Play Nice Random Chat Thread IV

Anyone else got coaching experience?

This year I’m playing coach for a senior men’s soccer team.

Jingos, talk about a learning curve.

All it takes is one player to act the berk to fu** everything up.

Yep. Coached senior and junior cricket. It's a thankless job.

Dealing with egos and parents, living their lives through their kids. Organising teams at the last minute as blokes pulls out on every Friday night.

I once made a grown man cry actual tears when I told him he wasn't opening the bowling that day because he was 45 minutes late for our warm up. He sooked it up all day. I made sure he never played for us again after that.

Yep. Coached senior and junior cricket. It's a thankless job.

Dealing with egos and parents, living their lives through their kids. Organising teams at the last minute as blokes pulls out on every Friday night.

I once made a grown man cry actual tears when I told him he wasn't opening the bowling that day because he was 45 minutes late for our warm up. He sooked it up all day. I made sure he never played for us again after that.
Not easy being Captain either.
Look at S Waugh, he dropped Warnie once after Warnie hadn’t been bowling well after a shoulder injury.
Waughs decision won the next test and saved the series and Warnie is still sooking about it many years later

Lol
Adelaide ruckman Reilly O'Brien has branded his looming AFL opponent Nic Naitanui "lazy and unfit" in game notes he mistakenly posted on social media.

Ahead of his duel against the West Coast star on Saturday, O'Brien posted on Twitter: "Run off him hard, he is lazy and unfit, will have a field day getting ball and marking everything."

O'Brien soon deleted the post and replaced it with a video, saying: "I have had an absolute 'mare on my social media today.

Lol
Adelaide ruckman Reilly O'Brien has branded his looming AFL opponent Nic Naitanui "lazy and unfit" in game notes he mistakenly posted on social media.

Ahead of his duel against the West Coast star on Saturday, O'Brien posted on Twitter: "Run off him hard, he is lazy and unfit, will have a field day getting ball and marking everything."

O'Brien soon deleted the post and replaced it with a video, saying: "I have had an absolute 'mare on my social media today.
"Coming up this week against who probably I think is the best ruckman in the competition at the moment, Nic Nat."

Yeah, sure. Should consider umpiring with those back pedalling skills.

Anyone here have a decent CCTV system that they can suggest?
Depends on how tech savvy you are..

I like ubiquiti unfi, as it’s a control your own system type deal, all camera footage is stored on your own HDD. Fairly easy to set up if you incorporate their switches and servers.

https://unifi-network.ui.com/dreammachine/

But apple has updated their HomeKit home automation stuff recently, which adds face recognition and point of interest/automated zones to their existing setups. Also done using internal home computers. Good for a few cameras.

I’d steer clear of the cloud, pay by the month netgear arlo type systems, as you might as well just hire a security company.

I like ubiquiti unfi, as it’s a control your own system type deal, all camera footage is stored on your own HDD. Fairly easy to set up if you incorporate their switches and servers.

But apple has updated their HomeKit home automation stuff recently, which adds face recognition and point of interest/automated zones to their existing setups. Also done using internal home computers. Good for a few cameras.

I’d steer clear of the cloud, pay by the month netgear arlo type systems, as you might as well just hire a security company.

Tech savy enough but it's more the installation of cables through Walls and Roofs that's the issue.

Put this together for another thread, but thought you blokes might find it interesting. Since 2000, the average height of AFL players has increased by about 2-3cm, yet the average weight has noticeably dropped. You could probably attribute this to players no longer getting on the tinnies after a game, and a higher focus on fitness and sport science. Still, I found it interesting.

1594288107139.png

DesertRoo, may I ask, is this side a speciality or a hobby? Only cos I’m thinking of putting in a alarm system and wondered what would be a good system
If that’s out of your league mate, that’s grand, just wondered :thumbsu:

Was looking at Eufy this morning. My only worry was the magnetic socket that holds the camera to the arm. If it’s not out of reach it could be goodbye Camera

Have ours hidden facing the door

DesertRoo, may I ask, is this side a speciality or a hobby? Only cos I’m thinking of putting in a alarm system and wondered what would be a good system
If that’s out of your league mate, that’s grand, just wondered :thumbsu:
I’m no specialist or licensed, so take what ever I say with a grain of salt.
But what are you trying to achieve?

because there’s a lot of cheap motion/door/window sensors out there, that work with iot and ifttt, you could use a NAS drive, as the hub and speakers that would set off a noise if they were triggered.
They’ll generally scare someone, taking video is more of an insurance policy, as it won’t deter anyone, it’ll just help you retrieve what’s gone.

Off topic, but with ifttt, a friend set up a surveillance system, that fired off a acecore neo drone so it came blurting out with with lights and a speaker, if someone crossed into one of the cameras automated zones. Completely illegal but you could do something similar with a cheap autonomous drone, like below..

because there’s a lot of cheap motion/door/window sensors out there, that work with iot and ifttt, you could use a NAS drive, as the hub and speakers that would set off a noise if they were triggered.
They’ll generally scare someone, taking video is more of an insurance policy, as it won’t deter anyone, it’ll just help you retrieve what’s gone.

Off topic, but with ifttt, a friend set up a surveillance system, that fired off a acecore neo drone so it came blurting out with with lights and a speaker, if someone crossed into one of the cameras automated zones. Completely illegal but you could do something similar with a cheap autonomous drone, like below..

All good, Just seemed you were very knowledgeable on the subject, so thought I’d ask.
Mainly deterrence for the reasons you stated, one shiite is stolen it’s pointless.
Thank you anyway 👍 that actually is pretty good and gives me some ideas 👍

So you reckon sirens are a better option?