Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

Picked up my best little mate this arvo, after he had spent a day and a half with his mum. The 2 hour drive home hit new words per minute records, jeepers. Reminded me of a budgie going off at itself in its mirror. I got about a 3 minute reprieve thanks to a McFlurry, which really became a further source running commentary. A happy little bean who finally fell asleep as Shaun the sheep caught the bus into town 🙃

seems to be a lot of contradictory and flip flopping views coming out of lexus center or whatever they call themselves these days , first Eddies "proudest moment" claim only to flip flop the following day when he realised it went down about as well as his king kong remark, now after initially stating no one knew of lumumbas chimp nickname there are claims he made it up himself.

first rule of bull$hitting, be all on the same page and dont change the story.

seems to be a lot of contradictory and flip flopping views coming out of lexus center or whatever they call themselves these days , first Eddies "proudest moment" claim only to flip flop the following day when he realised it went down about as well as his king kong remark, now after initially stating no one knew of lumumbas chimp nickname there are claims he made it up himself.

first rule of bull$shitting, be all on the same page and dont change the story.
The club's reputation and culture will take a while to recover. Really need a clean slate with Eddie and co. out the door.

Its gutless from McLauchlan. Kind of expected tho. McLaughlin will literally fly to a game in a chopper if it gives him the chance to star **** some celebrity but he does go missing when his organisation needs to make a statement of some sort. Doesn't matter how much internal leadership you promote, the assistant coaches and (excepting the captain obviously) members of the leadership group shouldn't be fronting the post match press conference after a loss. Its good that Hosch is being seen and the rest but McLaughlin needs to be seen as well. Or doesn't the actual leader of the AFL give a ****?

The Collingwood situation is a bit more understandable. McGuire has resigned hasn't he? So some of what Sizer has said is fair enough. But at the same time **** him. Gutless campaigner needs to apologise more.

Its gutless from McLauchlan. Kind of expected tho. McLaughlin will literally fly to a game in a chopper if it gives him the chance to star fu** some celebrity but he does go missing when his organisation needs to make a statement of some sort. Doesn't matter how much internal leadership you promote, the assistant coaches and (excepting the captain obviously) members of the leadership group shouldn't be fronting the post match press conference after a loss. Its good that Hosch is being seen and the rest but McLaughlin needs to be seen as well. Or doesn't the actual leader of the AFL give a fu**?

The Collingwood situation is a bit more understandable. McGuire has resigned hasn't he? So some of what Sizer has said is fair enough. But at the same time fu** him. Gutless campaigner needs to apologise more.
Even when he does issue a statement, he acts like a PR manager that says a lot after the fact but does little to support it.

Its gutless from McLauchlan. Kind of expected tho. McLaughlin will literally fly to a game in a chopper if it gives him the chance to star fu** some celebrity but he does go missing when his organisation needs to make a statement of some sort. Doesn't matter how much internal leadership you promote, the assistant coaches and (excepting the captain obviously) members of the leadership group shouldn't be fronting the post match press conference after a loss. Its good that Hosch is being seen and the rest but McLaughlin needs to be seen as well. Or doesn't the actual leader of the AFL give a fu**?

The Collingwood situation is a bit more understandable. McGuire has resigned hasn't he? So some of what Sizer has said is fair enough. But at the same time fu** him. Gutless campaigner needs to apologise more.
Your spelling of Gill's last name is about as consistent as the filth's response to all this.

I am astounded that anyone would need a report to tell them Collingwood was racist. Especially where indigenous are concerned.

Just so those same people are clear, water is wet.

Collingwood and racism is kinda like the saying " if everyone you meet is an ar$ehole, its you that is the ar$ehole." They can keep saying they're not racist but when this shit just keeps happening their words are meaningless.

There is a reason this shit keeps happening to them.

You are talking about a club that had a president say " we'll respect em if they act like white blokes" where he completely misread what the f*** was going on.
That was nearly 30 years ago and they are still not reading what is going on. They are still having a president front the media and he is still saying things like their shit don't stink. What they have right now and why there is a thing, they instigated.

They are truly ignorant, even of their own history in this frame, because they just keep repeating it.

My hunch is that Heretier would find faults in any response.

My hunch is that no evidence would make you understand he was racially abused there.

Because you've got a political worldview that is impervious to evidence and data.

first rule of bull$hitting, be all on the same page and dont change the story.

The rumours that Lumumba encouraged or even started the nickname have been floating around for a very long time.

What was he wearing?

Was he drunk?

Come on.

