Play Nice Random Chat Thread IV

OK mate, we’re just going to have to agree to disagree, which is fine. Just on your first point though, I’ve made it abundantly clear that I do not support the cop shooting the guy, I could not have been more explicit about it. We can have different views on what caused it, whether it was racially driven, etc, but please don’t say that I’m justifying it, because it is 100% not true, the cop is in the wrong here.

Then what was your point?

Vietnam is like a lean and mean version of Chinas communist model, and they havnt tolerated being pushed around by any outside powers as the french and US found out. Sure china will be bullying them but i cant see them pandering anytime soon. Vietnam has a lot of multinationals manufacturing there as well so they are pretty well oised going forward.

Vietnam not friendly in any way with China. They are doing very well economically.

Vietnam approved a free trade agreement with the EU last week taking effect in August.

TOMOYA ONISHI, Nikkei staff writerJune 18, 2020 15:06 JST https://asia.nikkei.com/
HANOI -- Vietnam has approved its biggest commercial project this year, as the government seeks to maintain a record pace of public and private investment since January to help the economy emerge from the coronavirus pandemic.
Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc signed off on a $9.3 billion tourist resort led by Vingroup, Vietnam's largest private conglomerate, during the past week. Foreign backers also will participate in the development, regarded as one of the largest investments in the country in recent years.

Vietnam’s response to COVID-19 has highlighted its competence as a country. It has unequivocally won the peace.

Less obvious is that while Vietnam is neither the largest nor wealthiest country in south-east Asia, it is the most crucial in ASEAN’s attempts to manage China’s strategic expansionism. Its diplomacy is arguably the most skillful in the region.

Kangaroos4eva for something fun to watch, here’s a BBC docco from Adam Curtis called HyperNormalisation. It covers Surkov to the beats of Burial, if anything you should just listen to the soothing liquid beats.

Thanks, I'll give it a full watch later on.

Interesting bloke to say the least by the looks of it. Raises debates over foreign influences and secret cabals and who is misdirecting who.

The difference is that he makes it about black people, and not all people.

The victimization spotlight is not allowed to be shared, based upon racial grounds.......and they have a word for that.

Don't give me that shit. It's very different for white people and black people in the USA when dealing with cops (and here to a point). Don't pretend it isn't.

In the US white open carrying advocates defend their second amendment rights do things like turn up at mothers for gun control meetings and walk around carrying assault rifles. Black dudes buying bbguns get shot in the shop they are buying the BB guns in. Black kids playing in the park with toy guns will get shot even when they are 12 years old and the cops won't even give them a warning.

But yeah this is all about me making stuff up.

It's a pity shit doesn't show on the outside cos you are so full of it if it did you might actually have an idea about what we are talking about.

Vietnam not friendly in any way with China. They are doing very well economically.

Vietnam approved a free trade agreement with the EU last week taking effect in August.

TOMOYA ONISHI, Nikkei staff writerJune 18, 2020 15:06 JST https://asia.nikkei.com/
HANOI -- Vietnam has approved its biggest commercial project this year, as the government seeks to maintain a record pace of public and private investment since January to help the economy emerge from the coronavirus pandemic.
Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc signed off on a $9.3 billion tourist resort led by Vingroup, Vietnam's largest private conglomerate, during the past week. Foreign backers also will participate in the development, regarded as one of the largest investments in the country in recent years.

Vietnam’s response to COVID-19 has highlighted its competence as a country. It has unequivocally won the peace.

Less obvious is that while Vietnam is neither the largest nor wealthiest country in south-east Asia, it is the most crucial in ASEAN’s attempts to manage China’s strategic expansionism. Its diplomacy is arguably the most skillful in the region.
Funnily enough, modern Vietnam is one of the few success stories for 'tempered' socialism, but we don't really hear much about it in Australia or online in general.

OK mate, we’re just going to have to agree to disagree, which is fine. Just on your first point though, I’ve made it abundantly clear that I do not support the cop shooting the guy, I could not have been more explicit about it. We can have different views on what caused it, whether it was racially driven, etc, but please don’t say that I’m justifying it, because it is 100% not true, the cop is in the wrong here.

Then what is your point?

Thanks for clarifying about the Liason Officers being Aboriginal Tas, again, that's encouraging to hear. Some of the stuff that Blacks and Indigenous are asking for is just so basic. Like Black people being consulted to solve Black problems, Indigenous people being consulted to solve Indigenous problems. Not a white system that just tells them how it's going to be, or goes through the motions of pretending to listen, and then tells them how it's going to be.

And nah, right wing extremists won't come into power from this chaos. Nothing remains stable that is heavily unbalanced. It's why we're seeing such upheaval now. Covid combined with Trump in the US have created the perfect storm for the tipping point that's seeing so much upturned and examined, revalued, re-thought, discarded, or reworked. The US isn't the only country going through this right now either, as we all know. It's worldwide. Just to varying degrees in different places. But change is definitely coming. There will be more equality in all things, and more balance for our planet, in our lifetime.

It still doesn't happen enough. Victoria is probably the most enlightened state in the country in terms of police these days.

For a large percentage of decisions there is little consultation with indigenous communities.

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. Justice Department proposed on Wednesday that Congress take up legislation to curb protections big tech platforms like Alphabet's Google and Facebook have had for decades, a senior official said, following through on President Donald Trump's bid to crack down on tech giants.

The goal of the proposal, which is being finalized, is to push tech companies to address criminal content on their platforms such as child exploitation, terrorism or cyber stalking, and boost transparency for users when the outlets take down lawful material, the Justice Department official said, speaking on condition of anonymity.

Trump said he sought to "remove or change" Section 230 of the 1996 Communications Decency Act, which generally exempts platforms from responsibility for what their users post and allows them to moderate the content of their sites as they wish.

The Justice Department proposal would seek to push platforms to "address" illicit content online, such as material that violates federal criminal law, the department said. It would also seek to require the companies to be upfront about content moderation decisions and prevent the big online platforms from invoking Section 230 in antitrust cases.

Basically this removes freedom of speech online doesn't it?

By making publishers not posters responsible for content.

Lol nah. He’s gotten worse though. He’s country is tearing itself apart and he’s trolling. He’s worse then Reagan and Reagan had dementia and used horoscopes to guide his decisions.

And if the yanks vote Trump out they get Biden who’s unraveling before our eyes. Honestly the virus and protesters are the best thing to happen in Biden’s campaign because the Democrats can hide him away and Trump can’t have all his rallies.

Nah, his rallies are still happening. He had one planned in Tulsa for June 19, but had to change it to the 20th after saner minds pointed out to him that June 19th is actually "Juneteenth", the holiday commemorating the end of slavery in the US. Not to mention the Tulsa Race Massacre that took place in that city in 1921, where white people deliberately set fire to and burned 3,500 Black homes and 300 Black people died. What's kind of sad though, is that there is an extreme likelihood that Trump really had no clue about the date he'd chosen, given the giant vortex that exists where his knowledge of anything relevant to his job as leader of the Free World should be.

Anyways, yep, his first Covid MAGA rally is on for tomorrow in Tulsa. Masks will be handed out, but there is no requirement to wear one. That being said, everyone who wishes to attend the rally will be forced to sign a waiver agreeing not to sue the campaign if they contract Covid. Good times.
waiver.jpg

Funnily enough, modern Vietnam is one of the few success stories for 'tempered' socialism, but we don't really hear much about it in Australia or online in general.

Australia has been getting a lot closer to Vietnam lately, security and business wise. I would expect it to increase. Also a fair few Australians now living and working there

Cocaine can be synthesized in the laboratory.

It's more complex than the typical organically sourced manufacture, but it can be done.
Can you tell best way to synthesise elephant toothpaste.
I know it's hydrogen peroxide and yeast. But so many varying measuring formulas
But want the best formula for my daughter's birthday. I can't fail
Cheers

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

Basically this removes freedom of speech online doesn't it?

By making publishers not posters responsible for content.
To an extent, I think it’s more to do with more criminal related content and greater transparency over moderation decisions. How that works in practical terms, I do not know.

~ 2.3 million prisoners being watched by ~ 470,000 prison guards.

~800,000 police and 10 million arrests a year. That's a lot of doughnuts.

Police reform will be great only if it leads to greater funding tied to improved recruitment and selection and training. What will likely happen though will be a further militarisation of the force, leading to more shootings, leading to greater civil unrest.
There is a prison industrial complex in the us.

US PDs compete for military surplus equipment to use against their own populations.

There economy is also cactus.

Nothing will change, the economy is dependent on this stuff, in the same way it's dependent on militany spending.

There is a prison industrial complex in the us.

