Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

*I would like to inform state and federal police authorities that these clips are provided for educational purposes only, and I do not encourage anyone to engage in the practice of making fireworks without the proper training and licensing*

I best not show my best little mate :-) He is ripping through the Holiday Program at his school this summer, and both he and I have been advised that he probably should not be playing sniper games on his ipad while at school. Not full on adult ones, just a chicken shoot one he has :-D He was all questions last night about how fireworks work ..... pretty sure he is gonna end up on Crimestoppers one day :-D

This one time, many lifetimes ago, a mate and I were charged with "guarding" a "live shoot". Anyway, as everybody else had buggered off, my mate and I set to booby trapping their return. We got a load of 22 bullets, emptied the gunpowder into a lovely little pile and ever so casually placed the shells hollow end first, into said gun powder pile. Anyway, all the boys regimentally strolled back a little while later, unaware that we had laid a Wylie Coyote style trail of gunpowder, acting as a very efficient fuse for our makeshift scattergun. We were absolutely howling with laughter when all these big burly blokes were diving for cover like you've never seen. Almost 30 years on the memory of it is still as vivid and as funny as any fireworks I can remember.

Yes, very amusing (and slightly dangerous).

One of the adventure playgrounds as a kid for me and my mates around the Flemington area, was the old Newmarket saleyards, where we would go in on weekends and "find" all manner of curious things including 22 blanks, which I am pretty sure were used in the bolt guns back then by the slaughtermen. They were basically a brass casing with a crimped end that had no slug.

1609463918969.png

Anyway, long story short, it didn't go down well when we chucked a few handfuls of them in the rubbish bin at Debney Park High School and lit the thing on fire.

Thankfully, this was in the pre Colorado High School times, or we would still all be in the nick. :D

I best not show my best little mate :) He is ripping through the Holiday Program at his school this summer, and both he and I have been advised that he probably should not be playing sniper games on his ipad while at school. Not full on adult ones, just a chicken shoot one he has :-D He was all questions last night about how fireworks work ..... pretty sure he is gonna end up on Crimestoppers one day :-D

I reckon you, me & your little mate would have a lot of fun together.

Seriously, I think it's a better track to follow to show this stuff to kids under supervised control in order to highlight the dangers & safe practices, rather than banning everything and letting their uneducated curiosity result in potential tragedy.

Yes, very amusing (and slightly dangerous).

One of the adventure playgrounds as a kid for me and my mates around Flemington area was the old Newmarket saleyards, where we would go in on weekends and "find" all manner of curious things including 22 blanks, which I am pretty sure were used in the bolt guns back then by the slaughtermen. They were basically a brass casing with a crimped end that had no slug.

View attachment 1034447

Anyway, long story short, it didn't go down well when we chucked a few handfuls of them in the rubbish bin at Debney Park High School and lit the thing on fire.

Thankfully, this was in the pre Colorado High School times, or we would still all be in the nick. :D

I reckon you, me & your little mate would have a lot of fun together.

Seriously, I think it's a better track to follow to show this stuff to kids under supervised control in order to highlight the dangers & safe practices, rather than banning everything and letting their uneducated curiosity result in potential tragedy.
Well I sometimes limit him to 600 questions a day. He literally just asked me if there was a fight between the Vikings and the Romans who would win? I told him that the Vikings would put up a pretty good fight but the Romans would win. Unless they had Asterix and Obelix. Then the Vikings would win ;-)

He sounds like he's very bright mate, so you're going to have your work cut out in keeping him constructively occupied for a while. They are sponges at that age, keep filling them up, and don't be afraid to take concepts beyond his expected typical age/understanding profile.

Y'know what can happen with kids like this if they get bored for too long. Burn him out every day.

Australia’s national anthem has been slightly tweaked to better reflect Indigenous history
Australians will be singing a slightly different national anthem going forward. Here’s what has changed.

Tamsin Rose
@tamsinroses
December 31, 2020 - 10:30PM
Herald Sun

Australians will soon be singing a slightly different national anthem after Scott Morrison used his power to change the song to better reflect the country’s Indigenous Advance Australia Fair.”
Think i liked the version where we all eat ostriches better.

Well, it's finally 2021 here! As of ten minutes ago. We're currently under restrictions limiting gatherings to household members only, and all sales of alcohol were stopped at 8pm tonight, everywhere, so I was kind of expecting it to be pretty quiet out there. Plus it's pouring rain and 4 degrees out.

I usually go stand outside on New Year's at midnight, and just listen to all the yelling and fireworks and people banging pots. The last couple years it's been pretty disappointingly quiet. But this year - holy cow. It's the noisiest I've heard it since I was a kid! Massive fireworks all around, much noise and ringing in the New Year. I guess I predicted wrong! I guess everyone's at home this year, and giving it their fullest. It's good to hear. It's like our spirit is out there right now, and it feels defiant and hopeful.

So Happy New Year to us in the North! We finally caught up with you guys. :thumbsu:

haha, it's still going out there... so awesome.:canada:🎆🎇:mapleleaf::beercheers:

Well, it's finally 2021 here! As of ten minutes ago. We're currently under restrictions limiting gatherings to household members only, and all sales of alcohol were stopped at 8pm tonight, everywhere, so I was kind of expecting it to be pretty quiet out there. Plus it's pouring rain and 4 degrees out.

