Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

Stumbled across a thing fb style, thought we'd join in. Difference is we are adding to it a bit to make it more fun and yummy for kids :)
1604703451007.png

Snuck into my local bar for a quick birthday pint yesterday, with my best little mate riding shotgun. Sat out the front watching the cars go by, swapped a bit of banter with a couple of local blokes quenching their hard earned. Little mate was impressed by the stage up the back, and that there was music playing. Our new drinking friends introduced us to a game called "make the dog bark". Whenever you saw a dog, you had to growl or bark and try to get a response. There's a pedestrian crossing heading over to the beach, lights turned red and a tradie pulls up with some massive black dog on the back of his ute. The boys rough up dog style like it's a full moon and this dog on the back of the ute psychos up like Cujo. Thankfully the lights changed to green and the ute with it's very angry dog heads away.

rickety, you are without doubt my favorite "scenes from a daily life" poster.

The impending dictatorship just grew stronger again:

View attachment 1006345
Nah mate, frivolous and vexatious lawsuits are a waste of the court's time and money, which ultimately costs the taxpayer and holds up cases with legitimate arguments.
"Implied" constitutional right, FFS.

Former NFL linebacker Emmanuel Acho hosts a balanced and constructive dialogue with white police officers on police relations with Black people in America. It's worth a listen for its fair representation of perspectives on both sides. We need to come together like this more.

Folks like you that reside in "fluffyville" think the only people who have issues with these pricks are black folks.

Lots of irrelevant stuff in this thread, even for a random thread - when bigger more pressing issues demand attention.

I found a gecko in the garden yesterday. A ****ing gecko. In suburban Melbourne.

When the hell did this start?

It's definitely a runaway if it's in suburban Melbourne.

Did it look like this?

1604876424726.png

It's definitely a runaway if it's in suburban Melbourne.

Did it look like this?

View attachment 1006796

Darker mottled brown but similar size to that shot.

As a little tacker was always catching tadpoles and looking under rocks etc and never saw anything like this.

You might be right. Wonder if the proliferation of groceries deliveries has seen one hitchhike into the 'burbs?

As a little tacker was always catching tadpoles and looking under rocks etc and never saw anything like this.

You might be right. Wonder if the proliferation of groceries deliveries has seen one hitchhike into the 'burbs?

The Southern Marbled Gecko:

1604877330149.png

Apparently it is native to the surrounds of Melbourne, so I may be wrong about its origin, but I wouldn't think it would be that common these days.

What have you done with it?

1604877436448.png

View attachment 1006806

Apparently it is native to the surrounds of Melbourne, so I may be wrong about its origin, but I wouldn't think it would be that common these days.

View attachment 1006807

I reckon that's correct weight. You a bit of a herp (doesn't mean what people think) too mate?

The long story was I saw what I thought was a worm flapping about after opening a long closed gate. Then realised it was a tail and clearly not a skink so searched around and found the culprit.

Had a bit of a look-see then let it go amongst some dense trees/shrubs.

This it?

View attachment 1006806

View attachment 1006807

My daughter and I have been catching a few of these (Marbled Geckos) in the past couple of years in the Yarra Park area. Was very surprised when we saw the first one, but they're actually reasonably common if you actively search for them. We see stacks of common skinks, Blue-Tongues and Eastern Water Dragons, too.

I reckon that's correct weight. You a bit of a herp (doesn't mean what people think) too mate?

I have studied biology and have some interest in such things, but I don't bother with all the rigmarole required for obtaining & maintaining collections of living things. If I find something useful or interesting I usually comment about it or take the sample to the biologists I know. I found a very unusual dead butterfly species in the yard a while back which I passed on. Things like this that are usually deemed trivial occurrences can be valuable information to academics.

The long story was I saw what I thought was a worm flapping about after opening a long closed gate. Then realised it was a tail and clearly not a skink so searched around and found the culprit.

Had a bit of a look-see then let it go amongst some dense trees/shrubs.

My hunch is that it could be native if you live in a location that does not have a recently disrupted environment and there is plenty of cover. If you found it in your backyard in Caroline Springs then I doubt it is native. These critters are quite vulnerable things.

My daughter and I have been catching a few of these (Marbled Geckos) in the past couple of years in the Yarra Park area. Was very surprised when we saw the first one, but they're actually reasonably common if you actively search for them. We see stacks of common skinks, Blue-Tongues and Eastern Water Dragons, too.

That's great news. I figured their numbers would have been smashed to near extinction in metropolitan areas.