot of them.

Meanwhile our friends in Asian governments plan things 100 years in advance and our Pollys only care about getting re-elected.

The only reason the asians can do that is because they don’t have overpaid bureaucrats lined up 20 deep stamping approvals and permits, and then being bogged down by feasibility studies ensuring that the Woolly Feathered Moss growing on some rock is not impacted by the development.

Took me 3 months to get approval for a small pergola out back which has no impact on anyone or anything, while in China they built a 57 story building in 19 days. (Photo attached).

8DBCD2A9-5E73-4054-9C0F-A0602D92B284-7847-000005381544F935.jpg

We’ve been over this Andrews wasted $300M on the E/W link. And that was only because the liberals signed the deal with the German company that was supposed to build it just before the election, even though they knew that labour wasn’t going to build it if they got in, and it was pretty well known that labour was going to win. Matthew Guy signed that deal to make Labour look bad. It’s why I can’t stand politicians.

Also, have you seen how much the current NBN budget has blown out? We’re getting shafted and we’re getting shit internet that is already obsolete and will need replacing in the near future. Pack of w***ers the lot of them.
In corporate world it could be seen as misappropriation of funds or director fraud. It shouldn’t be any different for gov ministers.

yet I can’t remember anyone actually facing legal consequences because of it.. toothless watch dogs.

The only reason the asians can do that is because they don’t have overpaid bureaucrats lined up 20 deep stamping approvals and permits, and then being bogged down by feasibility studies ensuring that the Woolly Feathered Moss growing on some rock is not impacted by the development.

Took me 3 months to get approval for a small pergola out back which has no impact on anyone or anything, while in China they built a 57 story building in 19 days. (Photo attached).

View attachment 813378

You mean they don't have the health and safety conditions Australian workers fought hard for?

Australia was founded on trade unions fighting for good workplace conditions.

Why do you hate Australia? Go and live in China if you love it so much.

When I was a kid someone said the Roman Empire still rules the world via the Mafia and the Catholic Church.

Just after P2 and the events dramatised in godfather 3. So they were still pretty right.

You were friends with the Rev Iain Paisley?

We're far from perfect but we're now looking to Asian governments for models of integrity and fairness?

Well it's a wonderful day.

Especially on frigging building sites.

That was such a disgraceful spiteful political stunt that cost us a huge amount of money. Honestly these politicians make me sick. We paid a foreign company something like $330,000,000 to pull out of that deal. Imagine what that money could do for people that are really battling? Disgraceful

I don’t understand this mindset at all.

We needed the road, we still do, as a city striving to be the most livable not simply adequate, yet instead of building the much needed piece of infrastructure the incoming government decided to pay $1bn to not build a road.

We actually need east west link options 1 + 4, we need Melbourne metro 2 + 3, airport rail, Doncaster/Donvale rail, Rowville rail (via Monash uni), another north south freeway (ideally warrigal road), a second airport, high speed rail to Geelong and other regional centres but also to Sydney via Canberra.

And all that is to keep up with projected and apparent population growth.

Crossover, West Gippsland. lovely country and as green as i have ever seen it at the end of January! Close access to the Rokeby/Crossover rail trail (walking, MTB and horse trail) https://www.railtrails.org.au/trail?view=trail&id=213 and crossover regional park (off road motorcycle and 4wd) . all segregated as well.

Entrance finally graded and waiting for toppings. The Stingys (E. Cinerea) root ball was a real battle to pull out, I reckon it would have been over 3 tonne with all the clay bound up in the root system. I had to sheave a 3 tonne chain block as single pulling wouldnt budge it and pull it about a meter at a time then lash the root to the tractor while setting up the block to go for another pull. whilst the tractor seemed to have the power it simply didnt have the traction to pull it out of the crater however it was able to hold it from rolling back into the crator. Good thing there were another couple of decent gums to anchor pulling gear to.

The below before/after pic is a little bit deceiving as the White Gum (E. scoparia) looks bigger as its closer.

View attachment 813338

And heres the huge root ball.
View attachment 813342

Beautiful property mate, that looks quite the undertaking.

I recently bought my first parcel of land outside the big smoke (87 acres near Yarck) so keen on hearing about bush fixes and all sorts of stuff that I will need.

Our first load of 30 cattle arrived from Echuca last month, so all very exciting.

Grass has browned off but dams are pretty full. Absolutely loving it.

I don’t understand this mindset at all.

We needed the road, we still do, as a city striving to be the most livable not simply adequate, yet instead of building the much needed piece of infrastructure the incoming government decided to pay $1bn to not build a road.

We actually need east west link options 1 + 4, we need Melbourne metro 2 + 3, airport rail, Doncaster/Donvale rail, Rowville rail (via Monash uni), another north south freeway (ideally warrigal road), a second airport, high speed rail to Geelong and other regional centres but also to Sydney via Canberra.

And all that is to keep up with projected and apparent population growth.

I’m not saying we don’t need the road. I’m saying it was wrong to sign off on it just before an election when Labour was saying they would not be building the road. It was actually one of their policies they were running on because the E/W wasn’t and still isn’t very popular.

My point is Matthew Guy signed off on it knowing that the Liberals were going to lose (it was very obvious at the time) purely to give Labour the middle finger and destroying his political career in doing so.

I’m not saying we don’t need the road. I’m saying it was wrong to sign off on it just before an election when Labour was saying they would not be building the road. It was actually one of their policies they were running on because the E/W wasn’t and still isn’t very popular.

My point is Matthew Guy signed off on it knowing that the Liberals were going to lose (it was very obvious at the time) purely to give Labour the middle finger and destroying his political career in doing so.
he is a campaigner of the first degree that Guy. Bet he is a * supporter.

Yeah I guess, but in terms of context for wastage, the $30bn spent on the DeSal plant by Bracksy (which we still haven’t really used) which costs $608m per year to manage is right up there.

I can’t comprehend why anyone wouldn’t want E/W built, surely its better to spend $10bn on something than $1bn on nothing.

The point is both parties are equally useless and corrupt and we, the occasional taxpayer are always the ones who lose out in the end.

Has anyone washed the red dirt from the storm off walls/windows? Does it just wash off with a hose or is high pressure required or something else?

Pool is done..now the rest

Any tips for the pool Gaso?
I tried manual vac, nothing happening