I usually go stand outside on New Year's at midnight, and just listen to all the yelling and fireworks and people banging pots. The last couple years it's been pretty disappointingly quiet. But this year - holy cow. It's the noisiest I've heard it since I was a kid! Massive fireworks all around, much noise and ringing in the New Year. I guess I predicted wrong! I guess everyone's at home this year, and giving it their fullest. It's good to hear. It's like our spirit is out there right now, and it feels defiant and hopeful.

So Happy New Year to us in the North! We finally caught up with you guys. :thumbsu:

haha, it's still going out there... so awesome.:canada:🎆🎇:mapleleaf::beercheers:

I love everything on your post outside the fireworks.

I reckon a waste of money at best of times let alone when Councils and Govts are firing staff left, right and centre due to Covid but can amazingly afford a very expensive fireworks display........

Happy Canada though so don't let me affect your happiness! Hope that positive vibe continues in future and Covid more in the rear view mirror........

BTW Sopwiths North my Parent's best friends daughter (I know....ha) left a top bloke suddenly for a richer guy a couple of years ago.

They had two young children and she chose him over the kids amazingly, so he grabbed them and bolted back to Canada to family (where he's from).

He is a brilliant, friendly guy and lives in Calgary. (No I have no idea which the nicer cities are etc)

He is ice hockey mad!! (in a good way and coached it in Melb....we always had good chats on footy as he didn't understand it.....haha)

I love everything on your post outside the fireworks.

I reckon a waste of money at best of times let alone when Councils and Govts are firing staff left, right and centre due to Covid but can amazingly afford a very expensive fireworks display........

Happy Canada though so don't let me affect your happiness! Hope that positive vibe continues in future and Covid more in the rear view mirror........

I hear you Chop, and I should clarify - it's not actual fireworks like the colourful expensive kind that govt. budgets get wasted on every year - those are all cancelled this year, thank god. No, these are... I don't know what you'd call them, as I'm not an expert in the field - but they're the kind you buy off the First Nations reserve (can't get them anywhere else, as illegal, but our First Nations have some loophole and can sell them on the rez) and set them off in your backyard. So, not the big colourful ones, but sure loud, and they make the night sky shimmer bright on the clouds. This year seems like there's five times as much. Just kinda makes you feel hopeful inside listening to the magnitude of the celebration they bring around me right now, and in my neighbourhood.:peace:

BTW Sopwiths North my Parent's best friends daughter (I know....ha) left a top bloke suddenly for a richer guy a couple of years ago.

They had two young children and she chose him over the kids amazingly, so he grabbed them and bolted back to Canada to family (where he's from).

He is a brilliant, friendly guy and lives in Calgary.

He is ice hockey mad!! (in a good way and coached it in Melb....we always had good chats on footy as he didn't understand it.....haha)

Tell him I've got a Wayne Gretzky rookie card from when I was kid - and I'm not selling it! (I know, he was the Oilers, not Flames, but still... ) Calgary's an interesting place. Cool Mayor, wild weather. Thumbs down to the Stampede though. Other than that, great city!

Unfortunately I am not allowed to contact him due to my Parent's (which I think is unfair) but if I could without drama (as their friends have obviously taken daughters side.....I cannot stand her!!) I would......as previous he's a great fella and loves his kids so much.

But I know some who can so I'll pass it on!! He is legit Hockey crazy which I think strained the marriage tbh.........

Ok noted on city! He loves it but like us all we love different places etc

Unfortunately I am not allowed to contact him due to my Parent's (which I think is unfair) but if I could without drama (as their friends have obviously taken daughters side.....I cannot stand her!!) I would......as previous he's a great fella and loves his kids so much.

But I know some who can so I'll pass it on!! He is legit Hockey crazy which I think strained the marriage tbh.........

Ok noted on city! He loves it but like us all we love different places etc
You just need a chupa chup or one of these :cool:
1609492361158.png

You just need a chupa chup or one of these :cool:
View attachment 1034590

Mate I was and when her parents found out they went ballistic.

I simply can't as will ruin their friendship but he knows I supported his decision. Not often children are given to Dads........normally scrape tooth and nail to see them after divorce!

Mate I was and when her parents found out they went ballistic.

I simply can't as will ruin their friendship but he knows I supported his decision. Not often children are given to Dads........normally scrape tooth and nail to see them after divorce!
Yep just lived that dream. Fought successfully to see him, then 2 years later she flicks out a handball as if nothing happened and off she goes. Fantastic for my best little mate and I, but jeez Louise. A bit of time and you'll be able to pick up again mid conversation. I hope anyway.

Yep I remember you posting on that. I'm very sorry to hear that initially but all has worked great in the end - I'm jealous in a good way!

Don't try this at home.........in fact don't try this EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Scary as........

Crazy!! I had a CBR1000F years ago, did 285kmh with a mate on the back. Left our mates behind on a GSX/R 750, VFR750 and a RGV250.

I wish more people and horses are like Chautauqua!

Unbelievable win again and then, nup, I'm out whether you like it or not.

Crazy!! I had a CBR1000F years ago, did 285kmh with a mate on the back. Left our mates behind on a GSX/R 750, VFR750 and a RGV250.

Wowsers........that's very dangerous but I guess we all do silly things!

Nah those bikes won't touch a Honda 1litre unless on a tight track where weight hurts the big bikes.

My R1 rickety

View attachment 1034598

Sold but I did it up as I can't ride.
Had a gorgeous yellow Firestorm I sold and bought a grain silo with the money. Silo wasn't as quick, but it was more steady in the wind :-D Am half seriously considering snagging a bike with a sidecar, just for a little more notoriety for my best little mate when I fetch him to and from school :cool: