Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

from my experience as a chef they would be the one telling everyone else in the room they are vegan and that eating meat is bad and everyone should be vegan

As far as I can see the only person here telling anyone what they should or shouldn't eat is Val Keating. FWIW I am vegan and I couldn't give a flat **** what other people do, it's not any of my business?

But how does that work? You must have a 100 then if not selling them! ha
Its not that easy to breed them. However she sent a huge mature male tarantula of some sort (Australia has them not as big as in South America but close) to someone in Adelaide earlier this year and is expecting half the babies when they are born, so that might work out.

Can't wait....

As far as I can see the only person here telling anyone what they should or shouldn't eat is Val Keating. FWIW I am vegan and I couldn't give a flat fu** what other people do, it's not any of my business?

out of interest, why are you vegan?

Setting aside the jokes, some people choose to eat or not eat certain things for a variety of reasons. Health, ethics, religion, tradition. It's their business.

if its for ethics or religion then i can see why people would think its also their business.

I used to love it when we'd get fresh scallops off the boats along the east coast.

Yep that's where they go diving. Amazingly fresh, tastes different as caught that day not "Woolies" fresh.......

It's not as productive due to massive overfishing, but still easy for a diver to get a small bag of abalone, scallops and/or crays.

As far as I can see the only person here telling anyone what they should or shouldn't eat is Val Keating. FWIW I am vegan and I couldn't give a flat fu** what other people do, it's not any of my business?
vegans are no different to any other group a few dickheads ruin it for the rest i know several with a similar outlook to yourself

Again. I’m just arguing that it’s not the ideal diet for power athletes. Prove me wrong.

I used to love it when we'd get fresh scallops off the boats along the east coast.
scallaps are prolly one of the nicest to eat, when doing drift dives we would eat them straight out of the shell. a light covering in butter and sweet chilli sauce and done in a hot skillet
for a few seconds just to brown the outside they are magnif.

scallaps are prolly one of the nicest to eat, when doing drift dives we would eat them straight out of the shell. a light covering in butter and sweet chilli sauce and done in a hot skillet

I'd prefer a quality scallop over abalone too. Short and very hot.

Problem is (my Dad directs companies etc) would you believe "fresh" Tasmanian seafood is regularly dropped at Melb before back to Hobart.

Boats aren't that quick......

Bigger pay day etc.....but this "fresh" seafood is far from it by the time it's distributed and sold in a supermarket.

Bit of a rort to be honest as they ice them on boat etc but it's not the same.

I do mine with minimal butter, sea salt and chilli flakes but same idea!

Aldi blackstone chilli chips, are the best.

Kettle chilli used to be the shit, but the flavor is now crud.

Come at me.

My point is that if it was the optimal nutritional diets for power based athletes, they’d all do it. But they don’t because it’s not. Kids don’t come into the AFL system needing to bulk up and get put onto a vegan diet because that wouldn’t work

You bulk up from a caloric surplus, sufficient protein intake and muscle protein synthesis - all of which can be achieved on a vegan diet.

There's no magical caloric difference between meat and plant-based foods which means you can't bulk up on a plant based diet.

It really gets up my goat when people who have no idea how to gain muscle mass start insulting people based on this stuff.

The average Joe who doesnt track macro and micronutrient intake, spread and timing will do better on an omnivorous diet just because there's more room for error. Athletes who meticulously track everything they eat and monitor their diet do fine.

if its for ethics or religion then i can see why people would think its also their business.
I used to work at a place that had a lot of Indians on 457s. Almst without exception they were vegetarian. For work lunches, 99% of the time we would go to Indian places as that was less hassle (and even then, nobody was ever entirely happy as there is north, south, mother's cooking etc.).

One time, the boss cracked it and we went to a Thai place (they have curries, right?).

It was a cheap, $12-15 for just about anything. Pay in advance. Food comes out in 10 minutes.

Anyway, the Indian bloke who spoke the best english ordered foir his crew - he chose special fried rice. Thai style. He ordered it as follows...

Not non-veg.

The rice came out - probably 12 serves of Thai Fried rice, generously stacked with prawns, chicken and pork.

Of course, this created a dillema. The rice was refused because it was not not non-veg.

The owner of the joint was never going to refund the cash. He also refused to use the untouched meals to be served to anybody else.

Myself and another bloke ended up stumping up for it to be put into take aways. And I reckon we probably got about half of the rice meals in takeaway boxes too.

Lots of swearing in many languages that day.

You bulk up from a caloric surplus, sufficient protein intake and muscle protein synthesis - all of which can be achieved on a vegan diet.

There's no magical caloric difference between meat and plant-based foods which means you can't bulk up on a plant based diet.

It really gets up my goat when people who have no idea how to gain muscle mass start insulting people based on this stuff.
Whatever it takes I suppose.

wouldnt you want those ethics to be exercised by more people than less?

Of course, but it's also unrealistic for me to think that everyone is going to think and feel how I do about ethical issues. I just find it ****ing annoying hearing people be like "you can't put on mass when you're veeeeegan" like alright mate