My hunch is that no evidence would make you understand he was racially abused there.
The idea that Lumumba was being racially abused, and that Lumumba would find fault with any/every response aren't mutually exclusive.

What was he wearing?

Was he drunk?

Come on.
Oh **** off. I'm not saying he wasn't racially abused or isn't a victim. I'm not even saying the rumours about the nickname are true.

The idea that Lumumba was being racially abused, and that Lumumba would find fault with any/every response aren't mutually exclusive.

Why even bother with a response?

If this wasn't patently obvious to another poster then they're not worth your time & effort.

Any deviation from the script in an invitation for irrational outrage.

Hmmm, it is a pretty crap attitude to take. Some would call it victim blaming

Oh fu** off. I'm not saying he wasn't racially abused or isn't a victim. I'm not even saying the rumours about the nickname are true.

Fair enough - does come across that way but will take you at your word.

Why even bother with a response?

If this wasn't patently obvious to another poster then they're not worth your time & effort.

Any deviation from the script in an invitation for irrational outrage.

I notice you never come back to me on my point where you declare yourself a sociolologist.

We all know you can't actually handle a proper debate,.

You go to water and either run away and hide, or just shout abuse.

I'll give you my full opinion, so that you (and anyone else who feels the need to) can criticise it properly.

I reckon he's a weirdo, and far from perfect himself, who's relationship with the club broke down for a hundred different reasons, including genuinely feeling like he was a victim of racism and that he wasn't supported enough. I'm also sure he suffered bad racial abuse while on the field, and from punters off the field, probably copped some intentional stuff inside the club too as well as a bunch of unintentional. Much like every non-white AFL player, at every AFL club, over the years probably would have.

I have no idea how bad the internal stuff was, whether the nickname was given to him or by him, or anything else of that matter (hopefully we do actually get some verifiable and agreed to facts on the table as his court case continues, because the innuendo from all angles is frustrating). I also think that he's now on what is essentially a crusade against the club, specifically McGuire and to a lesser extent Buckley, and that no response from them at this stage would satisfy him. Not really passing much of a judgement on that at this stage, because for all I know it might turn out to be fully warranted.

I'll give you my full opinion, so that you (and anyone else who feels the need to) can criticise it properly.

I reckon he's a weirdo, and far from perfect himself, who's relationship with the club broke down for a hundred different reasons, including genuinely feeling like he was a victim of racism and that he wasn't supported enough. I'm also sure he suffered bad racial abuse while on the field, and from punters off the field, probably copped some intentional stuff inside the club too as well as a bunch of unintentional. Much like every non-white AFL player, at every AFL club, over the years probably would have.

I have no idea how bad the internal stuff was, whether the nickname was given to him or by him, or anything else of that matter (hopefully we do actually get some verifiable and agreed to facts on the table as his court case continues, because the innuendo from all angles is frustrating). I also think that he's now on what is essentially a crusade against the club, specifically McGuire and to a lesser extent Buckley, and that no response from them at this stage would satisfy him. Not really passing much of a judgement on that at this stage, because for all I know it might turn out to be fully warranted.

Great post and pretty much where I sit too.

That's the thing with these kind of issues. There needs to be context, there needs to be nuance.

It is also interesting how the whole Paul Seedsman thing hasn't been part of this - Lumumba sticking up for Seedsman after Buckley gave Seedsman the nickname Lez, which Lumumuba took to be homophobic bullying (Seedsman being a gay man).

Buckley escaping the blow torch is pretty interesting.

He's been just as much part of the shitty culture as McGuire.

Great post and pretty much where I sit too.

That's the thing with these kind of issues. There needs to be context, there needs to be nuance.

It is also interesting how the whole Paul Seedsman thing hasn't been part of this - Lumumba sticking up for Seedsman after Buckley gave Seedsman the nickname Lez, which Lumumuba took to be homophobic bullying (Seedsman being a gay man).

Buckley escaping the blow torch is pretty interesting.

He's been just as much part of the shitty culture as McGuire.

Is Seedsman out?

Not formally because nobody wants to be the first capital G Gay Player.

Can't imagine why when you see what the likes of Lumumba cops for arcing at being called Chimp.

Suggestion is Seedsman had/has an offer on the table to do an exclusive interview running into the realms what the top 20 players in the league make each year

Not formally because nobody wants to be the first capital G Gay Player.

Can't imagine why when you see what the likes of Lumumba cops for arcing at being called Chimp.

Suggestion is Seedsman had/has an offer on the table to do an exclusive interview running into the realms what the top 20 players in the league make each year

I don’t understand the last paragraph and what it has to do with Seedsman being gay?