US PDs compete for military surplus equipment to use against their own populations.

There economy is also cactus.

Nothing will change, the economy is dependent on this stuff, in the same way it's dependent on militany spending.
Military_Expenditures_2018_SIPRI.png
The SIPRI is very good for military spending stats on a sidenote. Per year by the way.

Yes and no to your theory on the defence industrial complex: dod_chart.jpg
20190429_Military_Budget_GDP.jpg

Public R&D has also experienced drops over the last 20 years as the affliated industries are largely privatized. Gone are the days of publicly owned defence companies, they are almost extinct.

Pack beatings was just a complete no no in my day. I’m 52 and that sh*t just wasn’t tolerated and didn’t happen when I was young. It’s horrific.
Really? Wow.

I grew up in Hobart and it didn't happen a lot, got to Melbourne and it seemed to happen all the time. I was 12, and am 50 now ... so early 80s.

It's funny tho, by the end of the 80s it seemed fights happened heaps less. Someone once told me it was because of unleaded petrol coming in. Less lead = less aggro.

Can you tell best way to synthesise elephant toothpaste.
I know it's hydrogen peroxide and yeast. But so many varying measuring formulas
But want the best formula for my daughter's birthday. I can't fail
Cheers

I have never done the thing mate, but this looks very simple:

Just run it once or twice to make sure you have it right, then employ different coloring in seperate reactions.

Another good safe one for cool magician dads to wow the kids is the iodine clock reaction:

Time it prior to entertaining the kids and dad can utilise some magic words/wand to wow the kids with the color change by "magic".

You should be able to purchase all that stuff without any issues. Of course, the more "energetic" reactions are way cooler, but you could end up frightening some kids. Lemme know if you need more help.

Australia has been getting a lot closer to Vietnam lately, security and business wise. I would expect it to increase. Also a fair few Australians now living and working there

Got a mate who retired there. Loves it. Stuck here unfortunately since borders closed and can't get back.

We don't push war, we are a small, but economically large, middle power. We jump in and support our great and powerful friends, but we are often very reluctant to start a larger conflict. It is why the East Timor decision in 1999 was such a huge deal.

Our military sovereignty is effectively controlled by the US, so we cannot do anything without their say-so.

Thanks for the Marble framework info.

We choose to maintain that relationship.

Our military sovereignty could be easily achieved.

They really want to get their teeth into Vietnam economically but Hanoi is reluctant to engage with them for delivery of infrastructure. China want to control the region fully and, as you say, now that the US is flailing who's gunna stop em?

Vietnam is westernizing big time, which is a smart move on their behalf.

Logical. Excellent.

Supply and demand.

How many more absurd taxpayer funded jobs can the country afford? They are already overrepresented in the bureaucracy because they have no employment opportunities witgh their chosen discipline..

I don't ignore the political strategy either. This "academia" is a production line for the Libs political opposition.

Same, never touched either, but I’ve been pushing for legalisation for years.
FWIW the price of weed has been more or less steady for decades. It's a little bit seasonal sometimes but hydroponic growing has ended most seasonal price fluctuations.

Unlike every legal product I can think of.

I have hurt a few over the years. I used to have a white pride sticker on the back of my front door as a reminder when I went outside.

Black pride is an unfortunate but necessary thing.

White pride is a disgrace.

After I've had a chuckle at the meltdowns I'll expain why.

Are you a full pure blooded "aboriginal" of Javanese descent?

Don't give me that sh*t. It's very different for white people and black people in the USA when dealing with cops (and here to a point). Don't pretend it isn't.

How long did you live in the U.S.A.?

I have never done the thing mate, but this looks very simple:

Just run it once or twice to make sure you have it right, then employ different coloring in seperate reactions.

Another good safe one for cool magician dads to wow the kids is the iodine clock reaction:

Time it prior to entertaining the kids and dad can utilise some magic words/wand to wow the kids with the color change by "magic".

You should be able to purchase all that stuff without any issues. Of course, the more "energetic" reactions are way cooler, but you could end up frightening some kids. Lemme know if you need more help.
Thanks very much appreciated

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

If it became legal, they’d be coca plantations up and down all of south east Asia, including North Queensland.
the cartels would go back to protection racquets. Like after the prohibition.
There is actually a native Australian rainforest plant you can use. Well allegedly. I've never seen it or known anyone who claims to have used it. But it's posed to exist.